We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort hotel with spacious rooms”
Review of Parkview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parkview Hotel
Ranked #19 of 131 Hotels in Hualien County
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Known as Meilun Hotel to the locals, Parkview is located about 10 minutes from Hualien's city centre. It's a good escape from the city, with the hotel offering enough to keep all occupied for a while.

The rooms are very spacious, with some offering great views of the mountains. The bed was a bit too firm and pillows flat, though they were able to send more pillows to the room. The bath tub has low sides, so it's easy to get in and out. TV does not have many international channels though. Staff are generally very warm and welcoming.

Breakfast tends to be crowded, and the hotel advised guests to avoid the peak 8-9.30am timing. It's a fairly large spread, just a wait for the cooked food like pasta and eggs. Otherwise, head for the cereal and breads where there are no queues. I didn't try the other restaurants; there were 2 on level 2.

Activities galore at the recreation centre, such as table tennis, billiards, indoor and outdoor pools, gym, children's play area, spa, rock climbing wall etc. The resort even has a man made waterfall and small lake. There's a laundry room with coin operated washers/dryers and a souvenir shop.

I asked about a shuttle bus to the city, but the only shuttles are to the domestic airport and train station. Taxis are about 300NT to Zhonghua Road for shopping or Ziqiang night market.

I generally prefer well located hotels but was attending an event at Parkview. An overall good experience in one of the better hotels in Hualien.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank juzatourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
There are newer reviews for Parkview Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 266 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

We chose the Parkview Hotel because of its access to Taroko Gorge and the activities for kids on the hotel property, and it was great on both points. We arrived in Hualien on the train and the Parkview provided free transport from the station. The room was large, with two double beds and plenty of other room to spread out suitcases and still make an extra bed for our third child. The beds were extremely hard, so I'm not sure the bed on the floor was much different than what the rest of us had. The hotel did not have any extra beds available for the night (and given the speed with which multiple people answered a request, I wonder if they ever have any available), but they did bring us extra bedding to make an extra bed on the floor. We ate only at the buffet restaurant, and it was passable, but nothing special. The hotel seems to get a lot of tour buses through, so it was always busy. Service at the front desk was helpful at check-in, even getting us into the room a bit early because one of our children was feeling ill, and arranging for a taxi for a trip to Taroko Gorge the next day. The highlight of our time at the hotel was the beautiful open space with a view of the gorgeous mountains and a grassy hill to run on, and the recreation building that allows for table tennis, a kids' playroom, arcade games and even an indoor climbing wall. The woman who worked the climbing wall was skilled and friendly, and dealt really nicely with our children. Overall, the size and business of the hotel made it feel a bit impersonal, but the facilities, service and location are a positive, and different than what we saw offered anywhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Well the clue is in the title. The hotel has everything in place except for the rooms.They look quite old because of dated furniture and furnishing. The bathroom is big but again lacks appeal because of old fitting. Also the sleep quality is quite low not because of the bed but because of paper thin wall and door. You can hear everything happening in the doorway and 2 rooms on both sides. Its quite annoying to wake up to chatter early in the morning.

But I must give full credit to the staff. All of them speak manageable English and go out of their way to help you. The hotel is huge and has all the facilities that you can imagine. Pool, Gym, Tennis Court etc. The restaurant which serves breakfast on the ground floor overlooks the huge garden outside.The breakfast spread was very good and the food was decent if not great. They do have 2 specialty restaurants on the 2nd floor (one is Chinese I think) but I did not eat there during my stay.

Overall,I think this is a good family hotel if you are travelling with kids. Lots of things to do,if you are the type who likes to spend time at the hotel. The cost is average but could be lower given the condition of the rooms specifically.Free wifi is available but the speed is too slow. By way of location, its just 10-15 min.from the airport and the train station as well as the famous beach area. You can actually rent a bicycle and go to the beach whenever you like.

Room Tip: Room with the Garden view
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vikas101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

this hotel has a huge activity facility that houses sports and gaming equipment, that is conveniently located next to the swimming pool. It's a classy hotel on the outside, but once you enter the room, you will be a little disappointed as the furnishing within is of a lower class. The room is relatively small comparing with the other five-stars hotel that I've stayed near the cities. The breakfast area lacks waiters and you have to queue just to enter, not to menton the long queue for coffee. The breakfast quality has lots of room for improvement, most were horrible. The restaurants on the 2nd floor are fanciful and expensive. The good thing about this hotel is that the service is excellent and most staff speaks english.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Our family of four (two adults and two kids ages 4 and 7) stayed here for one night on our around the island tour. We had a suite which was very spacious and the kids even had their own room with a Japanese style sleeping mats. While the architecture is also dated, the inside is recently renovated and the bathrooms were very modern and Western in style.

We arrived late in the evening and left early the next morning, so we didn't get a chance to use the resort facilities. But we walked around the morning of our departure and checked out the pool facilities which looked clean, spacious and well maintained. They had a separate kiddie pool and slides, as well as an indoor playground, pool tables and ping pong tables. There is a large open lawn area and even a driving range. There was a yummy bakery and ice cream stand in the lobby and even a small toy store next to the gift shop.

The breakfast buffet was included, but there were several large tour groups eating breakfast at the same time, so the elevators going downstairs were overcrowded and there was a line to get seated. The quality and selection was a bit subpar, especially in the Western selections.

Despite the crowded breakfast and subpar food, for the value and space, I would still recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amc347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed two nights here. First impression when we saw the hotel from outside is it looks quite grand. However, upon entering the room, it really looks dated. The furniture & beds look rather old. The hotel is also not situated in city centre.

The good points about this hotel are the large compound with waterfall landscape, large swimming pool, sporting facilities (squash court, rock climbing, table tennis, pool table, gym, sauna, kids playground, etc) & relatively good buffet breakfast. Hotel guests are free to use/enjoy all the facilities. Noticed that there are lots of tourist groups (mainly from HK, mainland China & locals) staying in this hotel. As such, during busy hours, there can be long queues at the buffet counters. We use this hotel as our base to explore Taroko Gorge National Park & the east coast tourist attractions between Taitung & Hualien.

Free Wifi inside the room but Internet connectivity could be intermittent at times. As we arrived quite late (after more than 5 hours trip going over the mountainous terrain of Taroko National Park from Taichung), we had buffet dinner at the 2nd floor restaurant. Dinner was just okay, not pricy and service is good. We got a high floor room that faces the Pacific Ocean - providing a splendid view in the morning! If you want a quiet, comfortable hotel with in-house sporting facilities, this is the one!

Room Tip: Get a high floor room facing the Pacific Ocean.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KM_SGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Arrived here on the 4th Nov after the visit of the Taroko National Park. Came here because it was part of a package by CTC. The hotel overall was quite large and the room definitely was large too. Stayed at the 11th floor and got arranged in rooms 1106 and 1108. The rooms requires a key to unlock which was quite weird since now many hotel is using those card keys. The rooms were large and spacious and was clean and comfortable. The room I had was facing the city. The room had cable TV programs too and WiFi was available for free throughout the whole hotel which was superb but speed sometime can get slow as the WiFi is shared with one level each. Aircon temperature was okay as well. The bathroom is quite well spacious too and has a bathtub too. The room is also equipped with electric kettle and packets of coffee and tea too.
Had our dinner in the hotel as the hotel is quite far from the city and was quite inconvinent to get there too. The dinner was buffet-style and served quite a huge variety of food. Ice-creams were provided too. Dinner was quite okay and the service wasn't quite bad too.
There was some souvenir shop at there too and they sell some accessories and necessary items too. Movies DVD were also available for rent too.
Breakfast was also at the same location as dinner and was also served with buffet-styled. Food was also overall quite okay and they provide cereals, bacon and many more breakfast foods.
The swimming pool was also quite large and behind it is a waterfall that attracted many guests taking photos with it. There was also sauna and gym in the hotel.
Overall the hotel service and quality were good and the staff are good and polite too.

Room Tip: Choose rooms that faces the golf-course(swimming pool/waterfall). They offer a much better view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theamazingming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
0.6 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
#5 of 131 in Hualien County
1,517 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fullon Hotel Hualien
Fullon Hotel Hualien
#26 of 131 in Hualien County
98 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lakeshore Hotel
Lakeshore Hotel
#13 of 131 in Hualien County
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
#2 of 131 in Hualien County
952 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
#6 of 131 in Hualien County
877 reviews
0.7 mi away
Li Shiuan International Hotel
Li Shiuan International Hotel
#8 of 131 in Hualien County
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview Hotel

Address: No.1-1 Lin-Yuan, Hualien City, Hualien County, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hualien County
Price Range: $61 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 343
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkview Hotel Hualien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing