We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money and brilliant service...”
Review of Parkview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parkview Hotel
Ranked #18 of 137 Hotels in Hualien County
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Staff always friendly and helpful, they always willing to take the time to help! Great value for money and good location for sightseeing. There are a lot of activities to do around the hotel...

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ting1038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 281 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night on our 'road trip' to the south of Taiwan. Turned up at the hotel with no reservation, negotiated a rate for 1 night - got free upgrades. Hotel was spacious, clean, friendly. Rooms were large and spacious with great views across the ocean, beds a touch hard. Breakfast was good an plentiful good range of local and western dishes. Staff very friendly and efficient. Nice touch that they gave us a complimentary copy of the Taipei times in English! Hotel good value and definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: upgraded rooms are huge and bathrooms very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Self-proclaimed 5-star hotel; I'd probably rate it a 3.5 at best. The shops and multiple restaurants in the hotel are absolutely needed as this location is very far from the active part of hualien. Plan on spending about 400RT from the city, and don't worry about racing back for dinner.

The main buffet is an uninspired mix of pizza, fish, chicken, soup, a few bleak fruits and an ice shaver awaiting to bedrock undercooked red beans and hard taro. Service at the restaurant is non-existent, and we asked 3 different people for a spoon (in mandarin, I'd add), all of which dodging responsibility pointing us some-where else.

The spa brochure shows a serene romantic environment, yet you have to enter a wild family area to ask for service. In fact, there are no couples areas in the spa, rather segregated by sex.

The room looks to be furnished from wal-mart, or maybe holiday-inn: the bed is big and hard, and the room is also big, and vacant, without any color, painting, wood grain.. nothing inspiring or romantic, save perhaps the aging silk flower near the closet.

Positive feelings include a nice view, well-kept greenery, a big pool, and good wifi.

All-in, if you have a family and want a non-romantic hotel with lots of play areas for the kids, you'll probably like parkview. If you are looking for a romantic place, somewhere convenient, or have somewhat refined or modern tastes, parkview is not a good choice.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank outforabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

3rd time my family has stayed at parkview and enjoyed our stay as always. picked up promptly by the hotel shuttle from the train station. the driver was very well trained and courteous even though we were the only 3 passengers onboard. everything was as expected - very spacious and clean room, comfortable beds, nice bathroom. our room faced the ocean. if you can, ask for a room facing the pool, the pool is so beautiful. unfortunately it was raining when we went down to the pool, but we enjoyed the indoor pools and massages...

breakfast was excellent just as i remembered. we had one lunch at the chinese restaurant. they got rid of the business lunch special and only had the one price all you can eat at NT300. it's a bargain if you are a big eater. my parents in their 70's and i are not, but still thought the foodwas worth the price. the only thing i want to mention was that one of our dishes did not come until after our dessert was served, and we had asked for it at least 3 times. and it was not that busy at the time. a bit surprising for a 5 star hotel. the buffet dinner was ok, not the best we've had at a 5 star hotel in taiwan, but plenty of choices and great desserts. it is nice that they offer a discount for people over 65 (my parents are both in their 70's).

highly recommend the 1 day trip to taroko gorge, booked through the hotel. the driver/guide was very good, everyone enjoyed our day out. we were dropped off at the train station at the end of the tour. thanks to the transportation services offered by the hotel and the tour company for our dolphin watch trip, we didn't have to take any taxis.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimijj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

The room is rommy and comfortable. We had a good view of the mountain from our room. We had an early dinner to avoid crowd. The buffet dinner was good, with many choices of Western and Chinese food. Breakfast was a different story; we had to line up to wait for the staff to find us a table. From the luggage placed in the lobby, there must be at least 15 tour groups staying in the hotel. No wonder it was so crowded in the restaurant for breakfast. Nevertheless, we had a nice stay at Parkview Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suathong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

located not far from train station, it has a very big room, room are clean and comfortable, reception staff was very helpful, Price included breakfast and dinner, the food had alot of variety. Only thing for me was the Aroma smell along the room corridor was too strong.Recommend

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tlycwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

I was betting on certainty when booking the Parkview. Had some fun booking via telephone since the online system was weird. My room was downgraded upon arrival since the staff insisted the better room was needlessly expensive - I suppose?

Room was basic but very roomy for Taiwan + had a nice view. Breakfast and dinners included, the usual blend of local and localized European cuisine.

The hotel/resort is far from the Hualien downtown and prone to get taxi drivers rip you off (paid 325 NTD from the train station to there because of an apparent detour), the drive back - a hotel-called taxi - was only 200 NTD - Taxis are actually more expensive than in Taipei).

Service was alright but the hotel simply felt too little value compared to Taipei's competitive environment.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Mir0K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
0.6 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
#4 of 137 in Hualien County
1,626 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fullon Hotel Hualien
Fullon Hotel Hualien
#27 of 137 in Hualien County
100 reviews
1 mi away
Lakeshore Hotel
Lakeshore Hotel
#13 of 137 in Hualien County
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
#6 of 137 in Hualien County
1,078 reviews
2.3 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
#3 of 137 in Hualien County
1,049 reviews
0.7 mi away
Li Shiuan International Hotel
Li Shiuan International Hotel
#8 of 137 in Hualien County
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview Hotel

Address: No.1-1 Lin-Yuan, Hualien City, Hualien County, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hualien County
Price Range: $65 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 343
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkview Hotel Hualien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing