We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location ”
Review of Marshal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marshal Hotel
Ranked #34 of 137 Hotels in Hualien County
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

I live in that hotel for more then one month the room is comfortable and clean. Internet service good but if so mutch customer on site no line.
Reception good friendly and smile, only two or tree speeking English
Breakfast is terrible always I take only Nescafé
Restaurant also verry bed quality terrible and 8 pm close

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Luca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 135 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2014

We booked the hotel with a bug discount. For the price we paid (approx. 45€/night) the hotel was decent. The rooms are a bit outdated but fully functional (aircon, flatscreen, English channels, hot shower). As with many hotels in Taiwan the focus is on Asian guests therefore the European breakfast was quite limited.

The location is quite convenient for shops, night market and eating options (the are not that many interesting place in Hualien overall). The hotel is about 10 mins by taxi (approx. 130 NTD) to the train station. You can walk the distance in about 30 mins.

Some of the desk staff speak reasonable English.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ChristofvdH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Marshal hotel their location very close to the hunlien shopping center , it is really convience shopping if you choosing stay this hotel for your traveling. Their price is not cheap , but it is suitable for family and friends to get there having holidays.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 羚 燕
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Perhaps we arrived in a bad time for the hotel staff, no smile, no greetings but strange looks on their faces by all front desk staff and bell boys. The hallways on our floor were so dark because all nights were turned off. Our room was quite room and so I lower the air temperature from 26 to 22'C. After dinner, we come back to the room and it was so warm again and then I noticed the temperature level was switched back to 26'C.

The tour guests from China were awful. Loud, rude, spit, smoking, pushing, cutting lines .... They added to our stay even worse and most uncomfortable.

The services at the hotel need much improvement. Location was excellent and that's the only good part.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robin8888_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Front desk here is awful. Useless and lazy...it's a tour group hotel, so they don't really care about the customers. When we got to our floor, all of the hallway lights were turned off, and we were expected to turn them on ourselves. I've been to youth hostels nicer than this hotel with better customer service.

Rooms are dated, need significant renovations, and a change in bathroom fixtures. If you are over 5'10" tall, your head will hit the ceiling in the bathtub.

Location is central to all the food and shopping in Hualien. There are other hotels in the area, and I wouldn't stay at this hotel again.

Lots of mainland Chinese tourists stay here, which I suspect is one reason this hotel's standards have gone down. Whenever there is a large group of mainlanders around, you can hardly hear yourself think!

This place is creepy, needs major renovations, and requires an incredible overhaul to become a real hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HerbieWHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Clean, value-priced hotel. Very good, quick service. However, the bathrooms are pretty dated, and there was a sudden 40-minute power outage in the morning. While the property has been refurnished, it hasn't lost its early-80s vibe. My safe wasn't working. If a major chain got a hold of this place, it could actually be something great.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tulipjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nicely located.

Modernized rooms. (Could tell that it was renovated).
Bathrooms felt older.

Free good wifi.

First room had heavy cigarette smoke smell, but they immediately moved us to room next door which was fine. Though hallway still smelled like cigarettes. (Non smoking hotel).

Breakfast buffet not so good. Coffee bad. Small fruit selection. Salad??

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liustephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
1.1 mi away
Liga Hotel
Liga Hotel
#9 of 137 in Hualien County
201 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cullinan Hotel
Cullinan Hotel
#27 of 137 in Hualien County
145 reviews
1.3 mi away
KKS Hotel
KKS Hotel
#25 of 137 in Hualien County
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hualien Charming City Hotel
Hualien Charming City Hotel
#33 of 137 in Hualien County
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Azure Hotel
Azure Hotel
#7 of 137 in Hualien County
512 reviews
0.4 mi away
Constellation Coast Bed and Breakfast
Constellation Coast Bed and Brea...
#1 of 137 in Hualien County
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marshal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marshal Hotel

Address: No.36 Kung Yuan Road, Hualien City, Hualien County 970, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Hualien County
#6 Spa Hotel in Hualien County
Price Range: $42 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marshal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 11-story Hotel located 3 km from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marshal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshal Hotel Hualien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing