We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some good burritos” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dos Tacos

Dos Tacos
Ranked #1 of 518 Restaurants in Hualien
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Mexican food in Hualien downtown, chill place, chill music, own by a foreigner who loves Hualien and lives here. We have steak fajitas, Chicken fajitas,burritos, nachos, hard tacos, soft tacos, quesadillas, draft beer and cocktails,fried ice cream !! Free wifi. Enjoy your trip in Hualien, enjoy Mexican food in Dos Tacos! Welcome!
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Some good burritos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Taking a break from the local fare we decided to try our luck at Dos Tacos. We sat upstairs in the restaurant which lacked the atmosphere the downstairs has, but the burritos made up for that. I had a beef burrito and it was delicious. Definitely worth a visit if your in Hualien.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrs_Christoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    55
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hualien, Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mexican Oasis on the Western Edge of the Pacific”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Though NatalieB0282's review rings true, the main courses were beautiful in presentation, and not at all disappointing.

The flavor and care put into assembling the dishes were redeeming elements in an otherwise nicely managed restaurant. Further, I assume, from experience living in the East, that it is no easy task assembling the caliber of quality Dos Tacos strives for in the backwaters of Taiwan.

That being said, the prices were approaching the farther edges of reasonable, and therefore, the condiments could have been a bit more generously supplied, being that they are not entirely handmade.

Ambience was intact; and, the friendliness of the staff was in no short supply. Well worth a try, if your in the mood for a rare and tasty Mexican spread in a town that is extremely sparse in good quality Western style food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HualienRen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hualien, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gotta Love Tex-Mex”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

I grew up all throughout the desert southwest of the United States. Everywhere you go it's Tex-Mex (Texas/Mexican) or some would say Cal-Mex (California/Mexican). Mexican food is my favorite kind of cuisine. With that being said, I would highly recommend eating at Dos Tacos. The food rocks. I've eaten there many times and I've never been disappointed.

They've done an excellent job with the atmosphere and the people there are super friendly.

By the way, I suggest the Quesadillas.

¡Buen apetito!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeGarrity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hualien, Taiwan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nacho craving!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Dos Tacos is a lovely little place to go have a drink and (for me) nachos!
I am so happy that Hualien has this Tex-Mex restaurant...it can really hit the spot!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank salajoyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wife liked it, I did not”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

I've eaten my share of good mexican food and didn't think this place came close, but to be fair, my wife thought it was quite good. Cheese on appetizer nachos was not melted and the salsa, guac and sour cream that came with it was enough to last about 8 chips. Felt like it was rationed. I had the soft taco (asked for spicy) and thought it more like a burrito and not spicy, not even medium spice. The Mrs. did like her taco salad and the young 'uns seemed to enjoy their food. Service was attentive but each main came to our table 5 minutes apart (there were four of us) which was most annoying. I suppose it's good mexican for Taiwan, but if you've had the real stuff you might be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beemarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dos Tacos also viewed

 

Been to Dos Tacos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing