We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and incredibly helpful owners” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Journey Hostel

Journey Hostel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Journey Hostel
Ranked #16 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Hualien
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly and incredibly helpful owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in Hualien and can't rate this hostel highly enough because of the amazing staff- Nita in particular. From the moment we arrived she was organising tours, checking train times and helping us to make Green Island reservations by phone. Nothing was too much trouble and we asked a lot if questions! We enjoyed sitting out front in the evening and were introduced to a range of their local spirits (thanks Charlie!)...very friendly owners. 10 minute walk from station and night market.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Dont expect confortable beds...they are very hard. But you will get really good service, the host is very helpful and speaks really well in English. She also let us leave our bags on spot so we could go cycling the east coast for a few days... Which was easier than trying to mail it... The hostel has a bar downstairs which is good for unwinding in the evening. Look also for a tea place just before the McDonald ( read tea cash in front) with a pond filled with fish. You can have a full meal for under 200twd including drinks... The food was really good and they have an English menu inside. Love the hostel and where it is situated.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissMiggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
135 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is one of my favourous hostels that I stayed in East Asia. 15 minutes walk from the Hualien Rail Station if you leave from the exit of the rear station. few minutes walk to the main Zhongshan Road. This is a 2-storey hostel with 5 dormitory rooms and 2 shared bathrooms with different gender. The first floor houses a bar, lounge, court yard with fish pond and the kitchen. Every place is clean, quite and well decorated by great photos shotted by the owner's brother.

Free wifi, A/C, fan, linens, shower gel and tissue paper are provided. The staff is very friendly and helpful. City map and other info were giving for referenc when checking in. A dream home for the backpackers.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lui w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

I highly recommend Journey Hostel to anyone visiting Hualien. Charlie is the BEST host anyone can ask for! The hostel is done up very nicely and the atmosphere really encourages travellers to interact with each other.
Facilities and location are fantastic. There isn't anything else I would ask for.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wweii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are very clean the staff is very helpful and friendly location is good 10 min walking distance to train station. The rooms and showers are very clean.............................................

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomkash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pangkalan Bun
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Journey hostel is excellent. The friendly staff and relaxed style makes it feel more like staying with friends than at a hostel! Nice bar in the front which is open to the street, and a relaxing courtyard with a lovely fishpond inside for those times when you want a more quiet atmosphere. Upstairs are the dorms and bathroom which are spotlessly clean and comfortable. I definitely recommend this place to anyone who visits Hualien.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naha, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay at journey hostel. Inside the house is stylishly decoration and the rooms are comfortable and clean.
We stay at a room that we can see the pond.
The staff is really helpful and friendly. Give us some local rice wine to try .
I'd recommend this hostel to anyone staying in Hualien!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ErlinSima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien hotels
0.6 mi away
Hualien Wow Hostel
Hualien Wow Hostel
#3 of 135 in Hualien
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mini Voyage Hostel
Mini Voyage Hostel
#2 of 135 in Hualien
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayhouse Comfortel Hualien Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cave Hostel
Cave Hostel
#13 of 135 in Hualien
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.4 mi away
On My Way  Hualien Hostel & Backpacker
1.6 mi away
Manado B&B
Manado B&B
#23 of 135 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Journey Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Journey Hostel

Property: Journey Hostel
Address: No.147 Fuguo Road, Hualien, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Journey Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing