We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“great food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jiananyang curry Restaurant

Jiananyang curry Restaurant
Ranked #54 of 466 Restaurants in Hualien
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Malaysian
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

In one word, i will say...great. I found this restaurant by chance, i thought i will have a common curry like in taipei, but no. I enjoy my curry fish, the price is reasonable 200-400 *included appetizer, beverage and dessert, no service fee, you can ask more rice or sauce for free, the food looks like very freshand the persons who work there are very friendly. They provide backpackers rooms but ask them for more information.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank airenli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Vegetarian Friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The restaurant has homey atmosphere and serves Southern Asian style curry. They also provide customized spiciness service for you.
Price is around NTD$200-400 per person with unlimited rice.
It's a good value for the portion.

No service fee.
(it's not a custom to tip the waitress in Taiwan)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank yoyochiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai Region, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, good service, value for money...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This little malaysian restaurant in Hualien / Taiwan is definatelty worth a visit. The vegetarian curry was fantastic and I am sure if you like meat you will also not be disappointed. It seemed like it was a little family owned place and so the service was very friendly. The value for money was also very good. Great food, good service, value for money, what else you want...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gman8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Different Kind of Curry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is a great curry restaurant, different from most curry in Taiwan. It's fresh meat, not a deep-fried breaded patty. Tried the chicken and beef because they were out of the pork.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Awesome food, one or two o the ladies speak good English, I had a pork curry and it was delicious, must have been already slow cooked because it was very tender. My wife also had a curry which were both part of a set menu and it cost NT$410 in total which is comparatively reasonable for hualien.
They also appear to serve some boutique beers but we took the included free drink and that was enough!

Great food and would definately recommend and return

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael11_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jiananyang curry Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jiananyang curry Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing