We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come & stay here”
Review of Papaya River B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Papaya River B&B
Ranked #173 of 1,615 Hualien County B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This place is definitely interesting. There's alpacas to feed in the morning and a more than copious breakfast, Taiwanese style or Western. They also have friendly pets that wander around. The building is also architecturally very interesting.

The rooms are big & spacious, and the bathrooms also are big.

The host will drive you around if you don't have a car. There are also some bikes you can borrow if you want to be energetic. We rented a car; the host gave us an itinerary every day, so we got to see some amazing sights.

The backyard is a large lake with trees--very pretty and scenic.

But the biggest draw is still the alpacas. They were great fun to feed in the morning. This minsu is relaxed and friendly & the alpacas are like the icing on top!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ysa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for Papaya River B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 19 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

I were recommended this guest house from friend's friend. After went through this guest house website, I had no hesitation for searching other B&B but, immediately contact them for booking. To my surprise, the owner not only assisted us to book the taxi for touring Taroko and fetched us from Taroko to Qing Jing farm, but, he himself was our driver and tour guide for 2 days! He was very enthusiastic in showing us Hualien's attraction. I remember 1 event that he took the effort to catch fireflies for us when touring 鲤鱼潭 in the evening for fireflies watching. Too bad that we were having very short time in HuaLien. We should have spent more days there instead of staying only 1 night. We had missed out enjoying his bicycle to tour the area nearby his guest house. We also missed out doing our laundry there which the facilities is provided.
I would really praised his driving skill especially from Taroko cross over the more than 3000 meters above sea level mountains to Qing Jing farm in the foggy weather. We couldn't even see the opposite direction of the cars coming nor a few meters in front of us with our car lights were on. But, his driving was very firmed, steady and smooth.
The most embarrass event was when we found out that he had paid for our lunch in Taroko on the last day. We were really touched by his hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wshapr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

first time to Hua Lian and first time staying at Taiwan B&B, and WOW, the experience is fantastic! room is big, huge, giant! and the view from the toilet window, haha, yes from toilet window is like a piece of beautiful painting. host is very nice and friendly, we hire him for a day trip to national park -Tai Lu Ge, and this is a must-go, you really don't want to miss it. and don't forget to borrow a bike from the guest house, it's free, and ride to the lake. i never had this kind of experience from my previous trips, i'd say this is one of my best memory.

one small negative thing - they do not make up your room in the next morning, so do not battle in your room. maybe they can clean for you by request, i'm not sure.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StanUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed in 3 different B&B during this trip and we all like this one a lot

The host is super nice. He enjoys getting along with the guests and introduce all his lovely animals in the farm. Yes, not only alpacas he has, but also some special kinds of birds, rabbits, a dog, a cat etc
Guests can feed the alpacas 8 o'clock in the morning and can play with them anytime during daytime

April is the best time to come as the alpacas still keep the long fur ( look more cute!), the flowers that you can only see at nights and the fireflies

The rooms are spacious and neat, with a big bathtub

Free wifi in common area

For sure we will come again!! (yes! In april!)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnnieTang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed in this dream house for 3 nights. This house is more than just a minshu - the house is well-designed; we appreciated and enjoyed every part of it. Highly-recommended it for anyone who will go to Hualien and this place is also very suitable for families with kids.

For animal lovers, there are 6-7 alpacas (2nd generation from New Zealand), 2 loveable dogs, birds, rabbits, etc etc.

For nature lovers, the house owner will also show you what flowers only grow at night (yes, quite educational!)

For outdoor people, you can also borrow their bicycles for free and the owner can provide you good suggestions on whereabout you can ride to (based on your skills & interests).

For people who appreciate interior designs and architecture, this place will definitely impress you!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelAddictWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed three nights here and did not want to leave in the end.

Besides the alpacas, the owner keeps a host of other animals and pets that essentially greets all of the guests that come into and leave this B&B.

Hosts are warm, dedicated and knowledgeable. Goes out of their way to introduce the visitors to this combination farm/homestay.

kl

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank olgsolgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Pros:
- Rooms are suprise, great bath facilities.
- Warm service.
- Free Wifi and coffee @ receiption
- Alpaca, Alpaca, Alpaca..

Cons:
- 15mins drive from city, no public transports arriving hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anthony_Chow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
7.3 mi away
Green Willow B&B
Green Willow B&B
#31 of 1,615 in Hualien County
47 reviews
5.8 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
#5 of 131 in Hualien County
1,517 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
#6 of 131 in Hualien County
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Silks Place Taroko
Silks Place Taroko
#4 of 131 in Hualien County
1,289 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lakeshore Hotel
Lakeshore Hotel
#13 of 131 in Hualien County
199 reviews
6.2 mi away
Fullon Hotel Hualien
Fullon Hotel Hualien
#26 of 131 in Hualien County
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papaya River B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papaya River B&B

Address: No.176 Guanghua 8th Street, Hualien County, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien County
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 1,615 B&Bs / Inns in Hualien County
Price Range: $98 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Papaya River B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing