We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall it was great! But...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeshore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lakeshore Hotel
Ranked #8 of 123 Hotels in Hualien
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overall it was great! But...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Well I stayed here for one day, it was quite good though...But when I was sleeping, I can here people nextdoor speaking very loudly, that was horrible as I was very tired and they were talking so loudly and their TV volume was on max.i hope the hotel will improve on that.But I was lucky to get a room with a seaview.Anyway there were some shops opposite the hotel, but most of it was clinics...but I will consider to stay in this hotel the next time I'm in taiwan :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NLW13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    60
    13
    0
    2
See reviews for
67
33
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

It looks to me like an almost brand new hotel.
I was given a room on the higher floor with sea view as requested when I made the booking with Agoda.
The shower room and bathtub are located in the front portion of the room next to the glass panel. I guess this is probably the latest trend of hotel room layout or it is commonly referred as the Balinese style. Frankly, I do not enjoy taking bath or shower in the “public”, do you? Of course you have a curtain to block it out of view if you want more privacy. Yes is true (see pic1 ) . Imagine if you have a pair of binoculars you could actually see from far. The position of WC is near the entrance like what you will find in most hotel rooms. With such arrangement, I personally find it “inconvenient”. But the plus point is that the hotel is really brand new. Everything is new, clean and shinning.
This hotel served reasonably good breakfast. Again, I could not find any yoghurt, no fry eggs and cheese in this Taiwanese hotel. Since they served international buffet, I just wonder why they cannot have these popular items included for Westerners, I guess they focus more on tourists from mainland China, because cheese and yoghurt are not popular items in the breakfast list of the Chinese. On the whole, the hotel room rate charged is value for money.
The hotel is not in the town center, you may not have much choice in buying hawkers food for dinner in the vicinity of the hotel. But don’t worry, you may want to try out this restaurant (Chi - Ye h Cypress Museum – is a restaurant) which is just a 3 minute walk from the hotel. Try it out, you will not regret. It is reasonably priced. A set dinner is only about USD12.00 (see pic ). I must say that the food is value for money – I rated this as 100% satisfying.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KHAI_TEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We arrived very late in Hualien and the roads were closed due to rock fall. Our taxi driver took us to the Lakeshore Hotel and we were greeted and helped upon arrival. Because we arrived late they gave us a very nice room at a discount. 8th floor, ocean views, beautiful. We were traveling with a 1 year old and they provided a nice small crib for him. Our favorite part of the room was the huge tub and shower room enclosed in glass and overlooking the ocean. Judy at the front desk was very helpful and spoke excellent English. Then buffet breakfast had a huge variety. Overall this was a pleasant change of plans and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulle, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Stay at the lovely spacious room with huge twin beds and free in room internet access. Nice restaurant with delicious food. Too bad that the location is far away from the center and tourist attraction.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r0nDwOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for our yearly family trip to Hualien. The staffs were very nice and helpful. The room were new, comfortable and we had the sea view. We woke up with the sun shining right into our bed room. Overall experience was excellent.

I am more of a western breakfast guy. Most of Taiwan hotels incline to offer asian style breakfast with congee rice, dried meat, and stuff like that. This was no difference with Lakeshore, however they provided more variety.

I would definitely come back again.

It is not located in center of Hualien City. So driving is recommended.

Room Tip: Sea side view is good if you don't mind waking up with the sun rise. Think about transportation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happyhare06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Brand new hotel with huge room and beds with free wifi. Arrive late at night at 8 and hardly find anything around. Decide to have dinner at the hotel and found nice food in the restaurant. Overall, I really enjoy each facilitity at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Titifff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We chose this Lakeshore hotel because we like the one in Hsinchu. We were there for a family trip and stayed at the hotel for 3 days. It was a wonderful experience. The hotel is brand new and its facilities, including the kids' room, gym and sauna, are great. The staff from the reception, housekeeping and restaurant are very friendly and helpful.

The hotel is located in a nice and quiet neighbourhood. Quite a few eateries and bakeries nearby. We were upgraded to the rooms on the 8th floor with the fantastic ocean view. The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable.

There is a garden on the hill around 10-minute walk from the hotel. You can see the harbour and lighthouse from there. A nice place to have a cup of coffee and relax.

We'll definitely return to the hotel next time we visit Hualian!

Room Tip: ask for a room with the ocean view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FC17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien hotels
0.4 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
1.5 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
0.9 mi away
Fullon Hotel Hualien
Fullon Hotel Hualien
#29 of 123 in Hualien
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
#11 of 123 in Hualien
4.0 of 5 stars 213 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kindness Hotel - Hualien Main Station
1.0 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#13 of 123 in Hualien
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeshore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeshore Hotel

Property: Lakeshore Hotel
Address: No.142 Zhongmei Road, Hualien CIty, Hualien, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 123 Hotels in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeshore Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Lakeshore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing