We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful change of plans”
Review of Lakeshore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lakeshore Hotel
Ranked #13 of 131 Hotels in Hualien County
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We arrived very late in Hualien and the roads were closed due to rock fall. Our taxi driver took us to the Lakeshore Hotel and we were greeted and helped upon arrival. Because we arrived late they gave us a very nice room at a discount. 8th floor, ocean views, beautiful. We were traveling with a 1 year old and they provided a nice small crib for him. Our favorite part of the room was the huge tub and shower room enclosed in glass and overlooking the ocean. Judy at the front desk was very helpful and spoke excellent English. Then buffet breakfast had a huge variety. Overall this was a pleasant change of plans and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
There are newer reviews for Lakeshore Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 199 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Stay at the lovely spacious room with huge twin beds and free in room internet access. Nice restaurant with delicious food. Too bad that the location is far away from the center and tourist attraction.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank r0nDwOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for our yearly family trip to Hualien. The staffs were very nice and helpful. The room were new, comfortable and we had the sea view. We woke up with the sun shining right into our bed room. Overall experience was excellent.

I am more of a western breakfast guy. Most of Taiwan hotels incline to offer asian style breakfast with congee rice, dried meat, and stuff like that. This was no difference with Lakeshore, however they provided more variety.

I would definitely come back again.

It is not located in center of Hualien City. So driving is recommended.

Room Tip: Sea side view is good if you don't mind waking up with the sun rise. Think about transportation...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happyhare06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Brand new hotel with huge room and beds with free wifi. Arrive late at night at 8 and hardly find anything around. Decide to have dinner at the hotel and found nice food in the restaurant. Overall, I really enjoy each facilitity at the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Titifff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We chose this Lakeshore hotel because we like the one in Hsinchu. We were there for a family trip and stayed at the hotel for 3 days. It was a wonderful experience. The hotel is brand new and its facilities, including the kids' room, gym and sauna, are great. The staff from the reception, housekeeping and restaurant are very friendly and helpful.

The hotel is located in a nice and quiet neighbourhood. Quite a few eateries and bakeries nearby. We were upgraded to the rooms on the 8th floor with the fantastic ocean view. The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable.

There is a garden on the hill around 10-minute walk from the hotel. You can see the harbour and lighthouse from there. A nice place to have a cup of coffee and relax.

We'll definitely return to the hotel next time we visit Hualian!

Room Tip: ask for a room with the ocean view if possible.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FC17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

My friend/guide and I were traveling down the coast of Taiwan. Our planned lodging for the Taroko area fell apart at the last minute so we decided to just go into Hualien and find a place that looked nice. This was late on a Saturday evening and we were tired after a long day. One of the first places we came to was the Lakeshore which looked pretty nice from the outside so we decided to give it a try. So, basically by dumb luck we found probably the nicest place I stayed in Taiwan. It is just a shame we didn't get to spend more time there.

I had a room on the 8th floor with a view of the ocean which I believe was probably in the best category of rooms in the house. King size bed. Hardwood floors. The configuration was a bit odd with the shower and bathtub at the window end of the room, and the toilet and vanity in a small room at the other end near the door. Everything looked and smelled brand new.

I agree that the breakfast buffet had a lot to offer and was pretty good quality. Ultimately it was just a quick overnight for us. We met some very friendly staff members as we were checking out who wanted to know what we were doing there basically. I think they mainly get Chinese bus tours.

There is a small free parking garage in the basement. They also offer shuttle rides from the train station and to Taroko.

The Lakeshore name is a mystery as well. Maybe it's part of a chain?

I would not hesitate for a second to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank glennaa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Although this hotel is not located on the city center, i found this hotel is impeccable, luxury and huge bedroom also the bathroom is incredible clean! The breakfast was good, with plenty of selection ranging from Chinese to Western menu.
There's also a convenience store and some bakery shops nearby, so you still could get any supper if u're looking for food at late night...
In my humble opinion, Lakeshore Hotel is one of my favorite hotels during my trip throughout Taiwan!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liandy_Vu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
0.4 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
#5 of 131 in Hualien County
1,514 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fullon Hotel Hualien
Fullon Hotel Hualien
#26 of 131 in Hualien County
98 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
#6 of 131 in Hualien County
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
#2 of 131 in Hualien County
945 reviews
0.3 mi away
Li Shiuan International Hotel
Li Shiuan International Hotel
#8 of 131 in Hualien County
279 reviews
1.0 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#20 of 131 in Hualien County
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeshore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeshore Hotel

Address: No.142 Zhongmei Road, Hualien CIty, Hualien County, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 131 Hotels in Hualien County
Price Range: $66 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeshore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lakeshore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing