We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Liked: 5-mode powerful shower” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Ranked #4 of 123 Hotels in Hualien
Certificate of Excellence
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Liked: 5-mode powerful shower”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Modern interior, clean, but rather isolated.
Stayed for 1 night.
Love its 5-mode shower head, with powerful spraying. Wifi available in room, and connections was very fast.
The only downside is the hard bed.
Bathroom ameneties is standard, with body lotion, toothbrush, shaving kit.
Breakfast : standard.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau de Chin... 翰, 總經理 at Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien, responded to this review, August 9, 2016
Thank you for staying at CHATEAU de CHINE Hualien and sharing your review. We are truly regret to learn your stay experience. Your comments have been well conveyed to our management team for future improvement, we appreciate your feedback that gave us opportunity to become better. We sincerely hope to have a chance to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    291
    41
    4
    10
See reviews for
632
119
23
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
220 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel is clean and quite comfortable. But the location is not that good. We were on a packaged tour, so this hotel was actually the choice of the travel agency.
We would prefer to have a hotel that have a night market nearby so we could somehow walk around if ever the tour finished early.
But, if your the type of person who would want to just stay and relax at the hotel after a tiresome day, this would be the right choice for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ihui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau de Chin... 翰, 總經理 at Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien, responded to this review, August 9, 2016
Thank you for your stay at CHATEAU de CHINE Hualien and sharing your review. Great thanks for your compliment. We sincerely look forward to having your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I was so surprised with this hotel the location is very Isolated there where still a few cheap eatery if you wish the hotel food is quite affordable and great views
the hotel has all the pools spa etc you could not ask for moor the staff are helpfull and nothing seems to much trouble

Room Tip: Looking over the moutains
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dillon022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau de Chin... 翰, 總經理 at Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien, responded to this review, August 9, 2016
Thank you for taking your time sharing your wonderful experience with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoy our services. It is a great honor to know that you really loved to stay with us. We would definitely look forward to welcoming you back next time for another fabulous stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

The hotel appears to be fairly new (at least the current interior), and is well kept and clean. The staff is friendly and helpful, however their English is not particularly strong (if that's a concern). The staff helped us arrange a car and driver for sightseeing (Katie, our driver, did a great job). Free Internet in the hotel but not password protected so a few more security risks. The hotel has a nice buffet for breakfast. In sum, a decent option.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank WeEaSoNo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau de Chin... 翰, 總經理 at Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien, responded to this review, August 10, 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay Chateau de Chine Hualien and sharing us your comments. It is our commitment to provide better service and more comfortable stay experience for our guests. We appreciate that you feel the considerate service and great hospitality. We sincerely look forward to having your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Our family (2 adults and 2 kids) took a 3-day trip to Hualien when we visited families in Taipei. We chose Chateau de China for its value - a tour included and 2 breakfast and 1 dinner. The room is spacious, pleasant and clean. The food is DELICOUS. But what I want to highlight is their exceptional service. I had questions before booking the room and had email exchanges with the hotel. They answered my questions promptly and were very unfront about the price. When we arrived at the hotel, they made us feel very welcome and they were very helpful. They recommend places we can visit and help arranged transportation. When we went out the first day, as we were getting into the taxi, a staff ran out to us, handing us 4 bottles of water for our trip! One night my daughter didn't feel well and wanted some congee. I looked around in the restaurant (we were having buffet dinner) and didn't see congee. When I inquired about it, the chef said "I will go cook some for her right now". 15 minutes later she had what she needed! I am very grateful for their service.

The hotel is not in the center of the town, which can be a good or bad thing depending on what you want. But it's a short taxi ride into the town. We prefer to be away from the town center. My husband and I took a short walk toward the water. It was a nice walk. There is a stone sculpture museum nearby, which we didn't have time to go, but looks like a nice place to visit. Although the surroudning is not as developed as the city center, the place is very safe.

We enjoyed our trip. They can get taxi for you charged by hour, to go anywhere you want. And the taxi drivers were all very friendly and helpful, acting also as a guide. We found this to be the best for us. We also went on their tour (included in the package), but we didn't like it because it didn't give us enough time at the sightseeing places, but let us out in a shopping place for one hour. I wished we would just hire our own taxi, if we knew what the tour was like.

I recommend this hotel to anyone. I want to thank all of the hotel staff for their exceptional service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau de Chin... 翰, 總經理 at Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien, responded to this review, August 10, 2016
Dear Nancy, thank you for taking your time sharing your wonderful experience with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoy our services. It is a great honor to know that you really loved to stay with us. We would definitely look forward to welcoming you back next time for another fabulous stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I stayed here for one night earlier this month. Location wise, it wasn't all that good. The surrounding areas was poorly lit and run down, making a night stroll pretty scary. Having said that, the river near the hotel made it a nice morning stroll for me.

The hotel exterior itself was very colourful with a hotel logo plastered at the entrance, much like a university building rather than a hotel.

The rooms themselves was functional without being outstanding. I certainly have no complaints about them.

Buffet breakfast selection was good and the staff were generally kind. All in all, a good and interesting hotel to say the least.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ng_ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau de Chin... 翰, 總經理 at Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien, responded to this review, August 10, 2016
Dear Ryan, thank you for choosing to stay Chateau de Chine Hualien and sharing us your comments. It is our commitment to provide better service and more comfortable stay experience for our guests. We appreciate that you feel the considerate service and great hospitality. We sincerely look forward to having your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

We (family of three adults) spent one night here on a package tour of Taiwan in December 2011. The room was very clean and well-appointed, with a flat screen TV and a lot of cable channels, including a few in English. They are very well organized for package tours (most of which are Japanese and Chinese), and the staff lined up outside to farewell our bus. There is a very good buffet breakfast selection, and a convenience store just across the road.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stickman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau de Chin... 翰, 總經理 at Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien, responded to this review, August 10, 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay Chateau de Chine Hualien and sharing us your comments. It is our commitment to provide better service and more comfortable stay experience for our guests. We appreciate that you feel the considerate service and great hospitality. We sincerely look forward to having your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien hotels
1.9 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
6.1 mi away
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
#11 of 123 in Hualien
4.0 of 5 stars 213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fullon Hotel Hualien
Fullon Hotel Hualien
#30 of 123 in Hualien
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kindness Hotel - Hualien Main Station
15.6 mi away
Silks Place Taroko
Silks Place Taroko
#3 of 123 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 977 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#12 of 123 in Hualien
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien

Property: Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Address: No.2 Yongxing Road, Hualien City, Hualien 970, Taiwan (Formerly Chinatrust Hotel Hualien)
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 123 Hotels in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien is the first international resort hotel in Eastern Taiwan which features the environmental concept of “green hotel,” featuring ecological, energy-saving, carbon-reducing and health-oriented green architecture. The 11-story hotel has 197 elegant rooms where beautiful natural scenery can be taken in from all sides—the vast blue Pacific Ocean to the east, the rolling greens of Central Mountain Range to the west, the Coast Ranges to the south, and the view of the Suhua cliffs to the north. Situated near the Hualien Port and Hualien Cultural Center, guests will find easy access to a wide range of activities in the Taroko Gorge and Eastern seafront. Jimmy, Taiwan famous artist, presents his magic world in Chateau de Chine and share the same concept-hug, love, and sharing.We invite everyone with open arms to embrace without a word, to exchange and deliver care, support, thanks, and many other positive energy. Througout the hotel corners, Jimmy’s installations and embrace story will quietly involved in your journey, we wish to recall your every touching moment and see your smile in Chateau de Chine Hualien. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing