We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Ranked #5 of 131 Hotels in Hualien County
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I stayed here for one night earlier this month. Location wise, it wasn't all that good. The surrounding areas was poorly lit and run down, making a night stroll pretty scary. Having said that, the river near the hotel made it a nice morning stroll for me.

The hotel exterior itself was very colourful with a hotel logo plastered at the entrance, much like a university building rather than a hotel.

The rooms themselves was functional without being outstanding. I certainly have no complaints about them.

Buffet breakfast selection was good and the staff were generally kind. All in all, a good and interesting hotel to say the least.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ng_ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau de Chin... 翰, 總經理 at Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Dear Ryan, thank you for choosing to stay Chateau de Chine Hualien and sharing us your comments. It is our commitment to provide better service and more comfortable stay experience for our guests. We appreciate that you feel the considerate service and great hospitality. We sincerely look forward to having your return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,514)
There are newer reviews for Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 1,514 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2011

We (family of three adults) spent one night here on a package tour of Taiwan in December 2011. The room was very clean and well-appointed, with a flat screen TV and a lot of cable channels, including a few in English. They are very well organized for package tours (most of which are Japanese and Chinese), and the staff lined up outside to farewell our bus. There is a very good buffet breakfast selection, and a convenience store just across the road.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stickman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau de Chin... 翰, 總經理 at Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Thank you for choosing to stay Chateau de Chine Hualien and sharing us your comments. It is our commitment to provide better service and more comfortable stay experience for our guests. We appreciate that you feel the considerate service and great hospitality. We sincerely look forward to having your return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I stayed at Chateau de Chine on a package tour - I think it was previously called the Chinatrust Hotel.

The hotel makes a big deal about its Mondriane theme, but really this is confined entirely to its exterior appearance - inside it looks like any other hotel. We were also told the hotel has an excellent "green" rating due to energy saving measures.

My room was average sized and comfortable enough, but nothing special.

The hotel is about 30-40 minutes walk from the city centre, and you can take the second half of that walk along the river, which is pleasant. There are also plenty of convenience stores, restaurants and, noticeably, clinics and chemists nearby.

The breakfast buffet was extensive, but had very few vegetarian choices which made it my most disappointing breakfast in Taiwan.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BVC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau de Chin... 翰, 總經理 at Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Thank you for staying at CHATEAU de CHINE Hualien and sharing your review. It is a pity that the stay experience did not meet your expectation. We are truly regret to learn your stay experience. Your comments have been well conveyed to our management team for future improvement, we appreciate your feedback that gave us opportunity to become better. We sincerely hope to have a chance to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I am not sure how I came accross this hotel, since it doesn't have any reviews on Tripadvisor, but I am glad as to how the circumstances worked out, because it turned out to be a pleasant experience.

As soon as we parked in front of the entrance, two bell boys readily came to help with the luggage. Then as we approached the front desk to check in, we were invited to try the hotel's special local tea and sweets. I couldn't indulge as I don't like tea, but I appreciated the token of hospitality very much. Every staff member was nice and polite, and most only knew basic English, there were a few that were good enough to translate where needed.
In the morning, we missed breakfast (thought it was until 10am, but in fact it was until 9:30am), but we were nevertheless served egg sandwiches, fruit and coffee simply because of being nice and hospitable. Kudos for that!
They have a dinner buffet for 700NTD per person, but we went to the ala carte Chinese restaurant instead. Had an ok meal for 1100NTD for two, quite frankly, I wouldn't recommend.

The hotel was also very pleasant to stay at - nice sized room, bathroom, pleasant common areas. As in most of Taiwan - free wireless net, welcome fruit on arrival + free bottles of water.
One complaint - super hard mattresses, felt like beaten with a stick when I woke up in the morning. Pillows were a hit and miss - mine was ok, hubby's felt like it was made of styrofoam balls.
In case you are driving: parking is free.

The room rate was 110USD per night, so in my book - this hotel was good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Bulgarian_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau de Chin... 翰, 總經理 at Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Thank you for taking your time sharing your wonderful experience with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoy our services. It is a great honor to know that you really loved to stay with us. We would definitely look forward to welcoming you back next time for another fabulous stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Chateau de Chine in Hualien is a fabulous hotel and perfect for a family. The rooms are a good size and are well sound proofed. There is a well proportioned outside pool with central fountain. The restaurant was able to accommodate a vegetarian diet and all staff are friendly and approachable. To be recommended. *****

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria_J_Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau de Chin... 翰, 總經理 at Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Dear Maria, thank you for taking your time sharing your wonderful experience with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoy our services. It is a great honor to know that you really loved to stay with us. We would definitely look forward to welcoming you back next time for another fabulous stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2009

They have a standard 4 star hotel lobby layout, nothing special. The room corridor is very spacious and warm with its contemporer piece of chinese painting. And the room is so lovable! I really like the design. The furniture is very nice, a soft wooden color. The combination of the carpet, the wallpaper, the curtain is very perfect and make the room seems very relaxing. The bathroom is very clean and bright. The proportion is very perfect. The bed is also big and comfort. And there is also a common facilities such as gym, sauna, game center, pool, and table tennis to play. Great hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arimbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau de Chin... 翰, 總經理 at Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Thank you for taking your time sharing your wonderful experience with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoy our services. It is a great honor to know that you really loved to stay with us. We would definitely look forward to welcoming you back next time for another fabulous stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2006

I was only in Hualien for business. I was told this was the third or fourth nicest hotel in Hualien (after I got there), which I can believe. This is not a bad hotel, but it isn't anything spectacular either. The room had enough space and appeared to be pretty clean. The bed was hard and so were the pillows. I could not get an ironing board and iron in my room, I was told to go to the laundary room on the 3rd floor (just to give you an idea of the type of hotel it was). The keycard controls your A/C and power, so if you leave your room, shove something in the keycard slot to keep your A/C running (which is a necessity for summer in Taiwan, in my opinion). The breakfast was almost entirely Chinese, although I found coffee, toast and a banana to get by on. The hotel staff spoke very limited English, so don't expect to make any complicated requests. The guestbook has some funny translations to English, so be sure to peruse that if you stay here. Overall, it's an OK place to stay as long as you don't pay too much and aren't expecting anything grand.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oldkeg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau de Chin... 翰, 總經理 at Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2016

Thank you for staying at CHATEAU de CHINE Hualien and sharing your review. It is a pity that the stay experience did not meet your expectation. We are truly regret to learn your stay experience. Your comments have been well conveyed to our management team for future improvement, we appreciate your feedback that gave us opportunity to become better. We sincerely hope to have a chance to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
0.4 mi away
Fullon Hotel Hualien
Fullon Hotel Hualien
#26 of 131 in Hualien County
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lakeshore Hotel
Lakeshore Hotel
#13 of 131 in Hualien County
199 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
#6 of 131 in Hualien County
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
#2 of 131 in Hualien County
945 reviews
0.1 mi away
Li Shiuan International Hotel
Li Shiuan International Hotel
#8 of 131 in Hualien County
279 reviews
15.5 mi away
Silks Place Taroko
Silks Place Taroko
#4 of 131 in Hualien County
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien

Address: No.2 Yongxing Road, Hualien City, Hualien County 970, Taiwan (Formerly Chinatrust Hotel Hualien)
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 131 Hotels in Hualien County
Price Range: $65 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien 4.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien is the first international resort hotel in Eastern Taiwan which features the environmental concept of “green hotel,” featuring ecological, energy-saving, carbon-reducing and health-oriented green architecture. The 11-story hotel has 197 elegant rooms where beautiful natural scenery can be taken in from all sides—the vast blue Pacific Ocean to the east, the rolling greens of Central Mountain Range to the west, the Coast Ranges to the south, and the view of the Suhua cliffs to the north. Situated near the Hualien Port and Hualien Cultural Center, guests will find easy access to a wide range of activities in the Taroko Gorge and Eastern seafront. Jimmy, Taiwan famous artist, presents his magic world in Chateau de Chine and share the same concept-hug, love, and sharing.We invite everyone with open arms to embrace without a word, to exchange and deliver care, support, thanks, and many other positive energy. Througout the hotel corners, Jimmy’s installations and embrace story will quietly involved in your journey, we wish to recall your every touching moment and see your smile in Chateau de Chine Hualien. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing