We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Top notch customer service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silks Place Taroko

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silks Place Taroko
Ranked #4 of 125 Hotels in Hualien
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top notch customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I wish to thank Crystal (reception counter staff) from Silk Place Taroko. My husband and I experienced top notch customer service at Silk Place Taroko last month. We realized our passports were missing upon check in and crystal who was serving us, swiftly made calls to the hotel we check out earlier and located our passports. She then proceeded to assure us not to worry and that she would make a personal trip to retrieve our passports on her way to work the next day and delivered it to us by morning. Because of her helpfulness, we were able to enjoy our last night in Taiwan at Silk Place comfortably with no worries. My husband and I have stayed in many hotels over the years and Silk Place Taroko, has given us the BEST customer service experience. Thank you!

Room Tip: Choose Gorge view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tintedsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPT-PR, Public Relations Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing SilKs Place Taroko to be your destination in Taiwan and sharing your experence for the saty. Defiantly, Cyrstal is one of our good staff and she has made a good service from heart. As our motto, treat guest as we wish to be treated. We do really hope travlers have good Taiwan memories. Once again thank you for letting us know your story and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. All the best for now.

with regards,

Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    213
    55
    14
    8
See reviews for
393
362
41
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

First return visit to this hotel in many years. Gone are the aboriginal style decorations. Now the hotel's all the subtle Taiwanese style (think Eslite)

Likes:
-view of the running waters from the bed
-balcony with deck chairs to enjoy the sight/sound of waters
-excellent sound proofing
-very comfortable beds
-breakfast seated outside the western restaurant
-creative presentation of food at western dinner buffet
-roof top pool and jacuzzi

Dislikes
-unusually poor-tasting main courses for dinner at the western restaurant
-shortage of staff at breakfast
-more business like/less friendly compared to all other places we stayed on this trip. This is not to say there's anything lacking in service. It's just that we didn't find the typical Taiwanese service warmth, pride or thoughtfulness in unexpected details we encounter everywhere else on this trip.
-old towels

Room Tip: Gorge view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CDNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPT-PR, Public Relations Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for coming back and taking time to let us know your valuable feedback. We will review some points you mentioned and concerened immediately. Those feedback always encourag us to serve our guests better. Regarding the service issue, we would like to take note and provide quality service on your next visit. We look forward to serving you in the near future.

with regards,

Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

If you ever visit Taroko Gorge I strongly recommend you to stay at least a night here. It is located in the center of the national park and it is only less than half a mile away from the gorgeous Baiyang trail. The staff were polite and attentive. The buffet dinner and breakfast were good. Remember to visit the rooftop swimming pool and heated jacuzzis, as you will get the best view of the surrounding moutains and streams!! My husband and I spent some quality time at the fireplace (next to the rooftop pool) before the aboriginal performance that was free for all the guests. It was peaceful and quiet. We can't wait to go back there again!

Room Tip: Gorge view rooms are far better as you get the nature view and you might also get a friendly visit f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcpurpleberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPT-PR, Public Relations Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience here. Good to know you love the place and get the extremly relaxing holiday. One of my favourite place is The Fireplace. Whatever you stay there to enjoy sunset moment / early evening, or join the performance after the dinner, it is a good place to embrace the beauty of nature. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again in the mountain. All the best for now.

With regards,

Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
245 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed on a Saturday night and that evening there was a free aborigine dance program performed in the central patio. We were all offered free blankets to wrap up in in case we felt cold (a thoughtful touch). The service in the hotel was super at reception and in the restaurant. The dinner buffet was excellent, many, many choices and outshowed the main course, which is chosen separately. The breakfast buffet too was outstanding. The room was large and lovely with a small balcony with two chairs and a table. Unfortunately we weren't there long enough to find time to sit out there. This hotel is very posh and the only reason I didn't give it five stars is that for the price one expects absolutely perfection and there were a few flaws in the bedroom: There were only three drawers to store your stuff in - fine for one night but not for an extended stay, 4 wooden hangers (and 2 with bathrobes hanging on them), also not enough for more than a night, and no bedside tables to put your clock, watch, glasses or book on next to the wonderful big beds. There was, however a small sofa between the two beds so we used that as our night tables. The linens were of excellent quality but the bed a tad hard for my back (as were all the beds I encountered during our three week stay in Taiwan). The wall between the bedroom and bathroom is of glass, a bit disconcerting (There may have been a shade to pull down over that window; I just didn't notice.) and the light switch for the bathroom turns on the lights in the bath area, sink area and toilet area (3 separate compartments) all at once, which seems like a waste of electricity and also inconvenient in the middle of the night as one trying to sneak into the toilet area has to turn on all the lights which might wake the companion in the bedroom. (These are flaws in design, not in management of the hotel...As I said, the service was excellent.) There were very good towels and sea salt for soaking in the tub. The two swimming pools were huge so had we had our bathingsuits with us, we could have had a real swim, not just a soak in a tiny pool. There is a large playroom for kids and a spa, lots to keep you busy for more than a one night stay. There were many families with kids there the night we stayed so it is a good family hotel. We were welcomed with ginger tea at reception and there was a basket of apples in our room as well as the tea and coffee making essentials. The location, for those wanting to hike on the many trails in Taroko Gorge is perfect. Also quiet and serene.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyBoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPT-PR, Public Relations Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiecne and let us know your kindly recommendtaions. Some of the issues you mentioned and concerned, we will take actions to imporve and meet guest expections. However, as you said, the place needs more than one night to explore. We welcome you back to visit trails and enjoy all nautre surroundings. We look forward to serving you again soon. All the best for now.

Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Silks Place Taroko belongs to my select list of special hotels amidst the natural wonders of the world of which Taroko Gorge is one. Its (tiny) name plate within a (giant) marble boulder at its entrance exemplifies its mission - subtlety within the grandeur of nature.

People come to this place for the wonders of the gorge and the hotel compliments it with great food, great accomodation and unique experience like watching cinema while soaking in the rooftop infinity pool facing the walls of a gorge - incredible !

This place takes the stress off you and even though we stayed for one night, it was full of activities, especially the hikes one can undertake throughout the Taroko Gorge. Definitely, it was a memomorable once-in-a-lifetime experience for us.

Room Tip: Ask for those facing the gorge - superb view of blue ater and white marble walls. The water torrent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Singfat_Chu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPT-PR, Public Relations Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience here. We love to know you do really enjoy the atmosphere and everything in the hotel. You point out one of my favorite service, watch movie on the roof-top with marble background. We often can see our guests stay at Fireplace until late night... It is a great place to relax, refresh and recharge. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. All the best for now.

Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We just stayed for 1 night, as we had a busy schedule during our holiday. But 1 night at the Silks Place is by far not long enough. From outside, it looks rather bulky and not really nice. But inside it's great and beautiful.
Super friendly staff, a dedicated check-in floor for retreat guests (which we were), wonderful and big room. And a great location anyway. 5 minutes walking to the lovely red pagoda. And numerous hiking tours you can do (if you have plenty of time).
We ate at the Japanese restaurant which offered delicious food and service. There is also a lovely, huge outdoor lounge with a cozy fireplace.
Wished we could have stayed one week! We will definitely come back.

Room Tip: rooms on the retreat floor are GREAT.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlette004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPT-PR, Public Relations Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience here. According to your story, you stayed at our Retreat Suite with full package. Just come for relaxing and enjoy the atmosphere. We always say it is a great place to stay longer, not just one night. We look forward to seeing you in the near future. All the best for now.

With regards,

Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Absolutly perfect . Breath taking views and food is out of this world . The pools are great . The outdoor one overlooks the gorge and the swallows are spectactuler.locally there are some lovely Walsh and temples to see . All this is set in a peacefully quiet area and a great place to relax and un wind . Would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happy945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPT-PR, Public Relations Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience here. We are pleased to hear you had a splendid stay with us and certainly look forward to welcoming you back. Next time, please stay longer to enjoy the fresh air and the beauty of nature. We look forward to seeing you again.

With Regards,

Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien hotels
15.6 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
15.9 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
20.0 mi away
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
#10 of 125 in Hualien
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Kindness Hotel - Hualien Main Station
21.9 mi away
Promisedland Resort & Lagoon
4.9 mi away
Leader Village Taroko
Leader Village Taroko
#13 of 125 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silks Place Taroko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silks Place Taroko

Property: Silks Place Taroko
Address: No.18 Tian Hsyang Road, Shioulin Town, Taroko National Park, Hualien 972, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hualien
#1 Spa Hotel in Hualien
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hualien
#2 Family Hotel in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Silks Place Taroko 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silks Place Taroko is part of the FIH Regent Group, under the Silks Hotel brand. Away from the city center, this mountainside hotel, located in Hualien County, is the only 5-star hotel within the Taroko National Park. Silks Place Taroko is designed with Modern Chinese style, combining Taroko's cultural and environmental characteristics, creating "elegant and sophisticated resort life style" with exclusive services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Silks Place Taroko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silks Place Taroko Hotel Hualien
Grand Formosa Taroko Hualien
Grand Formosa Taroko Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing