We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Silks Place Taroko

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silks Place Taroko
Ranked #5 of 129 Hotels in Hualien
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

This hotel is amazing. Located in the wild surrounded by mountains, you will be able to admire the landscape from the outdoor swimming pools and Jacuzzis. If you are afraid of getting a cold, there is also an indoor pool as well as ping pong tables, board games...
After the dinner there was a show performed by native people from the mountains. And we could end the night by watching the sky full of stars.
Moreover the service was great and the rooms are amazing too. It was clearly worth the money!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k4ng0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPT-PR, Public Relations Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Silks Place Taroko Guest,

Thank for taking your time to share your experience here. We are very glad to know that you had great time with us. Everynight we arrange aboringial performance for our guests to know more the area culuture.

Once again thank you for choosing Silks Place Taroko as your holiday destination. We are sincerely looking forward to see you again in the near future.

Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    245
    60
    16
    10
See reviews for
456
417
46
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Silks is a truly five stars hotel in Taroko National Park which we have the pleasure of staying as part of Five Days Round Taiwan Excursion which is run by Edison Travel. It is really value for money for us as we did not have to pay the rack rate. Taroko is one of the most stunning place we have visited in Taiwan, so it is absolutely necessary to stay in the Gorge itself to experience its wild beauty and wilderness. Take time to soak in the environment! During July there was major earth works which mean the road through the gorge only opens at restricted times. Traffic are not able to get through unless you are staying at Silk, this means you will miss out seeing some of the sights if you are not staying at the Silk!
We ordered Chinese food at the restaurant and the four dishes which we ordered was delectable. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast on the patio and savoured the views.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPT-PR, Public Relations Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Silks Place Taroko Guest,

Thanks for sharing your travel experience here.

Due to penetratin of the Central Cross-Island Highway and Liwu River, our hotel is capable of offereing guests with the moment of harmony and serenity arise form the magnificent attractiveness of mountain. Spend your time to enjoy the nature envirnoment is a wonderful treatment, only for relax and retrive the sense of beauties for your body and spirit.

Once again thank you for choosing Silks Place Taroko as your holiday destination. We are sincerely looking forward to see you again in the near future.

Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Imagine a gorge of marble carved through the millennia that rivals the Grand Canyon and the Yangtze River Gorge for scenic beauty and natural wonder. The Silks Place Hotel nestle's in this spectacular area and offers the guest a variety of eating options, clean and decent sized rooms, friendly service with the added bonus of an indoor and outdoor ( open air rooftop) pool. Local aboriginal dance and singing for entertainment after dinner was another plus. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Definitely organise your tour through a travel agent as the road in although spectacular is not for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPT-PR, Public Relations Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Silks Place Taroko Guest,

Thanks for sharing your travel experience here.

The hotel locates in the Tian Hsyang area of the Taroko National Park, amid the nautre with breathtaking gorge and river view. Travellers can enjoy everything they like to do in the gorge, go hiking, do yoga or meditation, or just enjoy nothing to do at the roof-top pool.

Once again thank you for choosing Silks Place Taroko as your holiday destination. We are sincerely looking forward to serve you again.

Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
165 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Silks Place Taroko is in one of the most beautiful scenic spots in Taiwan. Situated in a secluded section of the Taroko National Park. Good size rooms with a view of the mountains with the river sounds lulling one to sleep after a long day of exploring and hiking through the marble mountains.
Lovely infinity pool area that fun to swim in during the rain. VIPs get complimentary after tea in the well appointed private lounge. If you're there on the right night, there's a free Aborigine Dance show was well worth it, except for the audience participation. After a good night's sleep, if was a pleasure to experience the huge breakfast buffet filled with Asian and Western dishes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPT-PR, Public Relations Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Silks Place Taroko Guest,

Warm greeting from Taroko Groge. We are very happy that you enjoyed the holiday with us. Many guests like you that they love to explore Taroko Gorge and visit some popular trails. After a long-day exploration, they spend time to enjoy the hotel facilities and join the aboringial performance after dinner. No need to plan too much because it is worth to spend time to embarce the environment warmly. Here, it is a place you can truly relax.

Once again thank you for choosing Silks Place Taroko as your holiday destination. We are sincerely looking forward to see you again.

Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Great location, right in the heart of Taroko. Room was spacious, clean and we could enjoy the mountains/river from the room balcony. The food in Chinese restaurant was good but buffet breakfast was just ok. They also had aboriginal folks perform classical songs in the evening at the terrace.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chandra77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPT-PR, Public Relations Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Silks Place Taroko Guest,

Warm greeting from Taroko Groge. We are very happy that you enjoyed the holiday with us. The place always loves to have our friends return back to stay with us, or bring new friend to see fantasic gorge views. We are looking forward to serve you again.

Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by the staff here, very friendly and helpful. Me and my friend were going to a nearby attraction spot (15min on foot, a waterfall cave), and we casually asked if the hotel can provide a car and driver to take us there, since it was extremely hot when we went, I thought the hotel would offer to call us a cab or at least charge us, but they sent over a car almost immediately, and the driver even prepared flashlights and rain coats for us!!

We stayed at the suite on the retreat level of the hotel, the room was just like the photos on their website, except the tub is a bit smaller. the Buffet was okay, but I have never had buffet in Taiwan that is better than okay. The Chinese restaurant, however, was really yummy. We didn't want to have the dinner sets which was included in our hotel room fare, so the manager at the Chinese restaurant said we can order up to $1.600ntd worth of food.

So with everything considered, I actually think the hotel charges quite moderately for what they offer, if I ever come back to Taroko again, I would definitely stay here!

p.s. there are outdoor movie showings every night by the pool, you can actually sit in the jacuzzi while watching a movie, with marble mountains right next to you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samyishan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPT-PR, Public Relations Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Silks Place Taroko,

Warm greeting from Taroko Gorge. Thanks for sharing your expereince with us here.

Not only the abundant facilities of the hotel, there are some popular trails/ attraction spots closing to the hotel. Or we do recommend our guests to join our half-day tour to explore more in Taroko. As you mentioned Outdoor Moonlight Cinema which is a totally new service since this summer. You can sit in the jacuzzi or lie down on the daybad under the starry night with marble mountains right next to you.

Thank you again and we are looking forward to serve you in the near future.

Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

The Award and the excellent reviews from the others say it all! The reception staffs are very helpful, especially Paula, whom helped us with the arrangement of excursions and pick ups. They are very patient in explaining details & giving genuine opinions so that helps in deciding our itinerary. For e.g, we asked to visit 慕谷慕渔 which the authority only issues 600 permits to enter per day, it is a hassle in the paperwork & legwork as apparently we must queue & apply in person. We almost gave up the idea but Paula strongly recommended the place based on her personal experience and then she even helps with the paperwork & legwork on our behalf. We have never encountered hotel staffs whom will go all the way out to help the guests. Thank you Paula!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7704366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPT-PR, Public Relations Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Silks Place Taroko Guest,

Warm greeting from Taroko Groge. We are very happy that you enjoyed the holiday with us. All of our staff love to assist our guests to explore more about Taroko or Hualien, Paula is one of our excellent staff. We will share your experience to our staff and reward Paula to be a good example to others.

Once again thank you for choosing Silks Place Taroko as your holiday destination. We are sincerely looking forward to see you again in the near future.

Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien hotels
15.5 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
20.0 mi away
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
#7 of 129 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
14.9 mi away
Kindness Hotel - Hualien Main Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
21.9 mi away
Promisedland Resort & Lagoon
15.7 mi away
Lakeshore Hotel
Lakeshore Hotel
#13 of 129 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silks Place Taroko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silks Place Taroko

Property: Silks Place Taroko
Address: No.18 Tian Hsyang Road, Shioulin Town, Taroko National Park, Hualien 972, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hualien
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hualien
#2 Family Hotel in Hualien
#2 Spa Hotel in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Silks Place Taroko 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silks Place Taroko is part of the FIH Regent Group, under the Silks Hotel brand. Away from the city center, this mountainside hotel, located in Hualien County, is the only 5-star hotel within the Taroko National Park. Silks Place Taroko is designed with Modern Chinese style, combining Taroko's cultural and environmental characteristics, creating "elegant and sophisticated resort life style" with exclusive services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silks Place Taroko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silks Place Taroko Hotel Hualien
Grand Formosa Taroko Hualien
Grand Formosa Taroko Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing