We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Service”
Review of Silks Place Taroko

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silks Place Taroko
Ranked #5 of 130 Hotels in Hualien County
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Amazing Service”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here for two nights over CNY.

Settting is amazing with great access to the park.

Exterior and communal areas are in good condition and the rooftop pool and hot pools are great (though the main pool itself is very cold). The spa was very good.

We did not stay on the Retreat floor but rather in the main hotel so the rooms are fine but not spectacular but are clean and well maintained.

Food in the buffet restaurant was pretty good with a wide selection, however the Chinese restaurant was a bit underwhelming and the food was a bit cold.

It would also be great if there was some communal area or bar even that is available if you are not staying on the retreat floor as the restaurants are closed by 9ish and would be nice to be able to sit somewhere that is not your room.

Overall though the stay was great - very relaxing, but the main thing that stood out was the service, particularly from the front desk. I have stayed in a lot of hotels and never encountered like the desire to be genuinely helpful and proactive to really ensure we had a great stay. Crystal and Zoe were friendly, kind and went out of their way to arrange travel, excursions, treatments etc. They really made our stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnytrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilksPlaceTaroko, 總經理 at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Silks Place Taroko Guest,

Warm greeting from Taroko Gorge!!

Thank you for taking time to share your travel experience, and compliments about the hotel and services, regarding to the bar suggestion, normally we open the retreat lounge to all in house guests after 9 pm, however it was not opened during the CNY, due to full house on retreat floor and we will take this suggestion seriously for the future F&B plan.

On the other hand, we are so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed the time here in Taroko and our hotel, and please don't forget to visit us again on your next trip back to Taiwan.

Sincerely we look forward to welcoming you back soon!!

Warm Regards,

Melvin Yang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    900
    257
    65
    16
    10
See reviews for
496
442
49
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Good environment, facilities, and service. Everything is nice and warm. You should stay there for more than 1 nights and spend good time outdoor and indoor also. But, don't expect too much on food, it is just good but not yet stunning :) 非常好的地方, 應該可以多住一晚. 泳池, 球場, 餐廳的地方都很棒. 設備不算新但維護的很好. 有機會應該在走完一天的步道, 在天黑前回到旅館, 享受一下星光的泳池與表演. 但原住民的表演好像有點不太high, 比較是年長人的取向, 但外國人應該會喜歡. 服務很不錯, 員工都會跟大家打招呼. 我在台灣很少住高級的旅館, 但這家的確是我會帶家人再回來的地方.

Room Tip: Take view side of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucaswang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilksPlaceTaroko, 總經理 at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Google Translation
親愛的貴賓,

謝謝您對於太魯閣晶英酒店的肯定,並於此分享您的旅遊經驗。

本飯店位於太魯閣國家公園區內,一直以來深受國內外旅客的青睞,也創造了許多旅人難忘的經驗,如您所提, 住宿一晚是趕了些, 除飯店內活動設施外,周圍也有相當多的知名健行步道如白楊步道,可讓遊客們一睹這太魯閣的好山水,飯店也提供一些相當優惠的三天兩夜專案。

另外在表演方面我們有多組花東知名原住民歌手,每天晚上在火盆區為貴賓們帶來精彩的演出,每組歌手都有不同的風格及特色,也期待您下回入住時能觀賞到不同歌手的表演。

顧客的經驗回饋,一直是本飯店進步的最大動力,再次感謝您選擇太魯閣晶英酒店作為您度假的選擇,並歡迎您在某個想念山林的時間,計劃一場小旅行,再回來與我們相聚。

Melvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx
Level 6 Contributor
557 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 924 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

About the hotel:
This could be the best 5 stars hotel in a National park and it blended well with the nature. All guest rooms are on 1st and 2nd floor and roof top pool, gym and retreat room is on the 4th floor (the highest point of the hotel). There is also a big indoor swimming pool near childcare/player area. An excellent place to visit famous Taroko Gorge, National park and hiking trails and hotel even provides pick up service from the train station. Of course free Internet is available in room since hotel even afforded to provide free transport to train station.
I could not find any fault with every staff I encountered at front desk, buffet place etc. They speak good English and everybody could be in late teens or early 20s but they are very professional and basically running the place.

Room:
It is very comfortable, again in Minimalist, Japanese style and the bed is somewhat too firm but there is a thin layer of Tempur-Pedic Mattress Overlay which provides a good sleep to everyone. Outside hallway is with dim light (that's Japanese style) and this could be a bit too much to old visitors with vision problems.

Food:
Good balance of Asian and European food at Buffet place. I saw aged cheese with different kinds of bread, extensive salad bar and many hot Asian food items with some cook to order food. Real gem of this food place is dessert: there are too many yummy food to mention all but I still remember a tiny pot with plant (it is made of chocolate which resembles earth/dirt with creamy mousse underneath, you can not eat the plant pot though!), honey and fresh yogurt in cute glasses. For dinner, you can also provided with premium item like NZ lamb chops, Imported USA beef, fish etc and server will bring meat of your choice with a wide selection of sauce and adds on. So it is a bit more than buffet place.

tip: if you have time, try to visit at least one trail (portable trail map provided in each room and rental bike service also present). Otherwise, just try to walk up to the nearby temple (just 5 minutes away from the hotel) for a great view of hotel.

Room Tip: Try to use tour agent for best room rate. DIY, Internet booking does not bring any value here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigboy61455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilksPlaceTaroko, 總經理 at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Silks Place Taroko Guest,

Warm greeting from Taroko Groge!!

Thank you for taking time to share your travel experience, Taroko national park is one of the most famous attraction in Taiwan, beautiful view, and many trail selection, very relaxing. On the other hand, we are so glad to hear that you and your friend enjoyed the time here in Taroko and our hotel, and please don't forget to visit us again on your next trip back to taiwan or hualien.

Sincerely we look forward to welcoming you back soon!!

Warm Regards,

Melvin Yang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We found this special deal on the hotel's website and booked through Mandarin Airlines. The package includes return air fares (Kaohsiung-Hualien), airport transfer, accommodation, 2 breakfasts and 2 dinners. The whole package costs us about AUD 420 for my partner and I, which is quite amazing. On our arrival at the resort, we got upgraded (thank you Rita) to a two-double-bed room with gorge view. The staff were not only polite and professional, but also went extra miles to look after their guests.
During our stay,My partner got sick. The hotel staff constantly provided special care to us (i.e. free flow of hot giner tea). The manager-on duty, Janet arranged transport for us to a local hospital when my partner's situation escalated. She accompanied us at the hospital for the whole duration of our visit, helping us liaise with the nurses and doctors. That, without a doubt, helped as my partner don't speak mandarin.
The food was top-notch and the view in the surrounding areas of the hotel was breath-taking. This hotel has exceeded our expectations and we would definitely come back for another holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinPeng380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilksPlaceTaroko, 總經理 at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Silks Place Taroko Guest,

Warm greeting from Taroko!!

We are very happy to hear that, you and your friend enjoyed staying with us, and thank you for the compliments about the services, " we always seek to treat others, the same way we wish to be treated", and always try to do more to our friends(guests), I will also pass the comments to Janet, I am sure she will be very happy to hear it.

Sincerely we look forward to welcoming you back, wish to see you again in Taroko in the near future.

Melvin Yang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The great benefit of this hotel is the location within the taroko gorge park, close to various attractions in the park. The lobby and the grounds in general do give a serene vibe. The roof top pool and 3 small jacuzzis appeared clean, although we did not use them. There are ample chairs and towels available.
The hotel staff at check in did their best to be helpful with dinner selections etc. We arrived early and understandably our room was not ready yet. Surprisingly, they handed us a key within 10 minutes. We had the buffet option for breakfast and lunch, it had a nice selection and presentation.
I took advantage of the spa and had a nice treatment. Service is good all around. We had a winter special which included a gorge view (highly recommend), breakfast and dinner.
Now for the but......
The serenity feel is aided by scarce hallway lighting whose actual function may be to disguise the shabby stained hallway carpet. Our room had recently been sprayed for pests and the odor of insecticide lingered ( note: the hotel did kindly change our room). The room is nice, rather basic really. Big tub and shower complex, nice but a bit dated. The view and sound of the water rushing own the gorge super nice. Bed, eh, not too great but one for a night or two.
Lastly, my rate included 1000nt spa credit (which I later confirmed on my printed copy of my reservation); however, when signing for the spa charge had to inquire about the credit and the gal made calls and was told I did not qualify. Irritation and haggling over the bill is no to end an otherwise enjoyable spa treatment. Upon check out, after more discussion about the matter they finally gave me the credit. Be warned.
Overall, worth the stay given the location and natural beauty not specifically for the property itself.

Room Tip: Get a gorge view, it is why you are there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colorado626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilksPlaceTaroko, 總經理 at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Silks Place Taroko Guest,

Warm greeting from Taroko Gorge! Thank you for taking time to share your experience about your Taroko holiday, regarding to the hall way carpet and check out billing issues, we will seriously look into it, and improve right away.

Once again thank you for choosing taroko and our hotel as your holiday destination, sincerely we look forward to serving you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Melvin Yang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is beautifully situated in Right in Taroko Gorge. We spend three nights here and hiked on two days and then hired bikes at the shop downstairs and spend a glorious day exploring further up the gorge.

There is no need to hire a car when you stay here as they will provide transport to and from the train station for cheaper than a taxi fare. There is plenty of hiking to and biking and you can also book tours through the hotel too.

The hotel has two fabulous restaurants. Breakfast and dinner were included in our package (the Winter Special - January is a perfect time to visit - less crowds and cooler weather) and we had a choice of the Chinese Restaurant - a 10 course banquet, or the more western styled all you can eat buffet. Both were top class. Breakfast was also an extensive buffet with honey straight from the comb and a huge selection of jams, breads, and pastries, as well as a cooked breakfast section that also provide made to order omelets. We ate like royalty those three days!

The staff were lovely and teh service top notch. The hotel has four hot tubs of different temperatures on the roof overlooking the river and two pools (though the outdoor one was not open). There is a spa in the hotel also. The shop, which also rents bicycles, has a bakery section...the bread is awesome. They gave us a free loaf of bread when we went cycling.

We had a wonderful time here and felt that it was great value for money. Luxury hotel for mid-range prices.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room for a view of the gorge but a garden room if the sound of water tumbling d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byddi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilksPlaceTaroko, General Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Silks Place Taroko Guest,

Warm greeting from Taroko!!

We are very happy that you and your friend enjoyed staying with us, and sorry for the outdoor pool was not open, due to the maintenance, we will have it ready for your next visit, and I am sure you will enjoy swimming on the roof, and over looking the gorge.

Sincerely we look forward to welcoming you back, wish to see you again in Taroko in the near future.

Melvin Yang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The hotel is certainly expensive considering a lot of tourists would choose to spend 1/3 on hotel rooms in Haualien city then hired a cab driver driver for a day to go up the mountains. (The cab drive from Hualien train station to Taroko is about 1 hour and hiring a cab driver for 8 hours will cost around USD 40). However, if you want to wake up having a scene, you know you won't be disappointed choosing this hotel.

The hotel has rooms with mountain view or gorge views. Since Taroko is known for gorges, it's worth it to spend another USD 30 for a better view!. We were worried about not able to find restaurants nearby so we purchased the meals from the hotel in advance. It turns out that there're 3-4 restaurants located right across the street from the hotel.

The hotel does arrange some types of daily activities such as bracelet braiding session or native taiwanese dance performance in case you get bored. We didn't attend any. We stayed there for 2 nights and the first day we attended a 3 hour tour arranged by the hotel to some famous spots in the park. The second day we went on the trial that's less well-known by tourists but since you're reading my review I must tell you it's a must-see. It's called Baiyang hiking trial which entrance is just 15 mins walking distance from the hotel. The whole trial could take up to 2.5 hours to finish. We didn't have enough time so we only walked half of it and the view is amazing. We were told the view is the most astonishing towards the end of the trial.

Room Tip: We stayed at room 238.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nyusc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilksPlaceTaroko, General Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Silks Place Taroko Guest,

Warm greeting from Taroko!!

Thank you for taking time to share your experience about your Taroko holiday. As you mentioned, there are many beautiful trails in the national park, and all are in a short distance from hotel, especially the Baiyang, there are two water falls, and a water curtain cave at the end of the trail, hope you will have more time to visit them during your next holiday in Taroko.

Sincerely we look forward to serving you again soon.

Melvin Yang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
15.5 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
#4 of 130 in Hualien County
1,488 reviews
20.0 mi away
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
#6 of 130 in Hualien County
703 reviews
21.9 mi away
Promisedland Resort & Lagoon
Promisedland Resort & Lagoon
#11 of 130 in Hualien County
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Lakeshore Hotel
Lakeshore Hotel
#13 of 130 in Hualien County
188 reviews
15.9 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
#2 of 130 in Hualien County
828 reviews
15.5 mi away
Fullon Hotel Hualien
Fullon Hotel Hualien
#26 of 130 in Hualien County
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silks Place Taroko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silks Place Taroko

Property: Silks Place Taroko
Address: No.18 Tian Hsyang Road, Shioulin Town, Taroko National Park, Hualien County 972, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hualien County
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hualien County
#2 Family Hotel in Hualien County
#2 Spa Hotel in Hualien County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Silks Place Taroko 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silks Place Taroko is part of the FIH Regent Group, under the Silks Hotel brand. Away from the city center, this mountainside hotel, located in Hualien County, is the only 5-star hotel within the Taroko National Park. Silks Place Taroko is designed with Modern Chinese style, combining Taroko's cultural and environmental characteristics, creating "elegant and sophisticated resort life style" with exclusive services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silks Place Taroko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silks Place Taroko Hotel Hualien
Grand Formosa Taroko Hualien
Grand Formosa Taroko Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing