We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special Moments at at a very special B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wisdom Garden Home Stay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hualien
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wisdom Garden Home Stay
Ranked #32 of 1,550 Hualien B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Special Moments at at a very special B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Our aim was to do the Walami hiking trail, so we needed a place to stay in the vicinity of Yuli. The Wisdom Garden was highly recommended, and it lived up to its praise. Each room nicely decorated and special, containing various pictures and pieces of art created by Mei, the owner of the Wisdom Garden. We did not expect dinner the first day, however were invited to sit with other guests and friends during the evening, on the nice outside lawn, taking in the excellent view over the valley, and the nature of the surrounding. The culinary experience continued the next morning with variius treats taken during a very local Taiwanese breakfast feast, which equipped us well for the hiking experience that followed (the review of the Walami Trail hut and our stay there has to be made elsewhere... :-). ). When we had to leave, Mei prepared a wonderful doggy bag sandwich, one of the best we have ever tasted.
In sum, an unique spot in the middle of nature, very friendly and caring hosts, excellent culinary adventures.... What more can there be to make a stay perfect?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frogs_land
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WisdomGarden, Owner at Wisdom Garden Home Stay, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us too. The doggy bag sandwich is my favorite breakfast as well. ;-) Hopefully you did have good time in Walami trail and also at Wisdom Garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
33
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here in Oct 2012 for 2 night. It was just awesome.
Lovely couple who runs the place. We had pre-booked via the internet and communicated with their daughter. Once we arrived, we gave them a call and they picked us up from the train station - great. We could choose a room, as the one we had booked was big but in the second house. The one in the main house had a lovely view into the garden but without ensuite bathroom.
We enjoyed the afternoon in the garden, got a ride into the city for dinner from our hosts and back and they helped us the next day to buy some local delicacies to bring back home. they also helped in hiring a motor bike for us to move around.
The home cooked breakfast offered a huge variety of local food and all tasted extremely good.
We would come back again and can only recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica-Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WisdomGarden, 業者 at Wisdom Garden Home Stay, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback for Wisdom Garden. Hopefully we do provide a pleasant stay for every traveller and leave some wonderful memories for both of us. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Taiwan is generally a very friendly country, but our hosts at Wisdom Garden Home Stay take this to a new level. We stayed for 3 days with our two sons and could not have been happier. It is a wonderful home and perfectly placed to explore the surrounding countryside.

Room Tip: We had the Japanese room which suits a family of 4 if the kids are under 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WisdomGarden, Owner at Wisdom Garden Home Stay, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for picking Wisdom Garden as your accommodation while exploring easten Taiwan. Hopefully you and your family did have a great holiday here! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Wisdom Garden for two nights and we definitely recommend it to anyone travelling around Eastern Taiwan. The place is very tranquil, on a hill top overlooking the mountains, with a beautiful garden. The house is airy and spacious, decorated with calligraphy, it feels like a real retreat. The hosts were very welcoming, we were greeted with coffee, tea and a local snack, and they invited us to join them for dinner in the garden on one of the nights. They also gave us some bananas from their garden to snack on on the Walami trail. The breakfast was absolutely fantastic - a wide variety of delicious local dishes, many with the ingredients from their own garden, or organic local produce. They helped us hire bicycles and arrange transport to Walami, and advised us on what there is to see in the area. If you call in advance, the hosts will pick you up from the train station. The room was spacious and beautiful, very cosy, and that considering that we went for the cheaper option. Most of all, we will miss the hosts, who were so kind to us! We would stay longer if we could and will definitely come back next time we are in Taiwan! Yuli, Walami and Wisdom Garden were the highlight of our Taiwan travels. Definitely recommended, and be sure to book in advance!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svetlana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WisdomGarden, Owner at Wisdom Garden Home Stay, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
It was definitely our pleasure to have you at our home. We did have a fantastic dinner time with you too. Thank you guys for coming and letting us be a part of your journey. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed two nights at the this B&B (one night before we hiked the Walami trail and one night after the hike), just before the Chinese New Year. If it weren't for our schedule (we needed to return to Taipei for CNY) we would loved to have stayed here for longer. I'm writing this review four months after our stay at Wisdom Garden and just remembering our stay here makes me happy.

Wisdom B&B is a little way from Yuli, the nearest town, but the distance was never a problem. Mr Hsu picked us up from the train station when we first arrived in Yuli and brought us to Wisdom Garden. I remember seeing the place for the first time and feeling incredibly tranquil and at peace as a result. There are beautiful gardens around the house and the house itself is homely and welcoming, inspiringly decorated with Chinese calligraphy, books on Buddhism and artworks made by Mrs Hsu. We were welcomed on arrival with a pot of tea, some bananas from the garden and some delicious cookies, which we took in the garden. What a welcome! We felt so comfortable and at peace.

We stayed in different rooms in the two nights we were here and loved both. The first night we stayed in a big room fit for a family (there was an upstairs section fitted with tatami mats), with lovely wooden furniture, a canopied bed and with decorations of Mrs Hsu's artworks. I loved the room we stayed in on our second night though as the windows look out onto the beautiful view of the bamboo and jungle like backyard of the Hsus' property. The food we had during our stay here was also wonderful, most especially the breakfasts that Mrs Hsu made, with ingredients from her garden too. Each night during our stay the Hsus took us out to dinner in Yuli to introduce us to Yuli specialties or typical Taiwanese food. They were so generous they would never let us pay either! The Hsus are touchingly thoughtful, generous and inspiring people. For example, we were in need of sleeping bags for our hike on the Walami Trail and Mrs Hsu lent us hers. I'll always remember Mr Hsu's kindly face and joyful laugh too, and Mrs Hsu for her life lived in art- her calligraphy is beautiful and her paintings are emotional. A few hours before we left on our last day we decided to go cycling in Yuli and Mr Hsu volunteered to help us prepare to leave by driving into town with our bags and bringing the bikes back to the B&B for us.

I have the fondest memories of Wisdom Garden and highly recommend this place to everyone. It's the best B&B I've ever stayed in, if not the best accommodation I've ever found on my travels around the world.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bound_to_ride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WisdomGarden, 業者 at Wisdom Garden Home Stay, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your highly recommedation for us. We do appreicaite all of you who ever stayed with us. Your heartfelt and warm feedback let us know what we are doing is right. We will do our best to share our home to everyone. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed at Wisdom Garden for two nights, and really wish I could stay for longer. The house is located a little way outside of Yuli Township, but can be found by car, or taxi (most drivers in the area know the location) or pick up from the station can also be arranged. The house itself is very homely, and you definitely feel at home immediately and the front garden is a beautiful place to relax in the sun, or just unwind in the afternoon. The Hsu family really care for all their guests like they are family. On my first night there, we all had dinner with the family, eating dishes which they had prepared at home, which was really special. Breakfast is also an amazing thing, with freshly brewed coffee or tea, and so much delicious food on the table, both western & Taiwanese. The Hsu family can also help you arrange bike hire, as well as provide help and tips for sightseeing in the local area, and also help with the rest of your travels around Taiwan. If you want a base to explore Taiwan's amazing East-Rift Valley, I would strongly recommend Wisdom Garden.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank CurryCricketer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangjiang, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

we spent 1 night at wisdom garden and this place is just a paradise! if it wasnt for the tight schedule we'd love to stay much longer. the house is made in japanese style, the garden is a dream and the owners took us out for a delicious dinner in a little noodle shop.

thank you family hsu and i would love to stay at your place again and again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meetya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WisdomGarden, Guest Relations Manager at Wisdom Garden Home Stay, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us too! It was our big pleasure to meet you here. Hopefully you did enjoy your time at our home. Hope to see you soon! ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien hotels
9.4 mi away
Jui Sui Hot Spring Hotel
Jui Sui Hot Spring Hotel
#49 of 128 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Antong Spring Hotel
Antong Spring Hotel
#43 of 128 in Hualien
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
9.4 mi away
Cocos Hot Spring Hotel
Cocos Hot Spring Hotel
#78 of 128 in Hualien
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jaja Homestay
Jaja Homestay
#346 of 1,550 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
5.8 mi away
Moon Water Bay Hill
Moon Water Bay Hill
#106 of 1,550 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pulongon Bed and Breakfast
Pulongon Bed and Breakfast
#114 of 1,550 in Hualien
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wisdom Garden Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wisdom Garden Home Stay

Property: Wisdom Garden Home Stay
Address: No.98-1 Suangan, Dayuli, Yuli Town, Hualien 981, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 1,550 B&Bs / Inns in Hualien
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing