We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B ever!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hualien
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wisdom Garden Home Stay
Ranked #34 of 1,567 Hualien B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best B&B ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed in Japanese room at Wisdom Garden for 3 nights, didn't want to leave. Mr and Mrs Hsu were so hospitable, not only did they hustle up four sleeping bags so we could do an overnight Walami trek, Mr Hsu even bought a portable gas stove for us so we'd have warm food in the mountains. We even joined the family for dinners in the nearby town. Every meal was so delicious.

The room was clean, spacious and looked out to the mountains. Every morning, we looked out to a sea of clouds. The daily breakfast (included in the price of the room) is a feast. Mrs Hsu wants to give her guests memorable experiences, so the menu for every morning is different. And there's always freshly-brewed coffee.

Writing this makes me want to take a plane back to Taiwan now. lol.

Room Tip: They offer pick-up from the train station. Rent a bike and cycle to the Antong Hotspring via old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Riana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
33
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stay here for 3 nights. The owner and her husband are so friendly and they both speak English enough to communicate and ask questions about the area. They picked us up and drop us off from the train station. They welcome you so well in their home that it felt like our own home.
We went to Yushan National Park and the owner took us to town to rent a scooter, which it was very convenient. We went to the sulfure and Iron hot springs (2) and hiked the Walami trail (half day hike - no permit required). We also went the South East alone the Pacific shore for its beautiful sceneries. (From Yuli, hwy 9, then hwy 30 and hwy 11) Overall, Yuli is a small town, quiet and the road had a special lane for scooters and bikes; great for those like us who rode a scooter for the first time. Also, there are biking trails (not on the road).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gzuniga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

It's a bit difficult to find where you need to leave Highway 9, especially in the evening, but once you found it you just need to follow carefully the signposts.

There are two houses on the hillside, at the edge of the forest. It's a beautiful lush and peaceful environment with a great view over the mountains across the Eastern Rift Valley.

The rooms are all individually decorated by the owner, who used to be working as a designer of hotels in Taipei. One cannot avoid to get amazed by the beautiful calligraphies on the walls, mostly painted also by herself.

The breakfast was really plentiful and of wide selection in Taiwanese style - which is quite different for us, Europeans :)

But the real plus was how helpful the whole family approached us. They showed us a local seafood restaurant in Yuli, and helped to order. In the second evening they even allowed us to join them for a dinner in a very-very local place.

So all in all an amazing experience.

I understand in weekends and Chinese holidays the place is fully booked by Taiwanese, so either get prepared early or try to organize a different date.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bgorboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We have been living in Taiwan for over 20 years. Both our children were born here. It is difficult to find people with a service mentality, but these people has made it there business to be helpful. The hostess gave my daughter a wonderful calligraphy lesson and then painted a beautiful picture for her.

Room Tip: Talk to the Hostess, she will help you choose. Wonderful lady.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank need2divetw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

Fantastically helpful and amazing mountain-side location make this worth a visit if you're in the area - 20 mins drive from the walami trail. Unique rooms and great breakfast - Vicky and her husband were very helpful!

Only negative was the rooms we're a little overpriced (£48/night)

Room Tip: Grandma room was £48 - plenty of room for 4 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gav C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grande, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Travelers seeking a peaceful, verdant setting in the Eastern Rift Valley of Taiwan can do no better than the Wisdom Garden Home Stay. This delightful property is a perfect spot to rest and enjoy the scenic valley, and is also a great base location for accessing the renowned Walami Trail in nearby Yushan National Park or to cycle in the Valley.

The main house has 3 rooms to select from; there is also a larger building available for group rentals. We stayed in a room in the main house, which was spacious (large bedroom, private bath, and loft upstairs, sleeping 4 total), beautifully appointed with a traditional Chinese matrimonial bed, and very reasonable – about $70 US (NT$2300). The owner is a gifted artist whose calligraphy works beautify the house. The property is nicely landscaped, with a stream-fed pond, an organic garden, and many flowering plants. A lively puppy keeps guests entertained.

But the main reason to stay at Wisdom Garden is the proprietors – they not only picked us up from the train station, but upon our arrival set us at a table with fresh bananas from the property, tea, and cookies. That night they even took us into Yuli for dinner, since we had no transport of our own. Other generosities followed. The breakfasts were outstanding; most dishes were made from vegetables from their organic garden onsite. We enjoyed a variety of dishes, including freshly made warm soymilk, homemade steamed buns, fresh peanut butter, radish omelettes, fruit salad, the delicious local dried fish, tea and coffee, and stimulating conversation with our hosts and other guests.

The Wisdom Garden is one of only a small percentage of Home Stays in Taiwan that are officially sanctioned by the Taiwanese Government. I highly recommend this stay for anyone visiting the Eastern Rift Valley. It was a highlight of our trip to Taiwan.

Room Tip: The upstairs suite has a spectacular view and a good choice for a special occasion, but all rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien hotels
9.4 mi away
Jui Sui Hot Spring Hotel
Jui Sui Hot Spring Hotel
#49 of 129 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
46.2 mi away
Constellation Coast Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Jaja Homestay
Jaja Homestay
#365 of 1,567 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Return Home B&B
Return Home B&B
#577 of 1,567 in Hualien
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
5.7 mi away
New Life Spring Resort
New Life Spring Resort
#58 of 129 in Hualien
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
2.5 mi away
Imari
Imari
#69 of 1,567 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wisdom Garden Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wisdom Garden Home Stay

Property: Wisdom Garden Home Stay
Address: No.98-1 Suangan, Dayuli, Yuli Town, Hualien 981, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 1,567 B&Bs / Inns in Hualien
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing