We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Comfortable and pleasant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hello Backpackers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hello Backpackers
Ranked #36 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Hualien
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Comfortable and pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed 1 night in the 4-bed dorm in this hostel. The outdoor area in front of the hostel gives a very nice and cosy feeling.The inside of the hostel was also very pleasant. It is far from the Hualien train station thus you need to take a taxi to reach there. The hostel has arrangement with the local taxi. They can help to arrange taxi or provide the contact number. It is nearby Cixingtan. As I am in Hualien mainly to visit the Toroko Gorge I didn't explore the other places around the hostel. According to the taxi driver who took me to the hostel, there is a public swimming with warm pool just down the road.

The staff (玉米) who received me was very friendly and sweet. The hostel provides basic amenities such as towel, dental kit with shampoo and shower gel in the bathroom. I took the lower bunk for convenient but it very near to the upper bunk. At 1.68m, I was not able to sit upright with my head knocking to the upper deck. The bathroom is attached to the room. It may be nosier if other people in the room are using the bathroom. But it was ok cos the snores of my fellow room mates are much more overwhelming. After a day of travelling, I could somehow manage to doze of.

All in all, it was a comfortable hostel with value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hweekeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I was on a round-taiwan bike trip (900 km), and Hualian was my second last stop. Other backpacker hotels along the way were horrible in comparison, and Hello Backpackers was a breath of fresh air. The beds were nice and clean, the rooms were adequately air-conditioned, and the bathroom was the better than some 5 star hotels I've been in, with rain-shower heads, massage blasting water, and spacious showers.

To top it off, the hotel owner, Peter Chou, was very hands on in ensuring our stay was great. We had logistics problems with arranging transport for all our bikes (there were 8 of us), and he stayed up until 12 midnight to help us make the calls to the local taxis and minibuses to ensure we had it all booked in. The next day, he even took us to some secret spots along the coast, where tourists seldom go, and it was just fantastic. Definitely an experience with a special touch and a welcoming feel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nienhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville_Countrified, 經理 at Hello Backpackers, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
stupid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We wetnt to Hualien with much anticipation but when we arrived and saw Hualien town, it wasn't really anything to shout about - in fact, it was nothing more than a pitstop to Taroko Gorge. It was almost like a ghost town. But when we arrived at the entrance to Hello Backpackers (located only about 10mins away from the train station), we were rather pleased - the first thing we saw were 2 bicycles which we have been meaning to do some cycling around the town/beach.
When we entered the house, the interior design was classic-modern and very warm. As was our room & bathroom, it was also spacious and clean. In terms of service, the landlord was more than helpful - he informed us that every taxi trip around town to/from the lodge costs NT100 (only for his customers) using a certain taxi agency (he gave us the taxi agency's number to contact), he recommended a cheaper & more reasonable taxi driver/tour guide to Taroko Gorge which cost us NT2500 which included additional trails (compared to other tour guides, especially the ones which approached us at the train station) and Chingsui Beach & Chising Beach along the way to Taroko Gorge. He also helped us book our train tickets to Taichung.
Overall, it was a great stay at Hualien.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank immypool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville_Countrified, 經理 at Hello Backpackers, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
stupid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in another hostel on my first night in hualien solely for its location. Few bed bug bites later and I was out! Hello backpackers was increbile. Impeccably clean. Friendly owners, had the worst sunburn one has ever seen, the owner left a message that he had freshly cut aloe Vera in the fridge for me.

It's not centrally located but the 100-150 dollar taxi rides are worth it!

Had a bad taste of hualien before I came here!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville_Countrified, 經理 at Hello Backpackers, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
stupid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien hotels
1.1 mi away
Just Walk Backpacker Hostel
Just Walk Backpacker Hostel
#27 of 139 in Hualien
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hive B&B
Hive B&B
#9 of 139 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sleeping Boot Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hualien Wow Hostel
Hualien Wow Hostel
#3 of 139 in Hualien
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
1.6 mi away
On My Way  Hualien Hostel & Backpacker
1.3 mi away
Monkey Surfing Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hello Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hello Backpackers

Property: Hello Backpackers
Address: No.293 Shunxing Road, Hualien City, Hualien 970, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hello Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing