We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Cypress House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cypress House
Ranked #93 of 1,652 Hualien County B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were greeted by the receptionist and our check-in were done is just a mere within 5 minute with the receptionist show us our room with the amenities available all around the Cypress House.

The receptionist is kind enough to help us get us a cab for our travel use as well as our trips to Taroko Gorge.

Point to choose this Cypress House, within 10 min walking distance to the local famous night market, ZhiQiang night market (自强夜市) which is good.

Beside that, they also had bicycle that is ready to be rent to all the vacant at Cypress House.

Room Tip: Room on the ground floor is definitely better than the level 1. No need to walk the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank veron4best
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 30 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed 3 nights. The place is quiet and safe. We are most impressed with the service of 小佩 and the bosses. We had travelled from Taipei and wanted to return to Taipei earlier. 小佩 checked the train schedule for us and booked the tickets and went to the nearby 7-11 to collect the train tickets. Next, she booked our train for Rui Sui for our day trip n again went to collect the tickets for us. The female boss also made sure we got a good taxi driver cum guide for our 8-hour Taroko Gorge tour. Our guide was very kind. He went trekking with us as he thought it would be safer. We also love the Taiwan porridge served for breakfast. The only drawback is that Hualien town is not that interesting. The food at 自强夜市 is also not impressive. However, the staff there were able to recommend good restaurants with an affordable price tags. We love the Taiwan service we received very much.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LLChoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I could not say much about this hotel as the previous reviewa were just very true, it was just great and phenomenal, truly on of a kind. The atmosphere, the staff, the room, the garden, the pond the food, even the pet which was a white cat were all fantastic. Quite place for relaxing after long beautiful trip of Hualien with beautifully done interior. If someone dislike this place, he/she must be an idiot.

Whenever you got a chance to go Hualien, you must stay at this hotel. I recommend this place so much !

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel Vince G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

1. Location: A quick 5-minute drive to Jiaosi train station, 10-minute ride to Hualien train station. A 10-minute walk to Jiaosi night market. A convenience store within easy reach. Set along a side road, gives it more peacefulness than being along the main road.

2. Staff: Friendly, communicative, helpful. Simply great. They helped made it a good stay.

3. Rooms: Comfortable, spacious. Aircon, TV (mostly Chinese languages channels, though). Good, firm mattress but too soft single pillow (for each person).

4. Amenities: Not much but place set in a beautifully appointed garden, with koi pond. Pretty, well-made merchandising too.

5. Breakfast: Simple, nothing to shout about. But, good enough to start day with.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Asperger_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I stayed at Cypress house in December, 2011, with my parents and my girlfriend. Taiwanese cities can be noisy at the best of times, but Cypress House was a nice escape. It felt like a quiet little sanctuary right in the middle of the city. The rooms were beautiful, with the smell of cypress wood everywhere.

The breakfasts weren't anything special, but being vegetarians they were happy to accommodate our needs, and it was filling nonetheless.

Overall we were really happy with our stay here. The rooms were great, the had a place to park our car, and the location was nice for exploring the central part of Hualien city. I would definitely recommend staying here if it's in your budget.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salsa_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
檜木居 C, 業者 at Cypress House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank 俊銓施
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
檜木居 C, 業者 at Cypress House, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
2.6 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
#4 of 137 in Hualien County
1,638 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
#6 of 137 in Hualien County
1,081 reviews
0.9 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
#3 of 137 in Hualien County
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Pretty Sun B&B
Pretty Sun B&B
#7 of 1,652 in Hualien County
147 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fanlin House
Fanlin House
#73 of 1,652 in Hualien County
44 reviews
11.3 mi away
Bear Forest B&B
Bear Forest B&B
#15 of 1,652 in Hualien County
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress House

Address: No.58 Cihui First Street, Ji'an Town, Hualien County 97344, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 1,652 B&Bs / Inns in Hualien County
Price Range: $80 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cypress House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Cypress House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing