We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Affordable. Clean. Tasty food.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Green Land

Green Land
Ranked #106 of 460 Restaurants in Hualien
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Affordable. Clean. Tasty food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

This place seems popular amongst the locals. Menu is in Mandarin. I wish menu had photos. Staff does not speak English. I pointed to the menu and used thumbs up or down to communicate with the server. I don't know mandarin but noodles its mein, pronounced "mee-in" Rice is phan, pronounced "sic fan" (eat rice) From there, the server made recommendations. Vegetarian dining is limited in the area. This restaurant was recommended by our concierge. Would dine here again

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ieatmorerice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Arrive early, as they close around 8.30pm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We arrived around 8.30pm, and we were simply asked if we liked "fried rice and vegetables." When we replied "uh, yes", the waitress disappeared and returned with 2 plates of very basic fried veg. Looking around the restaurant, the locals had much more imaginative dishes. Seems they were rushing to get us fed and out the door, as they switched off the lights soon after and we felt under pressure to eat up quick and leave. Seems things shut down early in Hualien!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ScratchmyItch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
318 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 492 helpful votes
“Vegetarian Oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Green land is located at No. 20 Minguo Road, Hualien City.

Situated in the trendy streets of central Hualian, bright and modern Green land serves Taiwanese vegetarian food. There are no English or picture menus but if you are keen to visit it is probably because you are desperate just to avoid meat. The cheerful woman serving did speak some English and was happy to show other peoples dishes.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DaisyClover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great Vegetarian Food... from the view of an American Tourist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

So my Mom is vegetarian and it's always nice to take her to a vegetarian restaurant every now and then so she doesn't have to only order salad. We were here on vacation, i'm from Miami, FL and we have family here. THe town is small so if you happen to be reading this review you are probably deciding from only a handful of places. The restaurant is clean and relatively modern for american standards. the menu is pretty extensive and even for non-vegetarians (me) the food was great.

I'm uploading a pic of the restaurant as well as the menu... the menu has the address and phone number on it.

Pros - great food, clean, good service, easy to find once you know where you're going.
cons - can't think of any.

enjoy.

I hope this review was Helpful for you!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hue95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Be prepared for deligious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We came across this fab vegetarian restaurant, which seems to have not only branches in Hualien, but also in the subs of Taipei (we never tried the one close to Taipei). While the menue gives you a good challenge, if you are not fluent in mandarin - when we visited there was no english menue available, the food was extremely delicious. Thus, if you are out for veggies, do not miss this place. Sorry for not being able to help you with the exact address - it was only available in mandarin, but the restaurant was close by to the 'center' of the city (Starbucks, McDonald, Beyuyer Hotel), so please ask your hotel conceriege, he/she will be able to help!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelexpert009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Land also viewed

 

Been to Green Land? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing