We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homey and good value place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of At-Home B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
At-Home B&B
Ranked #31 of 1,572 Hualien B&B and Inns
Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Homey and good value place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I travelled here with my husband and planned to base ourselves in Hualien to visit Taroko Gorge. We decided to pick this B&B as it was highly reviewed on Tripadvisor and the price was excellent. Overall we were very pleased with the B&B. It is not exactly in Hualien centre and located in a quiet residential centre, but as Hualien is not very big this is not a problem. They lent us free bikes, which were excellent quality which we used to go to a local Japanese restaurant and then to the night market. The night market is only a 10 minute bike ride away. There was free road side parking and the room was very large with a small balcony. The bathroom was also very large and spacious with separate shower unit. They even provide shower gel and Neutrogena facial wash! The breakfast was quite adequate and were able to provide something for husband who was vegetarian, but can eat eggs. They also ended the stay by taking a small polaroid picture, giving one copy to us as a souvenir. They also speak very good English. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerDes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
27
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

The place is nice and clean, a bit outside the city but not far and in a very quite area, not far from a night market and other things to see

Hosts are very kind and helpful. They also speak English very well
Breakfast served is very good and they provide bikes for free

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aurelized
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Excellent place to stay. The house is spacious and clean. The ladies providing the service make great breakfast, speak good English and are always willing to help with travel plans. We stayed in various places throughout Taiwan in February, 2013 and the value of @Home is unbeatable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed at this B&B with my mom in March for 2 nights based on the reviews from tripadvisor. I am glad that i managed to book the B&B as it was really a great stay. The B&B was comfortable, clean and spacious. It has a mini garden in the middle of the house (surrounded by glass panel) and you can look at it while eating at the dining table.

I chose the 'Prague' room and it was spacious with toilet attached. From the balcony, i can see the fields. We enjoyed the greenery surrounding the house. If you have time, you can take a short walk at the area and you can see various plants/vegetables fields (depending on the season). We really enjoyed the short walk around the area as we hardly have chances to see such things in Singapore. While walking, we could see mountains in the background so it made the walk extra beautiful.

The ladies (running the B&B) were really friendly and sincere. When I was making reservation for the room, i enquired if there were many stairs to the room that i would like to book. As I was travelling with my mom who has some knee problem so I have some concerns. The ladies were quick in their email reply and shared that the room should be suitable as it was only on the second floor so there were not too many steps. The ladies recommended places to eat/walk when we were going out for dinner after our day trip from the B&B. I observed that other than running the B&B, these ladies also try to recommend good driver/tour guide to their guests who did not plan their trips. This is great as everyone just wants to have a good experience while travelling and these ladies are doing a great job in making that happens!

My mom and I had some left over food packed from our day trip and wanted to heat it up before we took the train back to Taipei. The ladies were very sweet to heat it up for us and added a few dishes. We all had a great lunch together and the pork that they made were great! By the way, my mom loved the breakfasts served every morning. :)

The location was near the Zi Qiang night market so the cab ride back to B&B was really short. The 'city' area was slightly further compared to Zi Qiang night market but the journey was still short. Just remember to bring the B&B card out as it has the map shown. It will be much easier for the cab drivers to follow. The B&B is not by the main roads so it may be difficult for some cab drivers (flagged from the street), who are unfamiliar, to see the sign and turn in at the correct corner (especially at night time).

Thought the B&B may not be by the main roads, but we get to enjoy the lovely scenery and peace surrounding the B&B and that's the beauty of it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joyceloh_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed here with my family (a 2-year old toddler included) in March for 2 nights. I had chosen the 布拉格 room which is on the 2nd floor (via stairs) with an ensuite toilet. When I had emailed them about the booking, the owners confirmed that this was the biggest room and most suited to families with kids.

The room looks identical to the photos on their website and their bathroom is big. They have a separate shower area which is big enough for a baby bathtub and stool (they can provide the bathtub & stool upon request). The bathtub is big enough to entertain a child 3 years or younger. The room faces the fields so you might hear bullfrogs croaking at night. For light sleepers, you might want to bring ear plugs and eye shades as the curtains are not blackout and if you want to sleep in.

On their website, they request that you bring towels as they are eco-friendly. But we forgot and they handed us 3 face-towels to act as bath towels. It was sufficient given that it was our oversight, but for travellers who are used to luxurious bath towels, u might want to bring your own. Hualien has several self-help 24 hr laundromats, so one can do laundry easily.

The location is not in the city center and we took taxis everywhere. However it was easy to call for a taxi (via the taxi company hotline) and we only had to wait about 5-10 mins max each time we called for a taxi no matter where we were.

The 3 hostesses were warm and friendly, more than the Taiwanese typical B & B (minsu) standard (this was not our 1st minsu experience). I had a medical condition which acted up and almost had to pay a visit to the hospital. They were able to advise me on the medical situation in Hualien e.g. which hospital etc and even gave me medicated plasters in the morning.

Just outside the bathroom is a dresser table and seat, in a little enclave. Ideal for packing while kids are asleep so you don't wake them up and for making formula milk etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whimsicalbuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed there for two nights earlier this year. We chose this place based on the reviews on tripadvisor. We had a great experience, the hostesses were really nice, the room was big and clean. We just loved it! If we get a chance to go to Hualien again, we'll definitely choose this lovely B&B.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shannones1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Our family of four stayed at @Home in December. What a wonderful experience. The gals who run this B&B are friendly, helpful and a real delight. The B&B is on a quiet street with a view of some fields. Our rooms were comfortable and well appointed. Breakfasts were delicious and even included homemade bagels one morning! Wow!
Comet was our tour guide one day to Taroko Gorge. She was a knowledgeable and fun traveling companion.
The girls helped us arrange our rental car, dropped us at the rental office and even helped us find accommodations for our next destination.
They all speak English, too.
We highly recommend this B&B if you are in Hualien!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peekadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien hotels
0.7 mi away
Fun House B&B
Fun House B&B
#17 of 1,572 in Hualien
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.7 mi away
Errantry Lodge & Studio
Errantry Lodge & Studio
#2 of 1,572 in Hualien
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jasmine orange B&B
Jasmine orange B&B
#5 of 1,572 in Hualien
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pretty Sun B&B
Pretty Sun B&B
#15 of 1,572 in Hualien
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
2.9 mi away
Guest House of Permaculture
Guest House of Permaculture
#32 of 1,572 in Hualien
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.0 mi away
Huxi B&B
Huxi B&B
#7 of 1,572 in Hualien
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At-Home B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At-Home B&B

Property: At-Home B&B
Address: No.32 Lane 51, Mingren First Street, Ji'an Town, Hualien 00973, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 1,572 B&Bs / Inns in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — At-Home B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At-Home is a licensed B&B located in Ji An township near the City of Hualien.It is only 10 minutes by car/taxi from the rear exit of the Hualien Railway Station.At-Home is a modern 3-story house with a patio garden inside the house that provides fresh air, warm sunshine, and pleasant greenery.It has 5 bedrooms, one living room and a dining room.The well equipped kitchen is open for free use.It also provides free Wi-Fi for internet access and a washing machine for laundry.Most rooms at at-Home B&B have a double bed, TV, hairdryer, air conditioner,private shower room and toilet.at-Home offers every guest delicious a breakfast including home-made bread.The fee for each room is NT$1,400~2,400 for two people.There will be surcharges for holidays such as Chinese New Year. (1 US$ = 30 NT$, roughly)Kindly feel free to contact us for more information or for online booking.at-Home B&BNo.32, Ln. 51, Mingren 1st St., Ji’an Township, Hualien County 973 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your At-Home B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing