We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SUPERB! Very nice place, vintage, unique and close to nature” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Echo villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Echo villa
Ranked #5 of 1,550 Hualien B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“SUPERB! Very nice place, vintage, unique and close to nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The hosts - Chen, is a very friendly person. He greeted us, shared with us a little story about the place, and how it is being built by his dad and decorated by his mum. He recommended to us tours that would suit our time, and provided us with all the convenience we need to get along town (taxi number, map etc). We just felt so taken care of!
Our room was superb! The vintage decoration (all across the house as well as the room) was just - so unique. It is very clean, equipped with hot water (really nice hot shower), and beds are comfortable too!
Breakfast - is home made egg sandwich with prawn fritters and mango juice - was just so yummy that we're hoping for 2nd serving! :) Will definitely come back here again.
Highly recommended for honeymoon stay, if you just want to get away from the world. :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    14
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
76
129
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Kind hospitality, sophisticated design and quality finishes characterise the whole Echo Villa experience. The hosts are attentive, but also respectful of your privacy. The rooms are beautifully equipped, with eclectic antique furnishings and appointed to bring the best of the stunning nature outside into every room. The photos do not lie - it actually looks this good!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qweruioper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed 2D1N in Echovilla, we regretted not staying longer.

Before coming to Taiwan, Ahcheng was very prompt in replying email and he will answer to all my queries. He even guided me to which train to book and recommended a driver to drive us around.

The driver that Ahcheng recommended was Mr Yang. He was a good guide, he never stop telling us what was around us when he drove. Some times, he will crack some jokes which make our time with him very enjoyable. He also told us about the history of Taroko Gorge. We enjoy every moment and the scenery. Mr Yang also brought us to buy hualien's best zha dan cong you bin, very delicious! Till now we are still craving for it!

At night when we return to Echovilla, Ahcheng came to talk to us and ask how was our day. He also show us around, tell us how echovilla came about and even tell us some jokes. A very friendly owner indeed! We feel like home under his guidance. The room we booked was 觀星閣. It was so big and we slept under the stars. A lay back moment away from the buzzing city.

Next day in the morning, Ahcheng send our breakfast to our room personally. It was prepared by his mom. Very healthy and delicious breakfast! We love it! Then he will set a time with us so that he can send us to the train station with his vintage van. He even tell us to drop him an when we reach Singapore, so that he will know we safely arrive home. He also replied my email by saying that Echovilla is our home in Taiwan. Really appreciated it!

Overall, we love echovilla and enjoy our stay there!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamajhui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

The stay was really an enjoyable one. Ah Cheng who is the owner was really friendly and made sure that our stay was comfortable. Plus, the home made breakfast by Ah Cheng's mum was yummy as well.

We had Ah Ming who brought us around the sights and sounds of Hualien. He was also very friendly and always allowed us to have own time to explore and move at round the scenic spots, eg. Cycling around 鲤鱼潭. Definitely a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weiting X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Hua Lien is our first stop in Taiwan. Echo Villa is so beautiful and cosy. Ah Chen is just so friendly. Every single bit in the place is built and design with efforts (including maintaining). He also gave us a cab number that gives us special rates. And it really help in the convenience for us moving around in Hua Lien. We regret not staying longer in Hua Lien. Not to forget the wonderful breakkie made by Chen Ma Ma. Its really nice and healthy. We stayed in the Zen and Star Baka room. I have got no complaints about this ming su at all. If you are choosing a mingsu, choose echo villa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Encountered some difficulties getting there as the cab driver got lost. Upon reaching Echo Villa, it was really nice to be greeted by the owner Ah Chen who brought umbrellas for us too since it was raining in the evening.

We stayed in the popular star baka room and enjoyed our night as it was so cosy. Breakfast was lovely too. A pity we only stayed a night. Ah Chen then drove us to the TRA station to keep our luggages, brought us to a nearby place to buy milk tea and since there was time, he drove us opposite the TRA station so that we could buy the famous Hualien mochi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bell_e_ling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

My last minute trip to Hualien rounded off with absolutely memorable moments; i must say it was one of the highlights of my trip to Taiwan.

Why you shd definitely choose this place:
- Owner Ah Cheng is ever helpful and friendly, it is not difficult to feel like a friend almost instantly. He has been in Hualien for sometime and knows the best places to eat, chill over tea, and his recommendations are spot-on.
- Ah Cheng's friend, Ah Hong, is just like him. Now, u have two friends in Hualien! They are both as trustworthy and humble, as they are friendly. Ah Hong brought us on a night tour to see fireflies, and a day tour to Taroko Gorge. He also introduced us to the best snack in Hualien, and perhaps Taiwan too - the fried egg pancake. It was absolutely delish that I am missing it back home.
- The room is really clean, comfortable, and decked out very well. I didnt manage to stay in the Gazing stars or Starbucks room, but was equally happy with the Victoria room, with a cosy corner and a private veranda. We had our breakfasts at the veranda, and it is simply haven with birds chirping and butterflies fluttering.
- The breakfast, as raved about by many, is indeed healthy and super yummy, and what's more, it's homemade and fresh; ah cheng's mum goes to the market every morning for the freshest fruits and ingredients to make your breakfast. U need this after eating so much junk food from Taiwan's night markets!
- Transport is not difficult. You can always choose a home stay near the city centre but this is unique as it is near the hills. Ah Cheng arranges for your transport to the train station, and if you want to get to the city centre, just ask Ah Cheng to arrange a cab for you and his contacts give you a special cab rate which is easily affordable. If you are game enough, go grab one of Ah Cheng's bike and wander : )
- Besides the nature in Hualien, the city centre is pretty small and you can finish walking in one afternoon. You would definitely appreciate a good bed and place to chill after a long day visiting the sights in Hualien, and with Echovilla, you can stay in the room all day too.

And BEST news - if you are finding it really hard to book this home stay, Ah Cheng and Ah Hong are in the midst of launching their new home stay later this year, which is nearer the city/sea. I would imagine they would also want to make it as fantabulous as EchoVilla, so it's definitely another choice to look out for when you are going to Hualien.

A Singaporean Traveller, created a Tripadvisor account to commend a great place : )

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien hotels
3.5 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
3.8 mi away
Constellation Coast Bed and Breakfast
12.6 mi away
Silks Place Taroko
Silks Place Taroko
#5 of 128 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
White Palace B&B
White Palace B&B
#1 of 1,550 in Hualien
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Star and Mist B&B
Star and Mist B&B
#4 of 1,550 in Hualien
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
3.0 mi away
Jasmine orange B&B
Jasmine orange B&B
#6 of 1,550 in Hualien
5.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Echo villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo villa

Property: Echo villa
Address: No. 21, Alley 168, Lane 289, Guofu St., Hualien 970, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 1,550 B&Bs / Inns in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Echo villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Echo villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing