We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your first choice in Hualien”
Review of Echo villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Echo villa
Ranked #6 of 1,666 Hualien County B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My last minute trip to Hualien rounded off with absolutely memorable moments; i must say it was one of the highlights of my trip to Taiwan.

Why you shd definitely choose this place:
- Owner Ah Cheng is ever helpful and friendly, it is not difficult to feel like a friend almost instantly. He has been in Hualien for sometime and knows the best places to eat, chill over tea, and his recommendations are spot-on.
- Ah Cheng's friend, Ah Hong, is just like him. Now, u have two friends in Hualien! They are both as trustworthy and humble, as they are friendly. Ah Hong brought us on a night tour to see fireflies, and a day tour to Taroko Gorge. He also introduced us to the best snack in Hualien, and perhaps Taiwan too - the fried egg pancake. It was absolutely delish that I am missing it back home.
- The room is really clean, comfortable, and decked out very well. I didnt manage to stay in the Gazing stars or Starbucks room, but was equally happy with the Victoria room, with a cosy corner and a private veranda. We had our breakfasts at the veranda, and it is simply haven with birds chirping and butterflies fluttering.
- The breakfast, as raved about by many, is indeed healthy and super yummy, and what's more, it's homemade and fresh; ah cheng's mum goes to the market every morning for the freshest fruits and ingredients to make your breakfast. U need this after eating so much junk food from Taiwan's night markets!
- Transport is not difficult. You can always choose a home stay near the city centre but this is unique as it is near the hills. Ah Cheng arranges for your transport to the train station, and if you want to get to the city centre, just ask Ah Cheng to arrange a cab for you and his contacts give you a special cab rate which is easily affordable. If you are game enough, go grab one of Ah Cheng's bike and wander : )
- Besides the nature in Hualien, the city centre is pretty small and you can finish walking in one afternoon. You would definitely appreciate a good bed and place to chill after a long day visiting the sights in Hualien, and with Echovilla, you can stay in the room all day too.

And BEST news - if you are finding it really hard to book this home stay, Ah Cheng and Ah Hong are in the midst of launching their new home stay later this year, which is nearer the city/sea. I would imagine they would also want to make it as fantabulous as EchoVilla, so it's definitely another choice to look out for when you are going to Hualien.

A Singaporean Traveller, created a Tripadvisor account to commend a great place : )

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yuan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 592 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

There are loads of b&b in 花莲 to choose from. But we finally selected echo villa based on the great reviews on trip TripAdvisor and the pictures on the website. Its a choice we never regret! Like all the previous reviewers had mentioned, this b&b really gives you the feeling of "home" and each time we go out touring, we actually look forward to return to the b&b!

Each room has a unique design and most of the decorative items are hand-made that goes to show the amount of effort the owner (阿呈) and his family put in.

Its an awesome feeling to wake up to greenery and healthy scrumptious breakfast served to your room by the owner! From the moment we booked the room, everything was pretty much arranged by 阿呈! He will come pick you up in the classic Volkswagen beetle (such service is usually not provided by most b&b) upon arrival at 花莲! Checking in was swift and he even took effort to highlight the room details to us! He got his friend 阿鸿 to take us to places in 花莲 that is less touristy and introduce us to great local food. 阿鸿 is an awesome tour guide/photographer and we are definitely looking forward to his upcoming sea-side b&b as well!

To sum it up, we had the most memorable stay at 花莲! From the cozy room, breathtaking scenery and most importantly the 热情体贴 of 阿呈 and his family left a deep impression. We met them as strangers but parted as friends! We definitely return to the same b&b should we return to 花莲!

Room Tip: Book early for popular rooms like the star gazing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zhing_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Only manage to stay for a night as it was fully booked. Nevertheless, it was a truly homely, comfortable stay although we only manage to get the smallest room.

The host, Ah Cheng was gracious and go the extra mile to make our short stay a memorable one. The breakfast prepared by his mum was healthy and delicious.

Looking forward to our next stay there hopefully in the room with the glass roof and not forgetting the B&B facing the ocean.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingaporeIvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I first found out about this minsu on Tripadvisor, saw the photos travellers posted and instantly fell in love with it! I booked the Starbucks room 1hr after the internet booking is open and never regret it.

The minsu owner Ah Cheng is a friendly chap, very nice and helpful. Arranged a driver to bring us around although it was a very last minute plan. The driver he recommended is another responsible young man.

About Echo Villa itself, the room really exceeded my expectations except that it was smaller than what I thought it would be. Neverthless, it was beautifully and carefully designed. Even little details like the walls of the bathroom has pretty designs on it. Loccitane toiletries were given. Ah Cheng's mum also planted cherry blossoms trees all that and it's right beside our room!

Breakfast prepared daily by Ah Cheng's mum, it may look Simple but tastes heavenly and it is sent to our room at 8.30am everyday.

We travelled around Taiwan for 14days and no other minsu can beat our experience at Echo Villa. You can really feel that the owners genuinely wants you to feel at home and wants you to bring home an unforgettable experience. The effort that they put in for maintenance, constantly improving and sincerely knowing the guests is commendable. No wonder that they are #1 on Tripadvisor for Hualien stays.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supergirlk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We stay in the glass house room for 3 nights and it was most probably the best 3 nights ever. Being surrounded by the forest and watching rain drops on your rooftop through the glass roof was very therapeutic and relaxing. It was very obvious the owners spent much effort and time into planning the design of the place from the small details like the vintage accessories to the provision of nice breakfast delivered daily to your room. We could really feel the hospitality and sincerity of the owner Ah Chen as he also helped to recommend a place for me to get my feet looked at when I hurt it while river tracing. He also recommended a tour guide to us and he was also extremely informative, helpful snd sincere. The bed and sofa was very comfortable and we slept very well at night and even took afternoon naps as it was too sleep inducing to resist. They had cable tv, good plumbing and heater and the place was impeccably clean and free of insects in spite of being in a forested area. There was free bottles of coke and water provided and also a hot water dispenser. We really felt that the owners really went out of their way to make our stay very comfortable and we are looking forward to visit their new B&B near the ocean soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dah85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Friendly staff and nice fresh fruits in the room. Pretty basic comfort. We were a european couple staying in this weird hotel. Our room (POP Style) was really small, with the shower and the toilet not separated ... Meaning the 'mini bathroom' was completely flooded if you wanted to pee after someone took a shower !
We didn't have breakfast with the other people, don't know why.
We stayed mid-october and had awfull rainy weather. Probably not the best time of year to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yolul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We travelled as a 4 person group: my 2 elderly parents and my cousin sister.
1st night in 普普风 2nd night in 觀星閣.

very popular place! we booked too late by its standard and for the date for first night we could only get 普普风 meant for 2 person. The owner 阿呈 has very kindly made an exception for us and tried his very best to make it comfortable for us for the first night, knowing it would be crowded for 4 persons. Indeed it was, but no complaints as it is our own choice not to go through the hassle of moving accommodation. In the end it was actually alright because 2 of us chose to chill out late at the very cosy common area so as to let my parents enjoy the comfort of the room. The common area has such a nice ambiance, as tastefully furnished as the rooms themselves, with great choice of accompanying music. I am guessing all the rooms are so nice that everyone stayed in their own rooms so we had the common area to ourselves till late, almost like we had an extra room :)

Driver arranged for us by 阿呈 the next day was fantastic. Gave us a very comfortable, stress free yet fulfilling day trip around Hualien. Not the touristy kind of trip. We were blessed with a more authentic and deeper appreciation of this beautiful place. Driver has a great personality, friendly yet modest, whom my typically-asian-shy parents could open up to.

After the wonderful day trip, we came back to the new room 觀星閣 with our luggage all nicely moved for us. Room is as beautiful as it looks on the website.

The breakfast the rest of the Echofriends are raving about: true story. My parents are still talking about the breakfast since we left the place.

Travelling in and out of Echovilla is best by car. Echovilla is affiliated to a taxi network with a toll free hotline with good discount. Very convenient without worry of driver unable to find the place, like we sometimes experience with some other accommodation. (just tell them 洄音谷 and they have directions from their telecom network. no need to show map or address etc)

After checking out, 阿呈 sent us off to train station. All travelling has been very convenient.

Every small detail is taken care of, from transport, food, decor & furnishing, comfort, to the very nice toiletries. Very thoughtful owners.

Recommended to put Echo Villa and Hualien at the end of your Taiwan trip because you might find other places unable to match up :)

Thank you 阿呈 and family!

Room Tip: 普普风 is their smallest room. still recommended to stick to 2 person for comfort for that price. 觀星...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nixsang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
3.3 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
#6 of 137 in Hualien County
860 reviews
3.8 mi away
Constellation Coast Bed and Breakfast
Constellation Coast Bed and Brea...
#1 of 137 in Hualien County
466 reviews
2.1 mi away
White Palace B&B
White Palace B&B
#1 of 1,666 in Hualien County
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Slow Living Seaview B&B
Slow Living Seaview B&B
#11 of 1,666 in Hualien County
185 reviews
3 mi away
Jasmine orange B&B
Jasmine orange B&B
#3 of 1,666 in Hualien County
664 reviews
0.2 mi away
Star and Mist B&B
Star and Mist B&B
#9 of 1,666 in Hualien County
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Echo villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo villa

Address: No. 21, Alley 168, Lane 289, Guofu St., Hualien County 970, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Hualien County
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 1,666 B&Bs / Inns in Hualien County
Hotel Class:3 star — Echo villa 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Echo villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing