We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”
Review of Manado B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Manado B&B
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stayed in Manado hostel for 3 nights in my recent visit to Hualien. The hostel cleanliness is remarkable and the cosy setting is exactly like the photographs on the web site. We are unlucky that the weather failed us, we did enjoyed ourselves just loafing in the hostel enjoying the coffee and reading our books.
The lady boss and her assistant are very friendly and are always readily to help us in any other ways. Even they housekeeper is very friendly and chatty sharing some places of interest.
Staying here is value for money.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank lktzu1489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
There are newer reviews for Manado B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 37 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2013

This place is far from town, and there seem to be only 1 or 2 place you can walk to for dinner. However, if you are like most people who is getting a driver or a car (self-drive) in Hualien, then that is not a big problem.

The hotel is quite nicely decorated, with 3 levels. Wifi is pretty weak to non existent in the rooms in level 3; you might want to hang out in the comfy level 2 sofas to get some internet. There are no lifts, so if you have issues with heavy luggage, you may want to request for a level 2.

The lady boss comes around at night and stays around the dining tables to chat with guests, dish out simple snacks, etc. Before we left, she even gave us small packets of their local rice.

Worth considering.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tengawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We booked for 2 nights thru agoda and just checked out of the minsu(B&B). Xiaowei picked us up for free from a local eatery after we arrived at hualien, and suggested a quick stop at a local fruit store to buy some local papaya and dragonfruits..we ate them the next day they were very sweet!
We spent the next 2 days at the local eateries, night market and hiring a driver to bring us around..
The minsu arranged for us a local guide with a spacious 5 seater mini van to bring us around for a very reasonable price..
Overall, the minsu has a very homely feel to it, great decor and very friendly lady owner and staff... we were even offered pomelo and fruits every evening when we hung out at the dining area to chat!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hzeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Hostel was really nice, owner friendly and helpful and all. Beds were comfy, rooms were great, breakfast was lovely. However I was slightly disappointed as we didn’t receive the same kind of very extremely great service (free pick up from train station, free tour around) that others had mentioned they previously had. It might have been that the owners were busy (hostel seemed fully booked), but still, it was just nice, not amazing. If you’re looking to book a taxi for a day tour, but only have 2 people, you can ask xiao wei to help you see if other hostels/bnbs have others who want to share a taxi. She was helpful and found two others to share a one-day tour cab so it ended up being much cheaper. The location of this hostel is a bit far from town, so if you’re looking for somewhere convenient, this might not be the place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scrabbyknees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Delicious breakfast. Tidy and nice room. Shower is good too. Within walkable distance from the city centre, so able to enjoy the peaceful environment of Hualien but not far from the shopping and eating places.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ngngaryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We checked in December 11th 2012.

I have traveled to dozens of countries, stayed in hundreds of hotels. This is without doubt, the best of them all! The hostel was not built for money it seems, it was built by love of the owner Ms. Wong.

You can see the loving details everywhere, from the little pots of plants and orchids, to the parrot and sugar-gliders she keeps, and the spotlessly clean interior and very tasteful decor. She even makes special pumpkin-soy bean drink for breakfast, served in a unique bottle!

This is more like sharing someone's home, than staying in a commercial hostel. God bless the kindness of Ms Wong. May the world have more people like her to make it a better place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tap_Scow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We planned a one-week trip to Hualien, and booked two nights at Manado Hostel (美那多民宿) based on Trip Advisor's review, just to experience the minsu (民宿) experience in Hualien. And Manado did not disappoint.
Just before our arrival, I sent email to Manado asking for suggestion on the best way to travel from the train station to Manado, given there were five of us and a few luggage bags. The owner, Ms Wang (王秋凉小姐) offered to pick us up and drive us to Manado. We later found out there are Toyota Wish taxis in Hualien and they are not very strict about the number of passengers to take (whereas in Taipei they abide by the rule of maximum four pax per taxi). So it was out of her kindness that Ms Wang provided the transport to us.
The hostel is bright, colourful, pleasantly and tastefully decorated. We booked a quad room (for four) with one additional headcount, but Ms Wang let us choose between this room and a larger room for six. We opted for the larger room, and she waived the rate difference! The room given to us is spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast was simple but delicious. My wife especially loves the pumpkin-soya bean drink. Both Ms Wang and her assistant, Xiao Wei (小薇) were very warm, chatty and helpful. Given our initial rough plan (we booked a few accommodations in Hualien on different days), they helped us plan our detailed itinerary for the entire week (not just the three days we were with them) and arranged for transportation and chauffeur to drive us on days that we planned to visit Highway 9, Highway 11 and Taroko Gorge. With their arrangement, we also went for a river tracing (riverking.com.tw/) trip and enjoyed it. They even dished out discount coupons and VIP cards for us to use at shops and hot-spring houses. Such helpful people!
I remember sipping coffee on the ground floor after returning from the river tracing trip and chatted with Ms Wang. She recounted her experience in China before returning to Hualien to start Manado. She spoke like an old friend, sharing her stories and feelings freely. With the surrounding, the 30 minutes there made me feel like I was visiting a close friend.
In conclusion, Manado is more than just a well-decorated house - it houses friendly and helpful hosts who treat guests genuinely as their friends. Their mission (which they try really hard to accomplish) is to make your stay at Hualien (not just at Manado) enjoyable and memorable. Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamesTen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
0.5 mi away
Lienfook Hostelry Hualien
Lienfook Hostelry Hualien
#66 of 131 in Hualien County
46 reviews
1.3 mi away
Liga Hotel
Liga Hotel
#9 of 131 in Hualien County
179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cullinan Hotel
Cullinan Hotel
#30 of 131 in Hualien County
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Li Shiuan International Hotel
Li Shiuan International Hotel
#8 of 131 in Hualien County
279 reviews
2.0 mi away
Galerie 6 B&B
Galerie 6 B&B
#473 of 1,609 in Hualien County
12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fanlin House
Fanlin House
#61 of 1,609 in Hualien County
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manado B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manado B&B

Address: No.64 Fujian Street, Hualien City, Hualien County 973, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 183 Specialty Lodging in Hualien County
Price Range: $42 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Manado B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manado Hostel Opened by a travel enthusiast, the charming Manado Hostel is decorated with ornaments from all over the world. Decorated in a rustic country style, the hostel features private rooms with free internet and air conditioning. Hualien Railway Station is a 10-minute drive away. Charming and cosy, all the air-conditioned guestrooms are equipped with a TV and free mineral water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld and Ctrip TA so you can book your Manado B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing