We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great minsu with very personalized service & great decor; home away from home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manado B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Manado B&B
Ranked #21 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Hualien
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great minsu with very personalized service & great decor; home away from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We booked for 2 nights thru agoda and just checked out of the minsu(B&B). Xiaowei picked us up for free from a local eatery after we arrived at hualien, and suggested a quick stop at a local fruit store to buy some local papaya and dragonfruits..we ate them the next day they were very sweet!
We spent the next 2 days at the local eateries, night market and hiring a driver to bring us around..
The minsu arranged for us a local guide with a spacious 5 seater mini van to bring us around for a very reasonable price..
Overall, the minsu has a very homely feel to it, great decor and very friendly lady owner and staff... we were even offered pomelo and fruits every evening when we hung out at the dining area to chat!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hzeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Hostel was really nice, owner friendly and helpful and all. Beds were comfy, rooms were great, breakfast was lovely. However I was slightly disappointed as we didn’t receive the same kind of very extremely great service (free pick up from train station, free tour around) that others had mentioned they previously had. It might have been that the owners were busy (hostel seemed fully booked), but still, it was just nice, not amazing. If you’re looking to book a taxi for a day tour, but only have 2 people, you can ask xiao wei to help you see if other hostels/bnbs have others who want to share a taxi. She was helpful and found two others to share a one-day tour cab so it ended up being much cheaper. The location of this hostel is a bit far from town, so if you’re looking for somewhere convenient, this might not be the place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scrabbyknees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Delicious breakfast. Tidy and nice room. Shower is good too. Within walkable distance from the city centre, so able to enjoy the peaceful environment of Hualien but not far from the shopping and eating places.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ngngaryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We checked in December 11th 2012.

I have traveled to dozens of countries, stayed in hundreds of hotels. This is without doubt, the best of them all! The hostel was not built for money it seems, it was built by love of the owner Ms. Wong.

You can see the loving details everywhere, from the little pots of plants and orchids, to the parrot and sugar-gliders she keeps, and the spotlessly clean interior and very tasteful decor. She even makes special pumpkin-soy bean drink for breakfast, served in a unique bottle!

This is more like sharing someone's home, than staying in a commercial hostel. God bless the kindness of Ms Wong. May the world have more people like her to make it a better place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tap_Scow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We planned a one-week trip to Hualien, and booked two nights at Manado Hostel (美那多民宿) based on Trip Advisor's review, just to experience the minsu (民宿) experience in Hualien. And Manado did not disappoint.
Just before our arrival, I sent email to Manado asking for suggestion on the best way to travel from the train station to Manado, given there were five of us and a few luggage bags. The owner, Ms Wang (王秋凉小姐) offered to pick us up and drive us to Manado. We later found out there are Toyota Wish taxis in Hualien and they are not very strict about the number of passengers to take (whereas in Taipei they abide by the rule of maximum four pax per taxi). So it was out of her kindness that Ms Wang provided the transport to us.
The hostel is bright, colourful, pleasantly and tastefully decorated. We booked a quad room (for four) with one additional headcount, but Ms Wang let us choose between this room and a larger room for six. We opted for the larger room, and she waived the rate difference! The room given to us is spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast was simple but delicious. My wife especially loves the pumpkin-soya bean drink. Both Ms Wang and her assistant, Xiao Wei (小薇) were very warm, chatty and helpful. Given our initial rough plan (we booked a few accommodations in Hualien on different days), they helped us plan our detailed itinerary for the entire week (not just the three days we were with them) and arranged for transportation and chauffeur to drive us on days that we planned to visit Highway 9, Highway 11 and Taroko Gorge. With their arrangement, we also went for a river tracing (riverking.com.tw/) trip and enjoyed it. They even dished out discount coupons and VIP cards for us to use at shops and hot-spring houses. Such helpful people!
I remember sipping coffee on the ground floor after returning from the river tracing trip and chatted with Ms Wang. She recounted her experience in China before returning to Hualien to start Manado. She spoke like an old friend, sharing her stories and feelings freely. With the surrounding, the 30 minutes there made me feel like I was visiting a close friend.
In conclusion, Manado is more than just a well-decorated house - it houses friendly and helpful hosts who treat guests genuinely as their friends. Their mission (which they try really hard to accomplish) is to make your stay at Hualien (not just at Manado) enjoyable and memorable. Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesTen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

美那多,美丽的住宿,那么热情的招待,多营养的早餐。Manado, wonderful homestay, wonderful services and provide good breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AKyeoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien hotels
1.1 mi away
Byeyer Hotel
Byeyer Hotel
#35 of 125 in Hualien
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beauty Inn
Beauty Inn
#16 of 125 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hualien Charming City Hotel
Hualien Charming City Hotel
#31 of 125 in Hualien
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Galerie 6 B&B
Galerie 6 B&B
#382 of 1,409 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ji Mei homestay
Ji Mei homestay
#96 of 1,409 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fanlin House
Fanlin House
#53 of 1,409 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manado B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manado B&B

Property: Manado B&B
Address: No.64 Fujian Street, Hualien City, Hualien 973, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Manado B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manado Hostel Opened by a travel enthusiast, the charming Manado Hostel is decorated with ornaments from all over the world. Decorated in a rustic country style, the hostel features private rooms with free internet and air conditioning. Hualien Railway Station is a 10-minute drive away. Charming and cosy, all the air-conditioned guestrooms are equipped with a TV and free mineral water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Manado B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing