We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Most comfortable bed you´ll find at a hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleeping Boot Backpackers Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sleeping Boot Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #4 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Hualien
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Most comfortable bed you´ll find at a hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I had some problems to find the location but fortunately the owner saw me and came to rescue me. He was very helpful both personal and via e-mail and make my stay at Hualien very convenient.

I didn´t spend much time at the hostel but the IKEA beds are a big plus. You will need a good sleep after hiking Taroko so I highly recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
8
87
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hangzhou, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Not so easy to find the front door when first came, but the inner space was a nice surprise!! This hostel was just fun & refreshing. Best of all was the owners - they couldn't be more friendly, helpful, energetic, and cheerful!! Useful brunches could be found easily on the shelves. Not so many rooms, which was somehow good, cos everyone got along very well just as family. Very open & cheerful lobby. Nice chat with the staff. The only thing that might be called a problem was the distance to main traffic : 20mins walk from Hualien Train Station. Meanwhile, the location was still good, right at the halfway from train station to city centre.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessica880526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The first thing to mention is that the owner was very helpful even with going out of his way to take me to the station, ensure my luggage was dealt with correctly as well as previously identifying good spots to eat, laundry, best trails and other transport arrangements.
There are lots of tourist brochures and maps available at the hostel in all languages.
The decor is pretty minimal with stripped floor boards which makes it seem bright, clean and airy. Slightly IKEA-like
The location is a little out of the way but no worse than rival hostels - ten minute easy walk from bus/train station - less into centre of town.
Therefore a good base for spending time walking in Taroko N.P.

Room Tip: Choice of dorm or single room - dorm was v quiet and spacious enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ianinsaigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hostel is in a great location; only a 10 minute walk from the train station. It is exceptionally clean and I loved the tiled shower room, with plenty of hot water. Fixtures and furniture are very modern. Storage lockers with keys make for good security when you are out. The manager is very friendly and will give you a map of the city and advise you regarding your visit to the Taroko Gorge Mountains. You can also walk to the downtown shopping area from the hostel very easily. There are wonderful restaurants all along the main street that leads to the downtown area, as well as boutiques, bakeries, cafes. Hualien is a city with a population of 110,000 and has it's own night market, parks, downtown shopping district.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CdnLovesTravel787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at Sleeping Boot for 2 nights in Hualien, and the experience has been very pleasant. Our stay starts when our host Paul sits us down, and introduces to us all the essential sights and directions within the small sleepy town. Then, he goes on further to introduce us to the rest of the guests staying with us later that night, and stays around to promote interaction and make conversation. He was also very fast to provide advice when we needed to book accommodations at other cities, surrendering reviews and information whenever he could. The location itself is very close to the train station, and within walking distance to some of the more popular streets in town. The cleanliness of the hostel was actively maintained by a cleaner, who drops in almost daily. The location's exterior is quiet, and tranquil, facing the mountains and avoiding the morning sun. I have nothing bad to say about this hostel, and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AZeeq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The common room was a great idea for backpackers to interact and make friends! The rooms are cleaned on a daily basis and provides a really comfortable environment to sleep in. The owner Qi Feng is really friendly, approachable and helpful. He taught me how fun Hualien could be and even planned my days so that I could make full use of them in Hualien! Thank you Sleeping Boot! I would definitely return there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darricezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The owner has given us much guides to go around hualien and we really enjoy also making friends with his little helpers.. they are all awesome friends i made through this journey and i miss this place and hualien. He is super friendly, warm and approachable person.. thank you so much for being there! hehe. =)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chyichyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien hotels
1.3 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
0.8 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
0.7 mi away
East Town 26
East Town 26
#6 of 122 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mini Voyage Hostel
Mini Voyage Hostel
#1 of 114 in Hualien
5.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hualien Wow Hostel
Hualien Wow Hostel
#2 of 114 in Hualien
5.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cave Hostel
Cave Hostel
#12 of 114 in Hualien
5.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleeping Boot Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeping Boot Backpackers Hostel

Property: Sleeping Boot Backpackers Hostel
Address: No.73 Jinfeng Street, Hualien City, Hualien 970, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A HOSTEL BEFRIENDING THE WORLD Travel, immersion, exchange... Restore your energy and spirits and take the next step of your journey! ualian is a natural place of mountains and sea, Enjoying the breeze of the Pacific Ocean. Huadong Valley, located between the mountains and coast, is full of beautiful countryside scenery, A place where travelers can relax and slow down. Hualian is an easy-going city, traversable by foot or bike, Sleeping Boot is located in the "Golden Triangle" between the train station and city center, a short 10-15 minute walk from the station. We offer reasonable prices and provide visitors with a warm and friendly experience. We love travel and welcome fellow tourists to come and experience a home away from home, Or discover your own corner for daydreaming and contemplation. Our hostel provides not only beds but a clean atmosphere and rooms with air conditioning and great natural lighting, Our guests come from around the world and the simple kitchen and common area give people a chance to socialize. Every person has a different reason to travel, which offers different experiences whether alone or with companions Whether you're here for a short or long stay, we hope you'll fall in love with this place and make it your home in Hualian. Refresh your spirits for the journey ahead! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sleeping Boot Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing