We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, budget hotel; disappointing breakfast”
Review of Da Shih Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Da Shih Hotel
Ranked #66 of 137 Hotels in Hualien County
Reviewed April 25, 2012

At this price, it is hard to complain. Not a bad choice at all for a single night. Good location, if you have something to do in Hualien (we didn't -- we were only there after a visit to the Taroko Gorge.

At the risk of repeating the other reviewer, the rooms were nothing special, but functional (and we had a window and a fire escape, it would seem. The service attitude was truly "Ask someone who cares," but not rude.

The breakfast was the worst I'd had in a Taiwan hotel or guest house -- but I've only stayed in 10 or 12 properties, so maybe someone has found a breakfast even less inspired than this one -- somewhere else on the island. But it's food, and it will get you started.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shizzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 17 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2011

Found out about this hotel through the Taiwan's travel website: TravelKing and booked the hotel room through the online hotel reservation system. No major issues encountered with the system. Only problem is that we emailed the hotel to arrange for transport to pick us up (as stated in the website) from the train station but there was no response. We were however able to get the hotel to arrange for transport to the train station upon our departure. Rate is attractive at TWD1350/night for a double room and we stayed for 3 nights. While it was indicated during the booking that the room did not have window, we are pleasantly surprised that ours did have a small window to it.

The lobby staff are polite but not very helpful in recommending/giving directions to places of interest. Though it was indicated that Wifi is available, the hotel staff was also unable to provide the password to login. As such, you have to do your homework first when staying in this hotel.

If you are not very very particular about cleanliness, you will probably find the room pretty comfortable and acceptable, though the furnishing/carpet look a bit dated. I am not the type who will fuss over a spot on the carpet or dust under the cupboard but I did notice that the aircon valve is very dusty and that there are mosquito in the room (maybe because of the summer weather). So do remember to put on your mosquito repellant (which fortunately I was prepared for).
Amenities in the room are adequate, with the usual complimentary bottles of water (2 per stay, not per day though), TV, water dispenser (hot/cold), tea bags, coffee, shampoo/soap, bedroom slipper, etc. However, replenishment of the consumable items are probably only available upon request. The same applies to room service, where the staff did not make up the room during our 4D3N stay after we told the lobby staff after the 1st night (when the staff asked) that there is no need for room service. Though we did not mind particularly, we did not expect the room to remain "un-made" after the 3rd day. One of the towel provided was also torn from wear and tear, indicating its age.

Breakfast was included but nothing to shout about. In view that there is not much shops open before 10am, it is better than nothing.

As my sister and I are travelling free and easy, location of the hotel is of upmost importance. While this hotel is not near to the train station (10 mins taxi-ride; don't even think that you can try walking, esp with luggage), it is just off the corner of the bustling shopping area and is hence convenient and yet quiet. There is also a shop selling cheap local-products just diagonally opposite the hotel. The morning market is also a 5 mins walk down the street from the hotel if you are keen to experience the local culture.

What we find attractive is also the free bike rental the hotel provide which allows us to cycle along the coastline at leisure. (A word of caution on the power of UV rays in Hualien though. Also, no point to cycle too far along the coastline as the scenic spots are only restricted to within an hour's ride. Do be fully equipped with sun blocks and aloe vera lotion. My sister and I regretted.) Though the bikes (comes with a basket in front) are not new, they are in good condition. The hotel staff would provide a bicycle lock in case you want to rest your bikes and walk around. No helmets provided though and riding on the road can be a nervous experience as the traffic can be quite chaotic. We did cycle to a nearby mini-mart to buy some tibits and bottled drinks for our stay and not having to carry those by hand and walk back to the hotel was a relief.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay at the hotel and while the service and cleanliness could be improved, the hotel is definitely value for money, given its location.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CausalTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
Thank Kugenuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 交通方便,但是不好停車,附近食物眾多
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ting Yu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with TravelKing.com.tw
Thank Sheny_Yu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Ivy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: 沒有可以分享,但平日價格是比較優惠
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kennrth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
0.4 mi away
Travel Road Hotel
Travel Road Hotel
#86 of 137 in Hualien County
9 reviews
1 mi away
Ocean Hotel
Ocean Hotel
#39 of 137 in Hualien County
28 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ocean Hyaline Hotel
Ocean Hyaline Hotel
#82 of 137 in Hualien County
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cullinan Hotel
Cullinan Hotel
#28 of 137 in Hualien County
145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bulowan Hotel
Bulowan Hotel
#37 of 137 in Hualien County
27 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wu Zhou Hotel
Wu Zhou Hotel
#88 of 137 in Hualien County
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da Shih Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Shih Hotel

Address: No.495 Zhongzheng Road,Hualien City,, Hualien County, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 137 Hotels in Hualien County
Price Range: $41 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Da Shih Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Da Shih Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing