We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Unique Style, Good Price, Bad Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Byeyer Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Byeyer Hotel
Ranked #44 of 123 Hotels in Hualien
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unique Style, Good Price, Bad Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The owner used to run a quarry, and it shows. Marble and granite covers almost all interior and exterior surfaces. Very Hualien, and even hip. The youthful staff in spa outfits had enough English to be helpful. The rooms were reasonably sized, clean, and modern. It's on a busy street, but road noise was muted. It's a bit off the main shopping area, but taxis are everywhere. There is a nice hangout area in the lobby with tables and comfy chairs. The WIFI worked. The beds on the floor were oddly comfortable.

The one real clanger was the breakfast. It looked good, but all the normally hot dishes were room-temperature to cold. Some of the foods were weird and not tasty, and we normally like Chinese breakfasts (they also had cold weird Western breakfast foods). After one try we taxied to Country Mothers for breakfast and had a fabulous, inexpensive English breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vardo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    21
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
14
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed two nights in June 2013, and overall was satisfied with my stay. The room was clean and comfortable, the internet was fast, the bathroom was fine. The staff were friendly and helpful, but struggled a bit with english as is probably the case in a lot of places once you get far out of Taipei. I was in a non-smoking room and it smelled a little like someone had smoked in it, though the smell could have been coming from another room.

The breakfast was ok, about average for the hotels I have stayed at in Taiwan. The food was good, just not as much variety.

The hotel is in a good location for street vendor food and some other restaurants (find the Salt Lick for good VA/NC style bbq, believe it or not). The hotel is ~10 minute walk to the train station or a very short taxi ride. The night market is a long walk, so it is really a better idea to take a taxi, though from what I saw not many hotels are near the main night market. But there is plenty going on at night right on Zhongshan Rd, though probably not as late as the main night market.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff allowed us to leave our bicycles that we rented from Giant at the lobby for the night. They told us to lock the bicycles and that they've will have night shift staff to watch out for the bicycles. I believe them because it's a small lobby and the bikes are right in front of them. Haha! Clean room with tatami style beds. Free wifi. Can't really complain except that the breakfast selection was very limited.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

A rather shabby hotel but is probably one of the better hotels you can find in HuaLien. It has a tiny restaurant at the basement, which serves buffet style, nice and simple breakfast. Outdoor car-park at the back of the hotel. We were satisfied with the hotel but not delighted, alright for a one night stay.

We stayed the suite and it was still very basic. The overall room did not feel clean, especially the room carpets and black bath. Would most probably try another hotel is visiting HuaLien again. The noodles stall adjacent to the hotel is a great dinner option.

Room Tip: Even the suite did not give us a WOW.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neo2122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Sarawak, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

When it comes to Hualien many tourists would prefer minsu homestay or inns near Taroko Gorge. But I find this hotel a gem in Hualien town.
The staff are friendly, breakfast served is good albeit low in variety, easy access to the main streets in Hualien for shopping and eating.
The room is big enough for the two of us, and the price is reasonable too.
Definitely worth considering if you come to stay in Hualien.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
465 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Mar 10
Of the 7 hotels on this trip, Hotel Byeyer, was the worse. Its name evokes (more aptly), "Hotel Bye-bye." It was not the least expensive; it had the the most flaws.
It is a tourist-class hotel, ie, appeals to groups from China who want the best bargain. We sat among them at breakfast where some tend to slurp loudly, move about clumsily, and lack common etiquette and courtesy skills.
Our room 503 had a translucent door leading to the bedroom. Since I awake before sunrise, I dressed in the dark, occasional using the momentary light from my I-Touch deck. I managed not to awake my sleeping wife.
I complained to the front desk person that I couldn't turn off all the lights for sleeping. He arrived and resolved the problem by removing the bulb from the socket.
We were glad to move on after this experience.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alohatripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This review is just a warning for those thinking about staying here. I reserved a room a month in advance of intended travel but had to cancel 3 weeks out due to a change in the itinerary.

I booked the hotel through the hotel's website at http://www.byeyer.com/. The initial response I got back from them after asking to cancel was to please contact Agoda. When I informed them that I didn't use Agoda and instead used their website, they asked me to then contact Travel King.

Also of note is that Travel King has already charged my credit card for the 2 nights I had originally intended to stay in Hualien.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank C4Plastique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien hotels
0.4 mi away
Beauty Inn
Beauty Inn
#18 of 123 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
0.5 mi away
East Town 26
East Town 26
#7 of 123 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Azure Hotel
Azure Hotel
#9 of 123 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hualien Charming City Hotel
Hualien Charming City Hotel
#29 of 123 in Hualien
4.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arsma Hotel
Arsma Hotel
#13 of 123 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lige Hotel
Lige Hotel
#23 of 123 in Hualien
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byeyer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byeyer Hotel

Property: Byeyer Hotel
Address: No.361 Zhongshan Road, Hualien 970, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 123 Hotels in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Byeyer Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Byeyer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing