We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy place to stay”
Review of Hualien 11

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hualien 11
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Easy place to stay”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed here for two nights to visit the gorge on a day trip. The owner was very friendly and helped me arrange my visit.

Overall it was average and not the nicest place to stay but clean, easy with helpful owners. Not located near the main night markets but a short taxi ride away.

The room was backing onto a main road so fairly noisy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linzsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

The lady-owner and her son were extremely helpful and convenient, the room was extremely comfortable (we were a group of 4).
They invited us to drink with other resident from the hostel, provided food and drinks.
Definitely recommend it, maybe the place is a bit hard to find from the outside but that's all.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Quentin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This minsu (眺望雲海) is not referred as Hualien 11 in Chinese. 眺望雲海has no signage as it is the owner's house in a housing area. Just look out for road name (GuoFu 13th street) and house number (no : 54). It is 10mins walk fr the Hualien's train station through the back exit. Pickup to/from train station is only from 8am-8pm and unfortunately, we could not enjoy this free service as we have to leave for 7.55am train to Taipei. The ZhiQiang night market is 15 mins away by foot.

There are 5 storeys, owner and little boss live on the 2nd floor and we got the room on 4th floor. No complaints with the stairs as we did not bring big luggages. Room was big, clean n nicely decorated.

Lisa had arranged Taroko 1-day tour for us and the driver picked us up from the visitor centre next to Hualien's train station. Driver had some problem in finding this minsu at first but later on, had googled the road name n finally sent us to the minsu after Taroko 1-day tour. We only stayed for a night and did not had much interaction with the owners. We left at 7.15am before they were up for the day, ie : 8.00am.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnAjOe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

First for the pluses: the minsu hostess, Lisa and her son Little Boss (Xiao Lao Ban), are extremely approachable and hospitable hosts. Lisa replies to emails promptly and will assist you with any enquiries where necessary. Although she did not help us with the laundry personally, we could use her washing machine without any additional charges. The minsu is also located in the city centre, about 15-20min from Ziqiang Night Market, which has tons of good food without the long waiting times at other night markets e.g. Shihlin. Lisa also arranged a Taroko Gorge tour which was cheap and good (2200NT for 2). The driver, Leo, speaks good English and will address your requests readily. Last but not least, 1000NT for a big ensuite room per night is an absolute steal.

Downsides: there are no lifts in the minsu and you will have to carry the luggage up yourself (for us it was the 4th story). Lisa only provides transport to the train station and not the airport, so you would have to take a cab there. Fortunately, she can call a cab for you and it will pick you up when you are ready. There is also no breakfast provided, but there are good breakfast eateries around the corner.

All in all, the experience was great but perhaps not spectacular, but we are definitely not complaining for the great discounts we enjoy.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the lower floors if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jiankai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Lisa Jie (Sister Lisa) came to pick my 2 cousins and myself up from a train station nearby. A friendly lady, she acted as our tour guide too, pointing and showing us where we should visit as she drove us to her place where we will be staying for the next 2 days. We stayed at this teddybear-themed room which was clean and comfortable. (my cousin even checked the aircon filter - it was clean!) Lisa Jie offered to wash our clothes and hung them dry for us. She offered us local fruits and chatted with us and gave guidances to make sure we enjoy our stay in Hualien. She really treated us well. Would definitely recommend her to whoever is visiting Hualien.

Room Tip: We had only 3 persons but had a 4 persons room. Lisa Jie gave us a special rate. Let her know if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The lady boss, Lisa, is very friendly and helpful. She picked us up from Hualien railway station upon arrival and sent us to the station again when we checked out. She and her son would go the extra miles to help us whenever needed.

The room was the best decorated room during our trip to Taiwan. Our kids loved it!

It was a very nice and pleasant stay in this place. We recommend it for those families travelling with young kids.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tkokeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The lady boss, Lisa, is very nice and sincere and her minsu is clean, comfortable, spacious... we really couldn't bear to leave the place on our last day.
We rode a bike and lost our way and was really nervous but Lisa sent 小老板 to guide us back from the train station.
We were well taken care of.
This is one of our best stays in Taiwan.

Room Tip: VIP room is very very big with a very pretty table, on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lazygirl1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
0.1 mi away
Star and Mist B&B
Star and Mist B&B
#4 of 1,604 in Hualien County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hualien Sunrise Hostel
Hualien Sunrise Hostel
#109 of 1,604 in Hualien County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
2.1 mi away
White Palace B&B
White Palace B&B
#1 of 1,604 in Hualien County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Jasmine orange B&B
Jasmine orange B&B
#5 of 1,604 in Hualien County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
3.5 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
#5 of 128 in Hualien County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lakeshore Hotel
Lakeshore Hotel
#12 of 128 in Hualien County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hualien 11? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hualien 11

Property: Hualien 11
Address: No.13 Guofu Street, Hualien County, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien County
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Hualien County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hualien 11 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing