We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the convenience, comfort, and value”
Review of Cullinan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cullinan Hotel
Ranked #30 of 130 Hotels in Hualien County
2 reviews
“Go for the convenience, comfort, and value”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My younger sister and I stayed for two nights at Cullinan. On the train to Hualien, we called the hotel and they were able to pick us up from the station (complimentary service), a 5-min drive to the hotel.

The staff are mostly proficient in English. They are also very knowledgeable about local attractions such as the night market and Taroko Gorge tours and are happy to give recommendations and help with booking upon request. Upon check-in, a staff member made an error charging my card, but called once we reached our room to correct it immediately. Facilities are basic but room decorations are tastefully chosen. The elevator is quick, efficient, and never congested.

A few minuses that didn't really soil our experience at Cullinan:
Windows are small; they're not there for a view! Breakfast is understandably basic but could nonetheless be a little tastier. Pillows are on the quite firm side. To really get into details, our blanket covers were totally open at one end and were coming apart a bit at the seams.

We would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bleucheeseza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CullinanHotel, A.M. at Cullinan Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post a review following your recent vacation at cullinan hotel

I am delighted to learn that you and your sister thoroughly enjoyed the hotel, many thanks for your gracious words regarding the hotel and our colleagues.

Once again thank you for your comments and I also would like to thank you on behalf of the team, your words will not only motivate these colleagues but the entire team. We certainly look forward to welcoming you and your family back to cullinan hotel hualien hopefully in the very near future.

Regards

Eli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    63
    18
    2
    4
See reviews for
46
30
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Enjoyed the stay at the hotel.
Good location and the room was very clean.
The staff were very efficient and helpful.

The breakfast can be improved.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mitch58128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CullinanHotel, A.M. at Cullinan Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay at Cullinan hotel Hualien

I am of course most concerned to learn of your disappointment and would like to extend my sincere apologies for the breakfast , for that our hotel recently is focus on the variety of the choice for the breakfast


Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention regarding some of our breakfast choice

We certainly look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and serving you again in the very near future.

regards

Eli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We enjoyed our two-night stay at the Cullinan Hotel in Hualien. The room was clean and warm, and the staff were helpful. Free wifi was a bonus, although it was a bit slow at times.

Location wise, the hotel is about a 25 minute walk from the train station. It is an easy walk if you don't have very much luggage (we have two small suitcases) and provides a nice way to see the city. The hotel is also opposite a big mall (which has a food court in the basement) and very close to a supermarket and lots of bakeries.

The only real downside was that the breakfast (included in our room rate) was not very warm - there were cooked sausages and bacon available, but the containers they had been kept in were not turned on, so they were nearly cold. Not a big problem though!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bad-Jelly-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CullinanHotel, A.M. at Cullinan Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest

thank you to taking the time to share your experience with us, it our pleasure to have you to stay with us, regards of the breakfast, we are apologize for the inconvenient , our hotel has provide free shuttle service to train station .

regards

Eli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This hotel is a great value for a stay in Hualien/visit to Taroko Gorge. The staff was very helpful. Rooms are clean and decent--nothing special but for the price, no complaints. The breakfast is nothing special but there is some bread, eggs for those who don't prefer the Chinese options--and good coffee. Nice location, close to various restaurants and places in town. The night market in Hualien is awesome...but it is a bit of a walk and you have to go under a bridge, so you may want to go via taxi. Definitely worth a visit! Cute little outdoor bar and pizza place called Tiger Bar right around the corner from the hotel too.

Hotel offers complimentary transfer to/from train station. Very good value and I'd highly recommend it.

Room Tip: our room was next to elevator which was not so great as we heard people waiting for it early in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAMFLFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CullinanHotel, A.M. at Cullinan Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay in Cullinan hotel Hualien. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and delighted to note that you will be returning in the near future.

In particular, I am happy to learn of your feedback relating to our facilities and services provided throughout the hotel, we certainly take great pleasure in ensuring your expectations are exceeded and I sincerely appreciate your acknowledgements in this regard.

once again thank you to stay with us

Regards

Eli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Pros:
Staff was great. Helped us change plans last minute and upgraded us to a quad room.
Room was clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was delicious.

Cons:
Hotel was a little far away from things. Website says walking distance to train station, if one wants to walk 30 minutes with bags. Also a 30 minute walk to coast and to the night market.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CullinanHotel, A.M. at Cullinan Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest

once again thank you to give us a review, in future our hotel will start to arrange the night market drop off service, however our hotel have free shuttle service to train station. again thank you to choosing to stay with us, we hope to see you again

Wish you has a great Xmas

regards

Eli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Customer service at counter need to be improve. 少了一点亲切感,但是那各小胖子、黑眼镜还不错,gd example
My room wifi very weak
Breakfast almost same everyday

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Danielhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CullinanHotel, A.M. at Cullinan Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you to leave a review for us, regarding of the WIFI , we already mention to the department to fix the issue, of the breakfast , our hotel has put more western food than easten choice. once again its our pleasure to have you to stay with us

hope to see you again

warm regards

Eli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Reached this hotel early at 12pm plus and was told that room was not ready. So we went for lunch and it is ready by 230pm. Staff is friendly and the room is clean. We stayed in a family room for 4 nights. Location of the hotel is good if you do not have children, you can walk to the heart of the town, night market and even train station.
There is a 7-11 nearby. a small shopping centre with food court and a taxi station. The staff from 7-11 recommend a taxi driver to me to bring us around. Well it was my 1st time there so why not try. Price was a little high as compared to other drivers, booking taxi there range from $2500-$3500. I was charge $3500 which i think part of it will be a kick back for the staff in 7-11.
Finally we met the driver in the morning and we are late but he waited patiently and he is an old man in the 60s.
As usual he start to ask if we have been to Hualien and where do we want to go. He is a nice old man and very patient likewise to his driving. So he plan our very 1st outing in Hualien and went to 七星潭, Taroko. Best part is he help me book a restaurant which is operated by the tribes. It is a very quite place with no tour bus and crowds, really very enjoyable lunch.
Most of the time he will offer to entertain my 4yr old son which me and my wife can enjoy looking at scenery.
So for our 2nd day outing , we decided to ask him to bring us out again since he us really friendly and introduce a lot of Hualien history to us. As usual he will bring us to some of the places which do not have tour groups visiting and it is really nice.
For those who are new to Hualien do book this uncle , Mr Zhong 0920-730773 if he fit your budget.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank africatwin69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CullinanHotel, A.M. at Cullinan Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest

i am delight to know how memorable journey that you and your family had, its our pleasure to having you and your family, to visit hualien in near future. once again thank you to choosing to stay with us . and thank you to share all the information to all the new visitors and your positive review

warm Regards

Eli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
0.6 mi away
Lige Hotel
Lige Hotel
#10 of 130 in Hualien County
169 reviews
0.4 mi away
CJ Hotel
CJ Hotel
#22 of 130 in Hualien County
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lienfook Hostelry Hualien
Lienfook Hostelry Hualien
#62 of 130 in Hualien County
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Li Shiuan International Hotel
Li Shiuan International Hotel
#8 of 130 in Hualien County
247 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hualien Charming City Hotel
Hualien Charming City Hotel
#29 of 130 in Hualien County
110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Byeyer Hotel
Byeyer Hotel
#33 of 130 in Hualien County
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cullinan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cullinan Hotel

Property: Cullinan Hotel
Address: No. 126, Linsen Road, Hualien City, Hualien County 970, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 130 Hotels in Hualien County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cullinan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cullinan hotel is well-positioned in Hualien City, Cullinan Hotel is the ideal point of departure for your excursions in Hualien City. With its location just 1km from the city center and 8km from the airport, hotel attracts numerous travelers each year. For those of you who want to venture out, Pine Garden, Hualien Train Station, Meiluen Shan Nature Park are just some of the attractions available to visitors.Cullinan Hotel offers impeccable service and all the essential amenities to invigorate travelers. While lodging at this wonderful property, guests can enjoy elevator, car park, airport transfer, tours, family room.48 rooms spread over 7 floors provide a warm and pleasant home away from home and modern comforts such as desk, complimentary bottled water, bathtub, mini bar, television. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. With an ideal location and facilities to match, Cullinan Hotel hits the spot in many ways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cullinan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing