We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very helpful host” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taroko Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hualien
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taroko Lodge
Save
You added Taroko Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #8 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Hualien
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1,435 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 823 helpful votes
“Very helpful host”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Mr Rihang is a very helpful man - he gives transfers (often free depending on distance), sorted out my hiking permit for the Vertigo trail and also even went out and picked up some noodles and a beer for dinner for me when it turned out that I hadn't realised that the lodge doesn't offer evening meals!

His emails to me always ended "do not worry", and this seems to be his mantra! To create a peace-of-mind and low-hassle way to visit Taroko gorge.

The lodge itself is a very cute building, the room is fine (although not luxurious).

Do wear a LOT of repellent in the evenings! This place is semi-rural and whilst its nice to hear the sound of insects to accompany your evening meal rather than cars and people I got absolutely bitten on every patch of exposed skin. Very itchy!

He also keeps four dogs which can be enthusiastic so bear that in mind too if you don't like animals!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Waddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    19
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
27
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights at Rihang's minsu. A bit of delay to start our journey from Taipei to Xincheng/Hualien. But Rihang was kind enough to buy us lunch at Yilan! The minsu is well kept, the rooms are spacious, the yard is huge. We 4 guys decided to bunk into 1 room, to help Rihang to save the housekeeping work for the other room. Rihang chauffeured us around and tried very hard to make sure we enjoy the stay and activities in Taroko and Hualien. He was very nice to allow us to use his bicycles and showed us the way from his minsu to the seaside. His minsu is a bit off the main road, there is a 7-11 convenient store within a 2-3min drive which Rihang would happily stop by before we go back to his minsu. The Taroko National Park is just 5-6min drive from his minsu...thanks Rihang!!! :-)
Just one comment, our group was 8 persons, the minivan that we travelled in was a small one, it would have been challenging if we were to travel far into Qingjing area with those winding roads! ^^"

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Keith_W_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We will always remember our host to be the most friendly person in Taiwan. The room is somewhat affordable for its luxurious space and cleanliness. What scores the most is the close proximity to the Taroko gorge. It took us only 5 minutes to the site from the lodge. I love the simple breakkie which the host prepared for us according to the time we wanted - 10 am.

If you are not driving, it is challenging to get food and supplies as there are none that are nearby. It is indeed a sleepy town but i believe the host can assist to drive you around. You can head to careffour supermarket with a ten minutes drive.

Overall, i think you should try this lodge!! Amazing place. Amazing host.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dyass84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel is located right in the middle of the Gorge. This is very convenient as you can stay inside the gorge longer. The hotel is modern and our room was nice. We faced the gorge so the view was quite spectacular.
Our room was not ready in-time so -1 star for that. They offered us afternoon tea while we were waiting which was nice +1 star but they didn't offer to comp it so -1 star again.
Our stay included dinner and breakfast - both were yummy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing towards outside of the hotel, not the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shaulke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Taroko Lodge is all you can wish for if you come to this neck of the woods to explore breathtaking Taroko National Park. Host Rihang Su is amazing! From very swiftly answering our booking inquiry, reserving without security deposit, picking us up from the station, giving us a comfy room an, lots of advice it was all perfect. The best: Rihang took us to the head of the trail, picked us up again, suggested a fantastic bike ride, made sure we got to the right starting point and, incredibly, took us all the way across the fantastic mountain ridge to the west side and Sun Moon Lake (which was rather disappointing after the great Taroko experience). Rihang also drove his guests to Hualien for many dinner choices - the PERFECT host! we highly recommend him!

Room Tip: we stayed on the ground floor, right behind e veranda - nothing left to be desired
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christiane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This lodge is in close proximity to the ocean and gorgeous Taroko National park . The host drives you up to the mountain, and provides you with bikes so that you can bike down 100 km through breathtaking scenery.
Accommodation is spacious, clean, with air conditioning and shower, a western type property.
We enjoyed staying there very much. Rihang Su is a fantastic host. Thanks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatureLoverN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The main reason I chose homestay over a luxury hotel is that you can experience the real life of the local people. Taroko Lodge doesn't really have a luxury bathroom with bathtub or a carpeted hotel room. The room serves all the basic needs and it is clean. Taroko Lodge is near all the Taroko trails but it is not near the Hualian town. There are some local eatery around and a 7-11. There is nothing much around the area when the night falls. If you want to have some night activities, then you should chose to stay in Hualian town instead. Rihang is a exceptional host. He brought us eat local food and drive us to 7-11 to purchase all the snacks. We book a 1 day tour with him and he brought us around Taroko. He took good care of the old people in my group and try to accommodate to whatever request made. This really made my job easier.

I would say Rihang did a very good hosting. Although it was only a 2 day 1 night trip, I can feel his sincerity. I would come again to Taroko for more intensive trekking. I would definitely stay in Taroko Lodge again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ygal_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien hotels
0.0 mi away
Silks Place Taroko
Silks Place Taroko
#3 of 123 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 973 reviews
0.2 mi away
Taroko Art Hostel Hualien
Taroko Art Hostel Hualien
#71 of 123 in Hualien
3.5 of 5 stars 2 reviews
5.1 mi away
Leader Village Taroko
Leader Village Taroko
#15 of 123 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
9.3 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
1.9 mi away
Crossing the Rainbow Bridge Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taroko Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taroko Lodge

Property: Taroko Lodge
Address: Minzhi NO. 35-5 Xiulin, Hualien 97252, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Taroko Lodge .Services and price :RoomOne room / night accommodation 1~2 people prices TWD: 2000. ( Including breakfast )One room / night accommodation 3~4 people prices TWD: 3500. ( Including breakfast )BikeA .Rental bike Price TWD: 350 ( Each )B. Take you and Bike to Peak (Tianxiang) Price TWD: 700.( Each ) Hiking Application mountaineering permit (Jhuilu Trail), require your name / ID / birthdayEach is TWD: 500.Jhuilu Trail transfers Each is TWD: 500. Please take the train arrived at the Xincheng train station,I'll pick you up, do not worry.To E-mail me the time of arrival.My English not good , Sorry .Thank you ! Cheers,Rihang ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing