We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Warm, friendly accomodation -perfect for your taroko adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taroko Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hualien
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taroko Lodge
Save
You added Taroko Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #8 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Hualien
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly accomodation -perfect for your taroko adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We will always remember our host to be the most friendly person in Taiwan. The room is somewhat affordable for its luxurious space and cleanliness. What scores the most is the close proximity to the Taroko gorge. It took us only 5 minutes to the site from the lodge. I love the simple breakkie which the host prepared for us according to the time we wanted - 10 am.

If you are not driving, it is challenging to get food and supplies as there are none that are nearby. It is indeed a sleepy town but i believe the host can assist to drive you around. You can head to careffour supermarket with a ten minutes drive.

Overall, i think you should try this lodge!! Amazing place. Amazing host.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dyass84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    19
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
27
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel is located right in the middle of the Gorge. This is very convenient as you can stay inside the gorge longer. The hotel is modern and our room was nice. We faced the gorge so the view was quite spectacular.
Our room was not ready in-time so -1 star for that. They offered us afternoon tea while we were waiting which was nice +1 star but they didn't offer to comp it so -1 star again.
Our stay included dinner and breakfast - both were yummy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing towards outside of the hotel, not the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shaulke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Taroko Lodge is all you can wish for if you come to this neck of the woods to explore breathtaking Taroko National Park. Host Rihang Su is amazing! From very swiftly answering our booking inquiry, reserving without security deposit, picking us up from the station, giving us a comfy room an, lots of advice it was all perfect. The best: Rihang took us to the head of the trail, picked us up again, suggested a fantastic bike ride, made sure we got to the right starting point and, incredibly, took us all the way across the fantastic mountain ridge to the west side and Sun Moon Lake (which was rather disappointing after the great Taroko experience). Rihang also drove his guests to Hualien for many dinner choices - the PERFECT host! we highly recommend him!

Room Tip: we stayed on the ground floor, right behind e veranda - nothing left to be desired
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christiane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This lodge is in close proximity to the ocean and gorgeous Taroko National park . The host drives you up to the mountain, and provides you with bikes so that you can bike down 100 km through breathtaking scenery.
Accommodation is spacious, clean, with air conditioning and shower, a western type property.
We enjoyed staying there very much. Rihang Su is a fantastic host. Thanks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatureLoverN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The main reason I chose homestay over a luxury hotel is that you can experience the real life of the local people. Taroko Lodge doesn't really have a luxury bathroom with bathtub or a carpeted hotel room. The room serves all the basic needs and it is clean. Taroko Lodge is near all the Taroko trails but it is not near the Hualian town. There are some local eatery around and a 7-11. There is nothing much around the area when the night falls. If you want to have some night activities, then you should chose to stay in Hualian town instead. Rihang is a exceptional host. He brought us eat local food and drive us to 7-11 to purchase all the snacks. We book a 1 day tour with him and he brought us around Taroko. He took good care of the old people in my group and try to accommodate to whatever request made. This really made my job easier.

I would say Rihang did a very good hosting. Although it was only a 2 day 1 night trip, I can feel his sincerity. I would come again to Taroko for more intensive trekking. I would definitely stay in Taroko Lodge again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ygal_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Really great host Rihang Su made the difference during my girlfriend and I's stay at Taroko Gorge. He picked us up at Hualien Train Station since he was in town anyway, and on the way to his wonderfully tucked away lodge, he stopped to let us have a nice view of the sea coast which NE Taiwan is famous for. While communication could be challenging at times, Rihang was able to understand most of what we said, and wanted us to enjoy our stay. Lodging for one room was 2000 NTD per room, and bike rentals were 350 NTD per day. (This may be subject to change) While it may be a little bit steep for the true budget traveler, it is on par with the cost of hotels in Hualien, and is a bargain with Rihang taking care of you, and driving you to dinner and to the train station. I will remember my visit to Taroko fondly due to my stay at Taroko Lodge.

Another person staying at the lodge did have some trouble sleeping since you could hear the neighbor's roosters crowing very early, so if you are a light sleeper you may want to bring some ear plugs.

Room Tip: We stayed in the side house that was built by the pond for a little more privacy. You do have to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travel_fish_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
230 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We got pick up at shing chang station and we were given a quick tour if the surrounding . Since there was a big group Rihang was very thoughtful to put us at the cottage :-) it is very comfortable we were able to use bike for free to go to the park. And we applied hiking permit in advanced fir a nuce hike . And the best must do is get the bike and had rihang drive you to the end of the park and ride back!! it is onky 700ntd per person and you won't regret doing it :-) as you can hike and easier to ride from that direction and can stop anytime for pictures :-) we are glad to listen to rihang'S advice and did it. As that was the highlight of our stay!
Rihang is so passion abiut his job and tried very hard to make everyine haopy. We are very inspired by his passion and happiness. He even drove us out for better dinner chices without charging us fir the transpirtation. Taroko gorge is amazing and if you can book with Rihang's place (Taroko lodge) do so. You won't be disappiinted :-)
O.s. His english might not be good but he trys!! should nit be an big issue :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunshinelpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien hotels
9.8 mi away
Silks Place Taroko
Silks Place Taroko
#3 of 122 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 953 reviews
5.1 mi away
Leader Village Taroko
Leader Village Taroko
#13 of 122 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
10.7 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Taroko Art Hostel Hualien
Taroko Art Hostel Hualien
#71 of 122 in Hualien
3.5 of 5 stars 2 reviews
9.3 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
1.9 mi away
Crossing the Rainbow Bridge Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taroko Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taroko Lodge

Property: Taroko Lodge
Address: Minzhi NO. 35-5 Xiulin, Hualien 97252, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Taroko Lodge .Services and price :RoomOne room / night accommodation 1~2 people prices TWD: 2000. ( Including breakfast )One room / night accommodation 3~4 people prices TWD: 3500. ( Including breakfast )BikeA .Rental bike Price TWD: 350 ( Each )B. Take you and Bike to Peak (Tianxiang) Price TWD: 700.( Each ) Hiking Application mountaineering permit (Jhuilu Trail), require your name / ID / birthdayEach is TWD: 500.Jhuilu Trail transfers Each is TWD: 500. Please take the train arrived at the Xincheng train station,I'll pick you up, do not worry.To E-mail me the time of arrival.My English not good , Sorry .Thank you ! Cheers,Rihang ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing