We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Simple pleasures” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tienhsiang Youth Activity Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tienhsiang Youth Activity Center
Ranked #53 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Hualien
Taipei
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Simple pleasures”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This was my second stay at TIenhsiang (last visit in summer 2006). While the common area was a little run-down, my room was clean with all the bathroom necessities. It had a magnificent view overlooking the mountains and a little church nearby. It has, in my opinion, the best location amongst the establishments in Taroko. The meals were very decent, albeit simple, and breakfast was buffet-style. They also have a little convenience store and a cafe that only opens at certain hours. The staff were friendly and helpful - they also provide hassle-free temporary luggage storage. Definitely a great place to stay!

Room Tip: student prices available if you show your student pass
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank airotciv86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

My girlfriend and I rented a scooter (NT500 for 24 hours) in Hualein and drove up the gorge. We loved the views and, although some would be afraid of the narrow road, we took it all in as an experience. It surely was one of my favorites drives.

Tienhsiang is very small. We saw three hotels and not many more options to eat. The other hotel nearby was clearly nicer, for example it has a rooftop pool, but is probably much more expensive. Perhaps it is worth it if your looking for a mountain retreat or where to rest after hiking trails for days on end.

My girlfriend and I preferred this hotel which, as its name implies, is probably a place where large groups of students come and get to know more about their country and history. Since it was weekday and not the holiday season there were barely any other guests in this large hotel. The western food was ok for what we have found in Taiwan and, again, there weren't many more options.

I strongly recommend the Taroko Gorge and trying to do it in a scooter to get the full experience, but would suggest this hotel and Tienhsiang in general just as a quick stop in this beautiful park.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juantwomany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

I love this hotel, simply because of its clean, good price and the view is a wow for me. I had a very good sleep here. Along the night, i could hear the sound of river; during the day, i could hear the birdsong. Also, the air is fresh and i could open the window for the whole night.
I stayed in a dorm room, it has 4 single beds, but i was so lucky because there was no other guests, so its just me.

The food in restaurant is okay, and huge; the price of each meal is 150NT. but the room comes with breakfast.

How to get here: take bus from hualien train station. The route is Tienshiang.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J2NN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

Stayed here on the recommendation of Lonely Planet and the Rough Guides. Simple complex in the heart of the Taroko Gorge National Park. Fluffy duvets, beautiful views right into the gorge - you can hear the stream. Clean bathrooms with delicious water pressure, refrigerator, water heater, etc. Delicious Chinese breakfast buffet, concierge was helpful and gave us directions to trails in the area. Ask for student discounts. Great for budget travelers, because you're not spending much but you feel pretty awesome. This place also has the best value restaurant in Tienhsiang (which doesn't really say much because Tienhsiang has a dearth of affordable food), with really delicious set lunches and dinners.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cestdrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien hotels
0.2 mi away
Silks Place Taroko
Silks Place Taroko
#3 of 123 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 978 reviews
5.0 mi away
Leader Village Taroko
Leader Village Taroko
#14 of 123 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
10.1 mi away
Taroko Art Hostel Hualien
Taroko Art Hostel Hualien
#72 of 123 in Hualien
3.5 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Liwu Hotel Hualien
Liwu Hotel Hualien
#60 of 123 in Hualien
3.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
15.1 mi away
Mini Voyage Hostel
Mini Voyage Hostel
#1 of 118 in Hualien
5.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
10.1 mi away
Crossing the Rainbow Bridge Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tienhsiang Youth Activity Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tienhsiang Youth Activity Center

Property: Tienhsiang Youth Activity Center
Address: No.30 Tienhsiang Road, XiuLin Town, Hualien, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tienhsiang Youth Activity Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing