We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Stay, Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tienhsiang Youth Activity Center
Reviewed September 3, 2011

My girlfriend and I rented a scooter (NT500 for 24 hours) in Hualein and drove up the gorge. We loved the views and, although some would be afraid of the narrow road, we took it all in as an experience. It surely was one of my favorites drives.

Tienhsiang is very small. We saw three hotels and not many more options to eat. The other hotel nearby was clearly nicer, for example it has a rooftop pool, but is probably much more expensive. Perhaps it is worth it if your looking for a mountain retreat or where to rest after hiking trails for days on end.

My girlfriend and I preferred this hotel which, as its name implies, is probably a place where large groups of students come and get to know more about their country and history. Since it was weekday and not the holiday season there were barely any other guests in this large hotel. The western food was ok for what we have found in Taiwan and, again, there weren't many more options.

I strongly recommend the Taroko Gorge and trying to do it in a scooter to get the full experience, but would suggest this hotel and Tienhsiang in general just as a quick stop in this beautiful park.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juantwomany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 37 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2011

I love this hotel, simply because of its clean, good price and the view is a wow for me. I had a very good sleep here. Along the night, i could hear the sound of river; during the day, i could hear the birdsong. Also, the air is fresh and i could open the window for the whole night.
I stayed in a dorm room, it has 4 single beds, but i was so lucky because there was no other guests, so its just me.

The food in restaurant is okay, and huge; the price of each meal is 150NT. but the room comes with breakfast.

How to get here: take bus from hualien train station. The route is Tienshiang.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J2NN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Stayed here on the recommendation of Lonely Planet and the Rough Guides. Simple complex in the heart of the Taroko Gorge National Park. Fluffy duvets, beautiful views right into the gorge - you can hear the stream. Clean bathrooms with delicious water pressure, refrigerator, water heater, etc. Delicious Chinese breakfast buffet, concierge was helpful and gave us directions to trails in the area. Ask for student discounts. Great for budget travelers, because you're not spending much but you feel pretty awesome. This place also has the best value restaurant in Tienhsiang (which doesn't really say much because Tienhsiang has a dearth of affordable food), with really delicious set lunches and dinners.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cestdrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
Thank Maylidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ring L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
Thank JulianneWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
Thank Antonia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
0.3 mi away
Silks Place Taroko
Silks Place Taroko
#5 of 136 in Hualien County
1,336 reviews
5.1 mi away
Taroko Village Hotel
Taroko Village Hotel
#15 of 136 in Hualien County
210 reviews
15.8 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
#4 of 136 in Hualien County
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hualien Liwu Hostel
Hualien Liwu Hostel
#47 of 136 in Hualien County
37 reviews
15.4 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#18 of 136 in Hualien County
278 reviews
16.0 mi away
Lakeshore Hotel
Lakeshore Hotel
#13 of 136 in Hualien County
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tienhsiang Youth Activity Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tienhsiang Youth Activity Center

Address: No.30 Tienhsiang Road, XiuLin Town, Hualien County, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 223 Specialty Lodging in Hualien County
Price Range: $125 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tienhsiang Youth Activity Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing