We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, Delicious, Filling and Fast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dai's Dumpling

Dai's Dumpling
Ranked #20 of 460 Restaurants in Hualien
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Taiwanese, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cheap, Delicious, Filling and Fast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I'm not sure what else to say other than the above.
One bamboo basket of 10 dumplings for only 50NT!!!
What more you want!? Stop reading and go take a bite! xD

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 7-OO-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    27
    16
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Simple & Pleasant Meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The simple shop served only one type of dumpling in 2 sizes - big or small. The dumplings came in a clear soup base. It was quite tasty and made for a light meal if you don't want anything too heavy!

The shop had a long history with lots of media info on its owners and the famous people that came by to try the dumplings. But it won't be something I would come back again and again to eat.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank twofeathersSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Awesome dumplings in Hualien”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I"m pretty sure this is the place that i went to... since i don't read Chinese I am guessing this is it since the place i went to was a famous dumpling house and this is a famous dumpling house. If you look at the attached picture it will have the information on it.... just show it to the cab driver.

as people mentioned it is only 60 .. approx $2USD to get a bowl which contains about 10 dumplings with some awesome soup. the service is really quick. there is only 1 item on the menu so they have this stream lined to a science.

it is 1/2 a block off the main shopping street.

enjoy!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hue95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Little dumplings with an explosive taste. And cheap!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank maylee32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent & Easy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Don't be put off by appearances. This place looks shabby but the food is great. It also couldn't be easier to have an authentic local experience, as you simply tell them how many people, find a seat and in fairly shortly order they bring you that many bowls of wontons in soup. The two kids we had with us both cleaned out their bowls (as did all four adults), so it must have been good. And cheap - about NTD60 (approx USD$2) per person. Your hotel will be able to write out the name of this place for you to show a taxi driver if you don't speak Chinese - eating here is very quick (20-30 minutes for us) so we just asked our driver to wait for us and then went out to the local night markets.

Helpful?
Thank DavidTravellingOften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dai's Dumpling also viewed

 
Hualien, Taiwan
Hualien, Taiwan
 

Been to Dai's Dumpling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing