We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beautiful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Errantry Lodge & Studio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Errantry Lodge & Studio
Ranked #2 of 1,362 Hualien B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
“Beautiful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed 2 night and Mr and Mrs 簡 (Owner) were extremely hospitable and helpful.
Greek room we booked was spacious and clean.
And yes, Mrs 簡 is an excellent cook, breakfast were excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NongLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
101
99
20
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Errantry Lodge & Studio is one of the best minsu in Hualien! They serve awesome breakfast and Arthur (the boss) is very approachable, welcoming and friendly. We stayed at the Bali room and it was gorgeous! The toilet was so big! I'll definitely head back to Errantry in the future!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JordanTong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We didn't have a good start with the Lodge. A misunderstanding on the part of the driver caused us to wait for 35 minutes on arrival for their pick-up. We had flown into Taipei from Hong Kong early morning and had taken both buses and train in order to get to Hualien. We were exhausted so the wait didn't help :-(

Nevertheless, the rest of the stay was perfect. I am impressed with Arthur's dedication.

We hired the driver Ms. Ho for two days and she did a great job showing us around.

I have only one suggestion for the Greek Room that we were in - please improve on lighting as it's too dim for reading or computer work.

My family and I now look forward to receiving the photos from the photo shoot with Arthur.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaSommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at Errantry Lodge for 2 nights in Dec'13 with my family-6 of us in total into 2 rooms. We had the Greek & Cartoon room.This place really left a lasting impression on all of us. Much attention to details is paid to the decor of the whole place. The rooms was very clean and pleasent and bed was really comfortable. The owners, Arthur and Theresa and family stays just next door and they are the most hospitable people we've encounteered.

Authur is always there to welcome us back and tries his best to recomend places to go and things to do while we're at Hua Lian. He takes time out to share a cup of tea he brewed with us and chat with us about our day/s. His wife, Theresa cooks the most wonderful breakfasts that is very professionally presented as well. Beats many of the other Min Shu and hotels we stayed at hands down. This place is a keeper and we highly recomend this place. You can communicate with Arther easily if you need directions etc to his place.

Room Tip: No lift so be mindful of which room you choose. Japan room is on the ground floor but it may be noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Von37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Our family of 7 stayed one night at Errantry; we booked 3 rooms (Greek, Aborigine and Cartoon) and they turn out to be quite spectacular. The rooms were spacious, very clean and well decorated. The beds were large and comfortable. The bathrooms were large and clean as well. The host, Arthur (who stayed at the house next door) was very welcoming and hospitable, making us feel right at home.
We loved the homemade taiwanese breakfast the next morning. It was delicious and we finished every single morsel of food :)
After breakfast, Arthur recommended we cycled around the area and offered us the use of his bicycles (5). That really cap off our memorable trip to Hualien. We will definetely stay here again and I would strongly recommend this minshu to all who are travelling through Hualien.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieChen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is the best B&Bs and Inns that I have ever stayed in Taiwan. It offers great hospitality and you will feel that you are being at home. The owner is great at providing excellent services but also keep a comfortable distance from your stay. Excellent.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms at ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is my first time staying at a Minsu and the hospitality my friend and I received is beyond our expectation. We really enjoyed ourselves tremendously in this minsu. Everything is so well thought off by the owners - the decoration of the dining area and the rooms, the breakfast, the selection of music, the photography session and the CD that Arthur sent us after the trip. A perfect place to stay while exploring the beauty of Hualien! I will be back soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank puipuijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien hotels
2.5 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
3.5 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
1.1 mi away
White Palace B&B
White Palace B&B
#1 of 1,362 in Hualien
5.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Innjoy Villa
Innjoy Villa
#6 of 1,362 in Hualien
5.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jasmine orange B&B
Jasmine orange B&B
#3 of 1,362 in Hualien
5.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
1.6 mi away
Star and Mist B&B
Star and Mist B&B
#7 of 1,362 in Hualien
5.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Errantry Lodge & Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Errantry Lodge & Studio

Property: Errantry Lodge & Studio
Address: No. 50 Jiande Street, Hualien 970, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 1,362 B&Bs / Inns in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not just a home stay, but a photographic tour of artistic humanities! Every hectic city life deserves a tour of slow living, like the protagonist of Cartoon room in Errantry, walking into a forest of beautiful peach blossoms, be intimate with nature, and relish the leisure......and unbeknownst to you, your original innocence and genuineness have been captured in the photographer's lens..... Slow City of Hualien ♥Worth your stay of a time ♥ Free Portrait Photograph Taking Service We are looking forward to your stay in Hualien. A stay of two nights or more in Errantry Lodge will entitle you to a free portrait service by Arthur, the owner of Errantry, which includes 10 sets of photograph. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Errantry Lodge & Studio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing