We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The rating doesn't lie”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Errantry Lodge & Studio
Ranked #2 of 1,651 Hualien County B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Once I looked at the 44/44 excellent rating, I had to try this B&B. Everything that the other reviews mentioned is spot on. The owners are very friendly and go the extra distance to make sure your stay is comfortable and memorable. The room is very clean, tidy and decorated to perfection. The breakfast is so good that this alone is worth coming back to. Overall, the best B&B in Hualien and maybe the whole Taiwan!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank arief_probo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 504 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

Today , my family and I stayed in HuaLien , the Errantry Lodge & Studio minsu. There were only few words that we used to describe it : Errantry Lodge & Studio is Fantastic!
The minsu owner is very friendly and looks into every detail.
I can simply just tell you : You will regret if you don't stay in this minsu.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic, any will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ng0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I love everything in Hualien, esp everything in Erranty Loadge. As the owner of this B&B, Arthur is so responsible and considrate. The spacious and clean room, the incredible freshly-prepared breakfast, the beautiful natural environment surrouding it, gave me and my husband an amazing getaway weekend.
Wish we had more time to stay.
We will go to Arthur's place definitly next time.

Room Tip: there only 5 rooms of different themes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sissiwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The breakfast sandwich is made from freshly cut bread, and meat or egg are just off the frying pan, brought to the table by the host. Fruits are freshly cut and served in delicate china ware. Dining room decorations are artistically placed, showing the taste of the owner. Guests will also receive a set of photo take in studio free of charge, making your stay in the lodge a memorable experience. A lodge that I certainly will come back when I go to Hualien next time.

Room Tip: View the pictures to select the room you like. Set priorities cos the room may be booked by others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BenLai1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have only praises for Errantry Lodge!

My boyfriend and I stayed two nights in the Greek room (from 13 to 15 Sep), which was spacious, well-decorated and not to forget, immaculate in terms of cleanliness. It surprised us that the room in its physical condition was reflective of the pictures shown to us on TripAdvisor - maybe even better. Even though we arrived at earlier than the usual check-in time (at 3pm) Mr. Kan and his wife welcomed us with great warmth and hospitality, for which we were grateful for after a long overnight flight coupled with a 2.5hr train ride from Taipei to Hualien. On our last night in Hualien, Mr. Kan invited us up to his photo studio for a casual photo shoot, and even took it upon himself to stay up late that night to edit the pictures so that we may receive them before we left to catch our 8am train back to Taipei.

Of all the B&Bs we have stayed at before, Errantry Lodge is one of the best around. Awesome breakfast, excellent service with a personal touch to it. We will be back, for sure :)

Thank you for the memories!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vantmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Wonderful service by the hosts. :) Very comfortable rooms. Overall, a cozy B&B. Breakfast is nutritious and home-cooked. We miss the breakfast! Our stay at the lodge includes a set of photos taken at the studio located on the top floor of the B&B. Arthur is a great photographer. We had lovely family photos taken by him. :)

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mskmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I am a 20-year-old girl from Hong Kong. I just came back from Taiwan after my 2-month trip. It’s a wonderful experience working in Errantry Lodge and enjoying a vacation in Hualien.

I remembered that in March, I got an email from Mr. Kan asking me if I was interested in having a working holiday in his B&B. (I registered as a member of KiTaiwan.) I immediately said yes because I had no planning for my long summer vacation and thought that it must be a great experience travelling alone.

There’s one (sometimes two) helper(s) each month assisting in the daily operation of Errantry Lodge. Room and board is provided. Jobs include preparing breakfast for guests (mostly prepared by Mrs. Kan and Ruby, their maid), washing dishes, looking after (just playing with) their lovely children Jam and Jelly when they’re busy, and assisting Ruby tidying the room, and doing some computer work etc. I sometimes brought Jelly to swim in the nearby swimming pool! Every day after 3pm, it’s your rest time. You can choose to take a rest or ride on a bicycle exploring Hualien and enjoying the rural life.

In the trip, I met so many good people, both local and tourists like me. It’s a bonus to me making friends from different places.

Hualien is a place for you to relax.
Errantry Lodge is a home away from home.
Explore. Dream. Discover.

PS. Thank you Kan’s Family for bringing me such an unforgettable experience. I will be back! Haha.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
3  Thank kaytravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
3.5 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
#4 of 137 in Hualien County
1,633 reviews
1.1 mi away
White Palace B&B
White Palace B&B
#1 of 1,651 in Hualien County
630 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jasmine orange B&B
Jasmine orange B&B
#3 of 1,651 in Hualien County
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Huxi B&B
Huxi B&B
#8 of 1,651 in Hualien County
444 reviews
1.6 mi away
Star and Mist B&B
Star and Mist B&B
#6 of 1,651 in Hualien County
239 reviews
12.1 mi away
Villa of Permaculture
Villa of Permaculture
#4 of 1,651 in Hualien County
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Errantry Lodge & Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Errantry Lodge & Studio

Address: No. 50 Jiande Street, Hualien County 970, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 1,651 B&Bs / Inns in Hualien County
Price Range: $91 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not just a home stay, but a photographic tour of artistic humanities! Every hectic city life deserves a tour of slow living, like the protagonist of Cartoon room in Errantry, walking into a forest of beautiful peach blossoms, be intimate with nature, and relish the leisure......and unbeknownst to you, your original innocence and genuineness have been captured in the photographer's lens..... Slow City of Hualien ♥Worth your stay of a time ♥ Free Portrait Photograph Taking Service We are looking forward to your stay in Hualien. A stay of two nights or more in Errantry Lodge will entitle you to a free portrait service by Arthur, the owner of Errantry, which includes 10 sets of photograph. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Errantry Lodge & Studio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing