We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hualien Sunrise Hostel
Ranked #96 of 1,609 Hualien County B&B and Inns
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Outstanding value for money”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 12 nights. Very good location with swimming pool and restaurants on site. Room very spacious and clean..concierge service very informative.would thoroughly recommend.
Make sure that you ask for directions to the magic waterfalls.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    48
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
25
34
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My experience with Sunrise is quite good even before i fly to Taiwan. If you happen to read the news that the Suhua highway to Hualien was damaged due to erosion and all train tickets are fully booked as trains are the only way to travel to Hualien, Rachel had helped to find out the train availability so that i can book in SG when i dropped her an email for help. When there's none available, she comforted me that i can still able to get no seat ticket when i reached the train station as initially i thought all tickets must be seated. Angela, the mother had came to fetch us at the train station when i dropped Rachel an email to ask about transport just 3 hours before i travel to Hualien. I'm thankful as I didn't expect Sunrise will come and fetch us since the email had stated clearly that free transport is only available with 2 days in advance. The minsu is very clean and homely. Rachel greeted us at the front desk and showed us the room. I would think we need to adjust our expectation on a minsu and hotel. We should not expect hotel kind of service on a minsu, minsu means people house, you stayed there is to experience different kind of stay than hotel. I would suggest people to stay in hotel and not minsu if they are expecting hotel quality of service. Indeed, the sewage system in Taiwan is not good, you can see signs telling you not to throw the papers into toilet bowl when you use the public toilet. I don't think the house rules given by Sunrise are unreasonable, or else how Sunrise maintain their cleanliness. I not surprised that no towel is given as there're a few tripadvisor reviews commented that so i brought my own towel. The staircase is pretty high so it will be tedious for some who carried large luggage. The room is definitely very clean and you can see the owner's effort to decorate the room. The room didn't have a good soundproof so you can hear traffic noise and people walking on the room at upper floor. The minsu is 15min walk to Zhiqiang night market, the food is pretty nice and the barbeque meat is worth the wait. Even though, the minsu is not accessible to city, it is not a problem for us as we had done most of our shopping during our Taroko gorge tour. The minsu location is near to train station, about 10min drive. Our train is 6.30am to Taipei, we booked the taxi to send us to train station and within 5min the taxi arrived which only cost NT$100. Overall, the experience staying in Sunrise is very pleasant and me and my fiancé greatly enjoyed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kwan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Sunrise hostel is a pretty and cosy hostel. Room is clean and the owners are very helpful and friendly. Hualien does not have a very extensive transport network so self drive is highly recommended. The water pressure in the bathroom is low and the tap is not working well. The hostel also doesn't provide bath towel, they only provide small towel which is too small for shower

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The lady of this hostel is so nice and lovely, and they are really trying their hardest for making your stay very nice! They gave us a taste of a custardapple :) Only minus: no window in the room...
I don't really remember their being anything nice in the neighbourhood, as it is located on a big road, but the owner drove us around. Nice touch!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Collin1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is a terrible minsu, the worst I have stayed.
There are only two positives about this place: it's pretty and it's clean.
The following are the negatives:

First, THE RULES
Believe it or not, BB Sunrise has RULES
1) No shoes beyond ground level.  That's right, shoes cannot be worn upto the rooms.  They have to be changed to minsu shoes at the foot of the stairs
2) No toilet paper in the toilet bowl.  Soiled toilet tissue cannot be thrown into the toilet bowl, they have to be discarded into the bins next to the toilet bowl.  Imagine the odour!

Second, unhelpful staff
Angela picked us up from the train station.  She saw my eight-year-old struggling with his luggage but there was no offer of help.  When we asked her to recommend some local delicacies, she either couldn't or wouldn't tell us.  She told us to find out for ourselves!

Third, inhospitable atmosphere
We didn't feel welcomed when we first reached.  Maybe they were too worried abt the shoes or toilets.  We met the male owner later but he never smiled at us nor ask if everything was alright.  I felt we were intruding on their privacy.

Fourth, rooms
We were assigned rooms on the fourth floor.  When we forgot to take something, that was 53 steps to climb on the steep and narrow staircase. Some rooms were in the centre of the minsu, which meant they had windows that opened to the corridor, facing the stairs.  Essentially these rooms had no windows.

Fifth, empty reception area
A lot of times, there was no one at the reception.  This together with the facts that the front door locks automatically and they only gave one key per room meant if  I was not with the person holding the key, I might be locked out in the cold.  That would be terrible because there was nothing nearby.  All the shops around were car showrooms or auto related stores.

Sixth, no breakfast
This was not a surprise for us since their website said so but it was a surprise for our Hualien friends.  The location is not convenient to get food.

This is a terrible place to stay.  Obviously, we will never stay at this minsu again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGBudgetTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I have no complain with regard to Minsu, Rachel or even Angela the 管家。The price is very good and we stayed 2 nights there. My only complain is that we were not brought to the Shakadang hike as stated in the brochure for the Taroko Gorge Tour. I was a blur traveller having to take care of my child and only when (after we left) my Hualien friend asked me if I like the Shakadang hike that I realized that we didn't go there. And she said, "aye, that's the best part where the water is still green" (whilst the rest of the water in the gorge was muddy!"
In the morning where we werre supposed to go to Taroko Gorge, the tour guide Paul asked if we want to go to 清水断崖 (extra cost of NT200 each person) since it was a sunny day and I asked him if that would mean we would end our day later. He said yes. So I assume that none of our itinery would be compromised....only to realised after we left that we missed out a wonderful spot. Look like we have to go back there again!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joyann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbsunrise, 業者 at Hualien Sunrise Hostel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback to us^^

About the Shakadang Trail, there is closed due to typhoon since last year, 1 Aug 2012. It reopens on 3 Jan 2013 from 9am.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2012

It was our first visit to Hualien and the hosts made the stay memorable and comfortable. Just 10min car ride from the train station of Hualien, the place was accessible and the host offers to pick us up too! Nearby amenities include the popular Zhi Qiang night market, a Supermarket (open til 12 midnight), a Family Mart and many 古早味 (traditional taiwanese flavoured cuisine) foodstalls. If you are looking for a quaint, chill-out kind of holiday experience to feel the flow of the local Hualien life, this place is for you!

The place is run by a lovely couple Paul (who leads the local tours) and Rachel (who oversees our needs in the minsu). Their mother, Angela, also assists in the running of the minsu.

The hosts are very knowledgeable and friendly. They shared much useful information that helped us get around to nice eateries / shops in the vicinity, as well as offered fantastic solutions to our queries of touring other areas of Taiwan. We joined 2 of their day tour packages which are very well planned! We spent a fabulous 4 days (3 nights) in Hualien!

The room we took was Victoria Room (Room B1) and it had a homely and cosy setting with nice Victorian style decoration. It is maintained daily and basic toiletries were offered, though it is advisable to bring your own big towel. There is also hot/cold water supply outside the rooms.

A value-added service that Paul provided was to bring us to the local foodstuff factory to do some shopping. Optional choice of delivering our purchases to our next destination in Taiwan was also available upon request.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feishu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
2.1 mi away
Constellation Coast Bed and Breakfast
Constellation Coast Bed and Brea...
#1 of 130 in Hualien County
353 reviews
2.3 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
#4 of 130 in Hualien County
1,489 reviews
2.1 mi away
HL Sea Homestay
HL Sea Homestay
#173 of 1,609 in Hualien County
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Huxi B&B
Huxi B&B
#6 of 1,609 in Hualien County
372 reviews
0.7 mi away
At-Home B&B
At-Home B&B
#36 of 1,609 in Hualien County
111 reviews
1.8 mi away
Star and Mist B&B
Star and Mist B&B
#4 of 1,609 in Hualien County
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hualien Sunrise Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hualien Sunrise Hostel

Property: Hualien Sunrise Hostel
Address: No.192, Sec. 3 Zhongyang Road, Ji'an Town, Hualien County 973, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 1,609 B&Bs / Inns in Hualien County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hualien Sunrise Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hualien Sunrise Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hualien Sunrise Minsu Hotel Hualien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing