We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Hotel Bayview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bayview
Ranked #8 of 128 Hotels in Hualien County
Certificate of Excellence
Miri, Sarawak, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel is located quite a distance from the town and the 2 popular night market. But it is near the famous chisingtang beach. Highly recommend for those who want a stress free stay and also who loves beach/seaside. I book the room with ocean view. Without balcony. Room have all the necessary facilities and amenities. Even have a small bath tub too. They serve breakfast in the morning. You can have drinks (water/tea/coffee) at the coffee house which is open 24hours.

Staff are helpful and provide excellent service. They have the services to fetch you from the train station when you arrive. The car is a Lexus GS :) They even help us to call for a taxi for us to go to the nightmarket in the evening. You will have additional discount on the fares. There is a family mart within 5minutes walking distances out of the hotel. And also a restaurant offering lots of food which i didnt manage to try.

You can use the bicycle as well in the evening. Cycling along the beach enjoying the view and breeze towards chisingtang beach.

I will definitely return for a second stay if I visit Hualien again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSA8500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    83
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
151
113
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Darwin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

First visited October 2012 with my then girlfriend. Proposed here at Hotel Bayview and prewedding brought my entire family from Australia to Hualien. Juan was amazing - just took the extra time to get to know everyone, took care of the kids that were travelling with us, showed us where to go to eat, he booked us coach at the last minute for a day tour of Taroko Gorge (19 of us) and was simply amazingly hospitable.

I simply cannot recommend this place enough!

Room Tip: Sea views a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I highly recommend anyone going to Taiwan to head down to Hualien and stay at Hotel Bayview.

While it is located outside the city centre, there was a restaurant located near the hotel that is open at night and offers unique dishes such as the mambo fish (we quite enjoyed their beancurd dish 红烧豆腐), and the nearby beach makes it a very peaceful place to stay at. Booking a taxi can also be done easily through the hotel which works regularly with the taxi drivers. The hotel has a free pick-up service until 8PM. As we arrived later than that, we arranged with the hotel to book a cab to pick us up, and it cost about NTD200. We also booked a taxi through the hotel to tour taroko gorge. Go early to avoid the buses and buses of Chinese tourists.

The staff at Hotel Bayview are friendly and helpful. We had issues with booking a train back to Taipei and Juan went out of his way to help us book an express train of our preferred timing (Thank you Juan!). As we booked two different rooms for two nights, the staff also arranged to move our luggage from the first room to the second one while we were out on the tour.

The rooms (both mountain-view and ocean-view) are comfortable and clean, and breakfast is decent. Make sure to set aside time to rent a free bicycle from the hotel and cycle along the beach! (: The beach isn't for swimming though; the currents are pretty strong and accidents have happened before. There are coast guards stationed near the hotel to make sure no one goes too far out.

All in all, it is a great getaway from the city life. (:

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

A very good place for relaxing although location wise is some distance away from the city but not a problem, taxis are available easily. Hotel services are very good and they even recommend me which place to go and stalls to eat although i get lost while walking there.. Room which i book faces the seaview and i love the morning breakfast they provided. They even send transport to pick u up from the train station to the hotel itself. I would stay there again if i go hualian again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJX83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Pros ~
This is truly a great hotel with rooms that offer a great sea view - not all rooms faced the sea though. Importantly, the rooms are all reasonably priced. The hotel even provides complimentary bicycle rental to take a stroll along the beach - it is really a stony beach, don't be taken in by the looks, lol.

The staff are all very friendly and willing to provide any assistance if needed. There are also some other B&Bs or hotels close to the beach and once you reached Hualien, you can check them out but don't do that during peak season as hotel rooms become hard to come by.

Cons~
There ain't many restaurants around the area as it is 15min drive away from the city. The hotel can arrange a cab to bring you to the city which will cost around NT$200 per trip. It is a small city so probably more for dining and buying some local delicacies.

Main Attractions~
Would strongly suggest to do a full day visit to Taroko National Parks (Gorge) so you don't miss out anything and if not possible, then go for a half day trip.

We booked a 9-10 hours cabby - Mr Ji with recommendation through the hotel, he was very friendly throughout the journey and gave us a good narrative of places in Taroko like Shakadang Trail, Yen Zi Kou, Frog Rock with a small crown (Prince Charming), Ci Mu Qiao - the bridge of kind mother, Water Falls, Shui Lian Dong - water lotus cave, etc. Probably can enjoy a few km of walks along some trails so wear some comfy shoes.

With Mr Ji's consent, his mobile no. is +886 97523 6562 or you could ask any hotels to arrange other cabbies for you.

To better enjoy the sightseeing and photo takings without a big crowd, it is more advisable to book a cab then go for the tour bus which follows a tight schedule traveling to the Taroko National Parks.

However, if you are on a budget trip, then the bus would be a good alternative to bring you to these destinations.

Room Tip: choose a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sageds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore,Bangalore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Its true, there are places where you are received with warmth and genuine people make your stay memorable. We were staying with our toddler and everyone at the hotel always had a smile or a candy for her. Juan picked us up at the train station, though it was a last minute email I sent requesting for a pick up. He even got us dinner on the way and is very easy to talk to. Juan is the man! :-) This is our way of thanking him for being the way he is....don't change.

On a side note, if you can't bicycles from Bayview, no sweat there's a bike kiosk along the beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lambani81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2012, great hotel with very efficient and friendly staffs. Definitely recommended. Breakfast was great. Cycle along the coast was the most enjoyable for my kids. This place gave us a very good memory of Taiwan.

Room Tip: Try to select room with Balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 165caramel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
2.5 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
#5 of 128 in Hualien County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
3.9 mi away
Constellation Coast Bed and Breakfast
Constellation Coast Bed and Brea...
#1 of 128 in Hualien County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kindness Hotel - Hualien Main Station
Kindness Hotel - Hualien Main St...
#2 of 128 in Hualien County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
#3 of 128 in Hualien County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
#6 of 128 in Hualien County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fullon Hotel Hualien
Fullon Hotel Hualien
#25 of 128 in Hualien County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bayview

Property: Hotel Bayview
Address: No.10 Mingtan Street, Sincheng Township, Hualien County 971, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 128 Hotels in Hualien County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Bayview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing