We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still miss this hotel after 1 year”
Review of Hotel Bayview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bayview
Ranked #10 of 131 Hotels in Hualien County
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Still miss this hotel after 1 year”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nite in honeymoon room. Very nice and cozy feel. We enjoyed cycling at the windy n peaceful beach watching the fisherman catch. You can rent the bicycle free from the hotel. From here we visited Taroko and went for dolphin watching at the sea which can be arranged by the hotel. Must try mambo fish, a local delicacies.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CYChoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    86
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
157
114
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore River, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

很多网友都把这赞为廉价的住属可是五星级的服务。这是真的!有其是饭店的老板,林先生,二董。他非常细心,第一天发现我不爱晒太阳,借了一把雨伞。第二天当我出外玩前,他也记得我不爱晒还想为我备伞。服务员的工作态度都很好好。早餐也非常棒,我不爱吃粥,可是在这,我可吃了兩碗。服务员看我吃了这么多,还提醒还有水果吃。饭店的设计是地中海风风格,又简单又舒服。风景更不用说了,房间都面向太平洋或山。真是赞赞赞!Superb Experience, there is also a Homemart next to the hotel so it super convenient getting necessity. You could purchase the train tickets back to Taipei from the convenience store.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrisYap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We experienced the warmth and friendly service from Bayview even before we checked-in.

I remember trying to make reservation for their rooms even before their online system allowed me to do so and Juan immediately assisted me to make the reservation after I emailed them.
We also had problems booking our train tickets to Hualien as it was a Saturday, and they immediately assisted us to check on which trains are available which we successful made the bookings.

We arrived earlier then the check-in time and placed our bags for storage and head out for lunch. There are a few places that serves food around the hotel and we headed to the one opposite the Family Mart approximately 5 minutes away. The food was good. There is also a same cafe at a tourist information center and another small restaurant that serves dinner, both 10 minutes away. Please don't let the location deter you from staying at Bayview. The location is great for relaxation.

We booked the Honeyroom room with balcony and the view was awesome though it was a little chilly to stand long outside. You can also watch TV while soaking in the bathtub by drawing the curtains!

Also, don't forget to get the taxi card from the hotel when you are heading out because you can get a discounted rate when you return back by dialing the taxi company's number!
We headed out to the city center instead of the night markets and there were plenty of food to choose from which was recommended by Juan. I guess we almost conquered the ones which he told us to go and it was all good.

Thumbs up for the great hospitality provided!.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluedell88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for a night during summer, the view from the room is really fantastic. The hotel gave us a mediterranean feel to it, the rooms were spacious and the bathroom was clean. When we first stepped into the room, I was awed by the sparkling blue water and fluffy clouds. There is computers, coffee machine and biscuits provided at the room near to the receptionist. The hotel will state the time of sunrise everyday and they provide free usage of bicycles for their guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferlyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

You can't find a better hotel than this in Hualien. It's breathtaking and the constant soothing sound of the waves is unbelievable. This is THE hotel to stay in when you travel to Hualien, provided you get the seaview room.

To start of with, most travelers arrive Hualien by rail and the hotel provides transport to the hotel.
Just make prior arrangement with them via email / call and Juan will reply promptly.

Next, upon arrival, the hotel provides excellent service in suggesting what you can do in Hualien according to the number of days you stay. They will throw you all the maps / information required and recommend you the places to eat / shop.

They provide a 24hr cafe to fill your stomach in the event you need food in the middle of the night. Nothing bombastic, but the biscuits / cookies and tea should fill one up in desperate times.

Of cos, the rooms are very clean and fitted with a retro bathtub.

The hotel also provide free usage of bicycles which one can cycle along the coast of qi xin tan.

And the thing i find most useful is the booking of cabs, the hotel have an arrangement with a couple of cabs which they will give 30% off the meter price. The discount is considered a lot given that there are no public transport from the hotel to the town centre. Just ring the reception and they will make the arrangements for you.

There are 2 night markets in Hualien, worth visiting both.
Additionally, there is a family-run food stall just opposite Family mart before you turn into the hotel. The restaurant serves a local fish (sunbaked fish) that has an unique texture. It's worth trying.

Room Tip: Seaview room is a MUST.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeiqinLiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Hotel Bayview is definitely the ideal place to stay at if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Its surroundings is quiet and peaceful, and the gorgeous Pacific ocean is within a short walking distance, directly in front of the hotel. I stayed at Hotel Bayview in the Ocean-view Double room for two nights with a travel companion from February 23-24. Very clean and nicely decorated with a great view of the Pacific ocean. Bathroom's big and comes with a bathtub.

The hotel provides free pick-ups (and drop-offs) from Hualien train station, so you don't have to worry about figuring your way to the hotel. My train was a little late, and when I got to the train station entrance, the hotel owner Mr Lin was already there patiently waiting for us. A very nice and jovial man who gave us great recommendations as to where to go sight-seeing in Hualien. His son Juan was also very helpful and gave excellent recommendations on dining places at Hualien City.

Within a two-minute walking distance is the Family Mart convenience store for your yi du zhan noodles and milk tea fix. Other noteworthy add-ons that the hotel provided us (F.O.C) include the bicycles that you can rent from a kiosk within the hotel compound. There is a cycling path that stretches out by the Pacific ocean, so you can enjoy the scenic view while cycling at the same time. Breakfast is also provided, options include porridge, vegetables, fruit, salad, western food choices like chicken nuggets & hashbrowns, cereal etc. There's vegetarian fare as well.

In terms of service and hospitality, Hotel Bayview definitely goes the extra mile in ensuring that guests will have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Should you need a cab, the reception will readily help you call for a cab, and due to a prior arrangement between the hotel and the cab drivers, cab fares are cheaper than the price on the meter. For touring around Hualien, the reception also helps arrange for drivers to bring you around for half/full day tours (choice of 4 or 8 hour tours). The rates were pretty reasonable as well. My driver was a very amicable and friendly man by the name of Mr He, who gave excellent travel and dining recommendations on top of bringing us to some very scenic places. Hualien is gorgeous! At certain destinations that Mr He brought us, I truly felt as though we were in the pages of an Enid Blyton book. And even though we exceeded the four-hour duration, Mr He did not mind at all.

At night, you can ask the reception to arrange for a taxi to bring you to Ziqiang night market, which comes highly recommended because of the excellent food options available. Make sure to try the barbecued food from 第一家烤肉串, it's very popular and you need to get a queue number. Other popular food stalls include the Chiang Family's Coffin Sandwiches 蔣家官財板, wide variety of 'fillings' to choose from. For vegetarians, there's a pasta place that has vegetarian spaghetti on the menu. Very reasonable prices, my travel companion paid only SGD$2 + for her meal.

Overall, Hotel Bayview is an ideal holiday destination to unwind and recharge. As much as I could, I headed down to the shore to bask in the fresh ocean air and watch the waves- very therapeutic and enjoyable indeed. Do check with the reception for sunrise timings, so that you can watch the sunrise either from your room or from the shore. Although it is slightly more expensive, it is definitely worth it to get an ocean-view room, preferably with a balcony. I managed to catch the sunrise on my last day, beautiful! Staying at Hotel Bayview certainly offers a form of peace and tranquility that you cannot get in fast-paced cities. I already miss this place and Mr He greatly and will definitely come back when I get the chance to visit Hualien again.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean-view room, slightly more expensive, but in my opinion, worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vkoh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taichung, Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

First of all, we were really impressed by how cool and knowledgeable Juan, the owners' son, is. He went above and beyond with helping us with travel planning. His suggestions for things to do and see were spot on. We really appreciated how helpful he was. When I reported that I had an allergy to feathers, he went out of his way to supply alternative bedding. We stayed for 4 nights. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite. The room was clean and lovely. Comfortable with a marvelous bathtub. There were a variety of items, both Eastern and Western style for breakfast. Free bikes were available for use on the bike path along the beach. We also were grateful for the pick up and drop off at the train station. The onsite cafe offered snacks and tea throughout the day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeacherRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
2.5 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
#4 of 131 in Hualien County
1,501 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
#6 of 131 in Hualien County
806 reviews
3.9 mi away
Constellation Coast Bed and Breakfast
Constellation Coast Bed and Brea...
#1 of 131 in Hualien County
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Lakeshore Hotel
Lakeshore Hotel
#13 of 131 in Hualien County
191 reviews
4.0 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
#2 of 131 in Hualien County
887 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fullon Hotel Hualien
Fullon Hotel Hualien
#23 of 131 in Hualien County
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bayview

Property: Hotel Bayview
Address: No.10 Mingtan Street, Sincheng Township, Hualien County 971, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 131 Hotels in Hualien County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bayview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing