We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Hualien train station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Classic City Resort
Ranked #34 of 130 Hotels in Hualien County
Chiangmai
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Close to Hualien train station”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Classic City Resort hotel is like most hotels and does not stand out in terms of design or one's experience staying there. Rooms are clean & spacious. Most guests staying here are Taiwanese and some Japanese. Breakfast is buffet: although the spread is not wide, it is filling. Hotel is 5 minutes walk to Hualien train station. Be aware that this part of Hualien is about 18min walk to the nightmarket: along the way, there are pachinko parlors and massage places in this part of the town (the hotel is slightly away from this scene unless you decide to walk towards the direction of the night market).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilltriber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
經典假日飯店, 經理 at Classic City Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Hilltriber,

Greetings from Classic City Resort !

Thank you for your positive feedback from your recent stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Your kind attention would be highly appreciated,
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    36
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
18
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Hotel is centrally located in the city. As expected from numerous review regarding the hotel. It is relatively clean. The room is of good size. Bed is firm but not hard. Staff are professional and courteous. We've hired a driver, Mr Yip (0978-112180). His email is a0978112180@yahoo.com.tw. He was recommended by one of the fellow reviewers of this hotel. In deed, the rate was competitive. Mr. Yip was most helpful and very knowledgeable in and around Hualien area. He even helped us with our itinerary and acted as our tour guide.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kotrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We booked a superior double room at Classic City Resort and we arrived from Cingjing after touring the Taroko Gorge (spectacular!).

The hotel decor is modern but simple and there is a police station located just beside it. Breakfast is located on the second floor and offers quite a spread. The hotel is a city hotel so it does not have a swimming pool. It is about 10 minutes walk to the Hualien train station which was one of the main reasons why we chose it.

We did not find the staff friendly as we had problems asking for directions or a request for a change of room as we were given different reasons by two different staff.

We experienced the magnitude 6.3 earthquake which struck Hualien on 31 October 2013. The epicenter was reported to be about 45km away from the city on land. It happened around 8pm. The floor started shaking before the building began swaying. We ran down to the hotel lobby and light fittings were swinging. When we asked the hotel staff their comment was that it was a normal experience. We experienced a few other aftershocks throughout the night (25 were reported).

In summary, what we liked:
1) clean and simple room decor
2) location close to Hualien Station
3) good breakfast spread

What we disliked:
1) unfriendly and unhelpful staff
2) small room
3) area is prone to earthquakes so being in a tall building may prove to be dangerous

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamsulAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

It's nice room. It's clean and it's located in the city. so it's near convenient store. The receptionist are friendly. Having nice breakfast too. Stayed in room with 1 single bed and 1 double bed. the 4 stars for this hotel in small town. Main comment is just clean!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank destriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We chose this hotel due to price, good review, and great location close to train station. Here are pros and cons:
Pros:
1. 5-min walk to the Hualien train station
2. Clean and very nice room that rivals any 5-star hotel room
3. Decent breakfast

Cons:
NONE!

This hotel remains a local hotel where you won't have concierge and the staff's English is limited but the staff is very nice and friendly.

We hired a driver named San-Wu Yeh to drive us to Taroko Gorge on the first day and Shitiping on the following day. His rate is very competitive and he went all out to make sure we have a good time in Hualien area. He also acted as our guide and even walked us through Shitiping which saves us a lot of time wondering by ourselves. His number is 0978-112180 in case you wanna tour around Hualien without the hassle of waiting for the buses or taxis.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Promboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seongnam, South Korea
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

新飯店總是比較好. New one is always better. 飯店外觀漂亮. Appearance is good. 折扣後的刷卡房價合理,即使未預訂. The discounted room rate by credit card is acceptable, even without reservation. Tripadvisor其他旅客的評論房間太小是真實的,是因為他們可能訂了最便宜的房間,USD$85. People say the room is small and that is truth if they chose the cheapest room. 如果"精緻雙人房 (Deluxe Suite)"住一個人以上確實太小。It is small for a couple in its cheapest room. 該旅館網站的照片為真實. The pictures on its website is true. 大一點的房間會貴. Larger room is expensive. 旅館位置位於主要大街. The location is at the main street. 方便飲食、購物、與洗衣店. It is close to restaurants, shopping, and loundry location. 大廳氣派. Lobby is good. 沒遇到吵雜的旅遊團. No lousy crowd. 寢具高級. bedding and pillow is good. 歐舒丹沐浴乳. L'OCCITANE shower gel. 房間插頭夠. Electric sockets are more than enough. 空調很好,房間與走道都有. The air condition is good in rooms and corridor. 停車場位於飯店旁邊的空地. The parking lot is beside the building. 正規飯店. A regular choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uijeongbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our tour organizer suggested this hotel at the end of a 5D4N private tour from Taipei> SunMoon Lake >Cingjing >Taroko Gorge > Hualien. We were a group of 9, two families travelling together.

Pros:
Modern and fairly new.
Decent size room (Family room, 2 queen beds) with large bathroom.
Free wifi everywhere
Shops and restaurants nearby : A few convenience stores nearby. We ate at a local seafood restaurant within walking distance of the hotel. It's about 15-20 minute drive to the night market in Hualien.
Service was very prompt.

There are no "cons" really if you are looking for a reasonably priced, fairly new hotel to spend one night in a convenient location. It is smallish, does not have any views or facilities such as swimming pool. There is one restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
1.3 mi away
Li Shiuan International Hotel
Li Shiuan International Hotel
#8 of 130 in Hualien County
247 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lige Hotel
Lige Hotel
#10 of 130 in Hualien County
169 reviews
1.0 mi away
Azure Hotel
Azure Hotel
#7 of 130 in Hualien County
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
#2 of 130 in Hualien County
827 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hualien Charming City Hotel
Hualien Charming City Hotel
#29 of 130 in Hualien County
110 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lealea Garden Hotels - Hualien
Lealea Garden Hotels - Hualien
#27 of 130 in Hualien County
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Classic City Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classic City Resort

Property: Classic City Resort
Address: No.139 Guolian 5th Road, Hualien City, Hualien County, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 130 Hotels in Hualien County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Classic City Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near Hualien train station, a quiet urban tranquility lets you experience the energy of Hualien but yet feeling free and relaxed. Fashionable European designs completed with friendly and attentive services, completing your home away from home experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, HRS, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Classic City Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing