We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“As expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Classic City Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Classic City Resort
Ranked #26 of 122 Hotels in Hualien
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“As expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Hotel is centrally located in the city. As expected from numerous review regarding the hotel. It is relatively clean. The room is of good size. Bed is firm but not hard. Staff are professional and courteous. We've hired a driver, Mr Yip (0978-112180). His email is a0978112180@yahoo.com.tw. He was recommended by one of the fellow reviewers of this hotel. In deed, the rate was competitive. Mr. Yip was most helpful and very knowledgeable in and around Hualien area. He even helped us with our itinerary and acted as our tour guide.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kotrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    31
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
14
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We booked a superior double room at Classic City Resort and we arrived from Cingjing after touring the Taroko Gorge (spectacular!).

The hotel decor is modern but simple and there is a police station located just beside it. Breakfast is located on the second floor and offers quite a spread. The hotel is a city hotel so it does not have a swimming pool. It is about 10 minutes walk to the Hualien train station which was one of the main reasons why we chose it.

We did not find the staff friendly as we had problems asking for directions or a request for a change of room as we were given different reasons by two different staff.

We experienced the magnitude 6.3 earthquake which struck Hualien on 31 October 2013. The epicenter was reported to be about 45km away from the city on land. It happened around 8pm. The floor started shaking before the building began swaying. We ran down to the hotel lobby and light fittings were swinging. When we asked the hotel staff their comment was that it was a normal experience. We experienced a few other aftershocks throughout the night (25 were reported).

In summary, what we liked:
1) clean and simple room decor
2) location close to Hualien Station
3) good breakfast spread

What we disliked:
1) unfriendly and unhelpful staff
2) small room
3) area is prone to earthquakes so being in a tall building may prove to be dangerous

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamsulAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

It's nice room. It's clean and it's located in the city. so it's near convenient store. The receptionist are friendly. Having nice breakfast too. Stayed in room with 1 single bed and 1 double bed. the 4 stars for this hotel in small town. Main comment is just clean!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank destriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We chose this hotel due to price, good review, and great location close to train station. Here are pros and cons:
Pros:
1. 5-min walk to the Hualien train station
2. Clean and very nice room that rivals any 5-star hotel room
3. Decent breakfast

Cons:
NONE!

This hotel remains a local hotel where you won't have concierge and the staff's English is limited but the staff is very nice and friendly.

We hired a driver named San-Wu Yeh to drive us to Taroko Gorge on the first day and Shitiping on the following day. His rate is very competitive and he went all out to make sure we have a good time in Hualien area. He also acted as our guide and even walked us through Shitiping which saves us a lot of time wondering by ourselves. His number is 0978-112180 in case you wanna tour around Hualien without the hassle of waiting for the buses or taxis.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Promboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

新飯店總是比較好. New one is always better. 飯店外觀漂亮. Appearance is good. 折扣後的刷卡房價合理,即使未預訂. The discounted room rate by credit card is acceptable, even without reservation. Tripadvisor其他旅客的評論房間太小是真實的,是因為他們可能訂了最便宜的房間,USD$85. People say the room is small and that is truth if they chose the cheapest room. 如果"精緻雙人房 (Deluxe Suite)"住一個人以上確實太小。It is small for a couple in its cheapest room. 該旅館網站的照片為真實. The pictures on its website is true. 大一點的房間會貴. Larger room is expensive. 旅館位置位於主要大街. The location is at the main street. 方便飲食、購物、與洗衣店. It is close to restaurants, shopping, and loundry location. 大廳氣派. Lobby is good. 沒遇到吵雜的旅遊團. No lousy crowd. 寢具高級. bedding and pillow is good. 歐舒丹沐浴乳. L'OCCITANE shower gel. 房間插頭夠. Electric sockets are more than enough. 空調很好,房間與走道都有. The air condition is good in rooms and corridor. 停車場位於飯店旁邊的空地. The parking lot is beside the building. 正規飯店. A regular choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank advance1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our tour organizer suggested this hotel at the end of a 5D4N private tour from Taipei> SunMoon Lake >Cingjing >Taroko Gorge > Hualien. We were a group of 9, two families travelling together.

Pros:
Modern and fairly new.
Decent size room (Family room, 2 queen beds) with large bathroom.
Free wifi everywhere
Shops and restaurants nearby : A few convenience stores nearby. We ate at a local seafood restaurant within walking distance of the hotel. It's about 15-20 minute drive to the night market in Hualien.
Service was very prompt.

There are no "cons" really if you are looking for a reasonably priced, fairly new hotel to spend one night in a convenient location. It is smallish, does not have any views or facilities such as swimming pool. There is one restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Booked this hotel through Agoda.com. Was not one of the cheaper options but we decided to go with it since the photos of the rooms looked decent and we wanted something a little above average. Turned out, hotel room was smaller than expected (as small as those boutique hotel rooms in Taipei). The double bed we booked turned out to be 2 super single beds pushed together; huge no doubt, but hardly comfortable. Check-in was very quick, settled within 2 minutes. Unfortunately, the staff, though polite, lacked warmth. It seemed the hotel was experiencing low occupancy as we only spotted 4 other hotel guests during breakfast and did not see anyone else throughout our stay. Breakfast included in the room package was a joke. Hot water was adequate. No rack to place luggage in the room. No in-room safe either. Items had to be left at the reception for safe-keeping if required. However, beware, the staff may not be too pleased if you have to access your safe-kept belongings daily. Got a room with an awful view of the hotel next door that was under construction. We were supposed to catch the 2 pm train to Taipei and asked for a late check out at 1.30 pm (standard check-out time was 12 noon). Despite the low hotel occupancy, the front desk staff refused to allow a late check-out at no cost. Such inflexibility. Free transportation was offered to take us to the train station (2-min drive) upon departure, which probably earned the hotel the 3rd star. Don't think we will be staying there again. There are many alternative accommodations available in Hualien.

Room Tip: If you really have to stay there, ask for a room NOT facing the hotel next door that is under constr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jongjong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien hotels
0.1 mi away
Hualien Charming City Hotel
Hualien Charming City Hotel
#24 of 122 in Hualien
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beauty Inn
Beauty Inn
#17 of 122 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
0.1 mi away
F Hotel Hualien
F Hotel Hualien
#25 of 122 in Hualien
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
East Town 26
East Town 26
#6 of 122 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
1.1 mi away
Li Shiuan International Hotel
1.3 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Classic City Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classic City Resort

Property: Classic City Resort
Address: No.139 Guolian 5th Road, Hualien City, Hualien, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 122 Hotels in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Classic City Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near Hualien train station, a quiet urban tranquility lets you experience the energy of Hualien but yet feeling free and relaxed. Fashionable European designs completed with friendly and attentive services, completing your home away from home experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Classic City Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing