We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near train station, free bikes, nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Classic City Resort
Ranked #34 of 130 Hotels in Hualien County
Arnhem, Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Near train station, free bikes, nice room”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

The hotel is near the train station (5 min walk), the rooms are normally sized and have free wifi (no code needed). The floor was a non-smoking floor. But in the morning you could really smell the sigarette smoke in the bathroom :-(, probably the bathroom is used as smoking room...
The bikes in front of the hotel are for free, these are very simple. Bikes for daytrips can be rented at the Giant shop near the station. If you want to go to the city center, it is recommended to use the bikes, otherwise it is long walk! In the area around the hotel are some shops (7 eleven/family mart) and some small restaurants. In the city center are more restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dekpau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    37
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
18
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We arrived Hualien @ 1146 hrs by train from Badu Station (15 mins from Keelung) and was waiting in the pouring rain (courtesy of Typhoon Nanmadol) for our driver from Silks Place Taroko Hotel to fetch us. We were about to set off for the 1 hr ride to Taroko Gorge when the driver received a call from the hotel that due to a landslide, the road to Taroko is deemed inaccessible and that our room for the night will be cancelled.

Silks Place's reservation manager kindly offered the service of their driver to help us find alternative accommodation in Hualien and he suggested that we have a look at the rooms at Classic City Resort (about 5 mins drive to Hualien Train Station). He explained our plight to the front desk staff and we were shown a standard and a suite room. Both rooms are very nice and comparable to a 5 star hotel rooms. We decided on the suite room @ NT$3900 nett inclusive of breakfast. Room 507 is spacious. Amenities in the bathroom are from L'Occitane.

Although the front desk staff do not speak English, they are very friendly & helpful and gave us very good suggestions for lunch and dinner. We had a very good dinner @ Pai Yuan Guolian Seafood Restaurant, located around the right corner of the hotel & about 5 mins walk. It is located on No. 17 Guo Lian 2 Road. The restaurant is brightly lit with golden lanterns. We ordered a Hualien speciality called Mambo fish fried with lily bulbs, steamed fresh prawns served with soy sauce & wasabi, oyster egg and seasonal wild vegetables. Dinner for two of us costs NT$580. This dinner was clearly the highlight of all the meals we had in Taiwan.

The disappointment of not being able to travel to Taroko Gorge was somehow compensated by this wonderful meal. Classic City Resort was a haven for us though it rained throughout our stay. However, we were not dampened by the rain but felt it was a blessing in disguise! They also offered us a free lift to the train station the next morning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rainbowlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

My husband & I were travelling with his brother and family (including wife and two young children). They live in Kaohsiung and made the reservations for us (residents/locals have access to discounts). We were in Hualien to visit Taroko Gorge. The hotel was gorgeous! The service was amazing! The location was close to the bus station, which delivered us to Taroko the next morning. We only stayed one night here, arriving late in the day, so we didn't get to explore Hualien too much. The breakfast provided by the hotel was very good and offered plenty of options. The room was pretty big and the bathroom was really nice. They provided us with connecting rooms and free mochi, which Hualien is reknowned for. We had a very comfortable night here and would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Desi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2008

This is a new hotel with modern facility. It’s walking distance from the railway station… if you know which direction to head.
Hotel Staff is great. They pick up us when we call them for direction.
Check-in is pretty quick and was escorted to our room.
Room is spacious and clean with LCD TV. There is a restaurant
serving good buffet breakfast,
24hrs self service coffee and tea at cozy coffee lounge
and free internet access with 2 lap tops.
Nice and elegant lobby. Provide to and fro free shuttle transport to town at intervals of 7pm, 8pm, and 9pm.
There are shops and eateries around the hotel.
We paid discounted rate NT2408 for triple room if one of us
is born in a year of rat (Chinese astrology).
We definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Hotel is new, staffs are great and room is clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Azumi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
1.3 mi away
Li Shiuan International Hotel
Li Shiuan International Hotel
#7 of 130 in Hualien County
248 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lige Hotel
Lige Hotel
#10 of 130 in Hualien County
169 reviews
1.0 mi away
Azure Hotel
Azure Hotel
#8 of 130 in Hualien County
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
#2 of 130 in Hualien County
834 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hualien Charming City Hotel
Hualien Charming City Hotel
#28 of 130 in Hualien County
110 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lealea Garden Hotels - Hualien
Lealea Garden Hotels - Hualien
#27 of 130 in Hualien County
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Classic City Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classic City Resort

Property: Classic City Resort
Address: No.139 Guolian 5th Road, Hualien City, Hualien County, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 130 Hotels in Hualien County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Classic City Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near Hualien train station, a quiet urban tranquility lets you experience the energy of Hualien but yet feeling free and relaxed. Fashionable European designs completed with friendly and attentive services, completing your home away from home experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Classic City Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing