We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amigos Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hualien
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amigos Hostel
Save
You added Amigos Hostel to your Saves list
Ranked #16 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Hualien
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere at Amigos. The staff is friendly, and the first floor has good music, good books, and plenty of free tea.

They also have bike rentals. I rented one of their basic bicycles and enjoyed 2 days of cycling up and down the coast.

I highly recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a fun, relaxing time on Taiwan's east coast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobert_5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    10
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
4
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Only stayed here for one night, because of the Taroko national park and it was nice.
It is a small hostel wich makes it a good place to meet other travellers. The location is only 5-10 min walk from the trainstation and bus to Taroko park. You will get a map of the area with (really) cheap place to eat. The toilet/shower was clean. the room was ok. You can rent a locker wich are just outside the room. There is one computer and wifi for free. Also free tea and coffee and a sandwich in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Just had a couple of nights here at this hostel. Five minutes walk from the station no more. Clean rooms and good showers.all staff chock full of help and more than willing to give advice on everything from where to eat to where to go and how to get there. Totally recommended

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank iangus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daegu, South Korea
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We had only one night at Amigos hostel during our 4 day stay in Taiwan and found the hostel to be clean, in a good location and comfortable. It's literally a 5 min walk from the station and close to places to rent motorbikes, convenience stores and restaurants. The room was small but decent and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast was coffee and a sandwich which was a welcome change from the copious amounts of toast one eats when traveling. The décor reminded me of being in Spain in a beach-front bar which was quite funny. The guys on reception were exceptionally helpful in recommending good places to go, rent bikes and tour Toroko Gorge (tip: do it on bikes, it's cheaper and better than a bus. Easy to find and you can do it at your own pace). The only downside I'll mention was that the air-con is not turned on in the rooms until 9pm. This is in an effort to save energy, which I understand. Although it wasn't a problem for us, I thought I'd mention it in the review in case this is important to visitors. Would stay again due to location and helpfulness of staff.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fletch_thegr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Lo, 50
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Well situated (5-10 min walk from the train station, 5-10 min walk from a great great great dumpling place), nice staff, good real coffee, clean and comfy bed and showers! the atmosphere down there is nice, it feels good hanging around there!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ptitanne50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Nice location near the train station, nice hostel, modern dorms, clean, good atmosphere. Friendly staff who gave me help to plan a trip to Taroko national park and a suggestion about renting a scooter. I stayed there just 1 night but it was a pleasant staying. Going to hualien was worth, I had a nice trip there

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu, T'ai-wan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My friends and I stayed 2 nights in this hostel during Chinese New Year. The location is great; about 5 minute walk from the Hualien train station. It's not in the busiest part of town which was nice for a quieter night's sleep. The hostel itself has a very laid-back surfer feel to it. Nice reception and lounge area that serves snacks and drinks. Small but tasty sandwiches and tea and coffee are included for breakfast every morning.
The rooms are basic backpacker style bunk rooms but not too small, which tends to be a common theme in Taiwan. The beds were surprisingly comfy and the rooms and bathrooms kept very clean. The only worry that I may have was that I didn't see any aircon units in the room, which wasn't a problem for us since it was cooler weather, but could be a bummer in the hot summers.
The best part of this hostel was the staff. I'm sad I don't remember names but everyone including the lady at reception and the nice guy who would recommend places to eat and gladly answer any questions about Hualien or the surrounding areas. They speak excellent English. These people made our stay worth it and I hope they will still be here next time I visit! I'll be back to Amigos!
Hualien is awesome!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien hotels
0.2 mi away
Meci Hotel
Meci Hotel
#21 of 123 in Hualien
5.0 of 5 stars 16 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kindness Hotel - Hualien Main Station
1.5 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mini Voyage Hostel
Mini Voyage Hostel
#1 of 118 in Hualien
5.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hualien Wow Hostel
Hualien Wow Hostel
#3 of 118 in Hualien
5.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleeping Boot Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amigos Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amigos Hostel

Property: Amigos Hostel
Address: No.68 Guolian Second Road, Hualian, Hualien 970, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amigos Hostel is conveniently located just 3 minute walk from the train station. The Taroko shuttle bus station , coin laundry, convenient stores, (7-11) and local restaurants are only a few steps away. Recommended by Lonely Planet guide book for the past 10 years! Our friendly English speaking staff can provide lots of free information and itinerary recommendations during your stay at Amigos. Our lobby area is a great place to meet travelers all around the world, socialize, and hangout with our friendly multi-lingual staff. In addition, we provide adventure trips to whale watching, water rafting, and river tracing. (canyoning) You'll never run out of things to do during your stay! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing