We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms. great showers. smart staff.”
Review of Amigos Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amigos Hostel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean rooms. great showers. smart staff.”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Just had a couple of nights here at this hostel. Five minutes walk from the station no more. Clean rooms and good showers.all staff chock full of help and more than willing to give advice on everything from where to eat to where to go and how to get there. Totally recommended

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank iangus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    11
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
4
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Daegu, South Korea
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We had only one night at Amigos hostel during our 4 day stay in Taiwan and found the hostel to be clean, in a good location and comfortable. It's literally a 5 min walk from the station and close to places to rent motorbikes, convenience stores and restaurants. The room was small but decent and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast was coffee and a sandwich which was a welcome change from the copious amounts of toast one eats when traveling. The décor reminded me of being in Spain in a beach-front bar which was quite funny. The guys on reception were exceptionally helpful in recommending good places to go, rent bikes and tour Toroko Gorge (tip: do it on bikes, it's cheaper and better than a bus. Easy to find and you can do it at your own pace). The only downside I'll mention was that the air-con is not turned on in the rooms until 9pm. This is in an effort to save energy, which I understand. Although it wasn't a problem for us, I thought I'd mention it in the review in case this is important to visitors. Would stay again due to location and helpfulness of staff.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fletch_thegr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Lo, 50
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Well situated (5-10 min walk from the train station, 5-10 min walk from a great great great dumpling place), nice staff, good real coffee, clean and comfy bed and showers! the atmosphere down there is nice, it feels good hanging around there!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptitanne50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou, China
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Nice location near the train station, nice hostel, modern dorms, clean, good atmosphere. Friendly staff who gave me help to plan a trip to Taroko national park and a suggestion about renting a scooter. I stayed there just 1 night but it was a pleasant staying. Going to hualien was worth, I had a nice trip there

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu, T'ai-wan, Taiwan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My friends and I stayed 2 nights in this hostel during Chinese New Year. The location is great; about 5 minute walk from the Hualien train station. It's not in the busiest part of town which was nice for a quieter night's sleep. The hostel itself has a very laid-back surfer feel to it. Nice reception and lounge area that serves snacks and drinks. Small but tasty sandwiches and tea and coffee are included for breakfast every morning.
The rooms are basic backpacker style bunk rooms but not too small, which tends to be a common theme in Taiwan. The beds were surprisingly comfy and the rooms and bathrooms kept very clean. The only worry that I may have was that I didn't see any aircon units in the room, which wasn't a problem for us since it was cooler weather, but could be a bummer in the hot summers.
The best part of this hostel was the staff. I'm sad I don't remember names but everyone including the lady at reception and the nice guy who would recommend places to eat and gladly answer any questions about Hualien or the surrounding areas. They speak excellent English. These people made our stay worth it and I hope they will still be here next time I visit! I'll be back to Amigos!
Hualien is awesome!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This hostel is worth a stay! We didn't have any complaints the whole time we were there. Stayed for 4 nights in the 8 bed dorm, which was kept really clean. Soft mattresses and really good bedding and pillows. The shared showers and toilets are clean and the water pressure is so good!
They provide a free breakfast sandwich and free tea and coffee all day!
The staff all seem really friendly, the common area is small but nice to sit in and talk to people.
My only issue is that I would have liked a bigger locker and maybe a lock on the dorm door. None of the dorm doors have key card entry or anything so maybe anyone could walk in, however at no point did I feel unsafe and I don't think they would have let anyone just walk into the hostel.
Location is near to the train station, shops and a good cheap Chinese cafeteria.
Perhaps it is a little expensive but it seems to be roughly the same price all around.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zozocrazymofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

My stay at Amigo's was fantastic. It's a 5 minute walk from the train station and the customer service is the best. I stayed here for 4 days and I forgot to pack my towel. Instead of having to go out and buy a new one, the staff was more than willing to lend me one of theirs. Also, if you want to go biking in Hualian or rent a scooter to visit Taroko Gorge, they can set you all up. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
0.2 mi away
Meci Hotel
Meci Hotel
#21 of 131 in Hualien County
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hualien Charming City Hotel
Hualien Charming City Hotel
#27 of 131 in Hualien County
111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hualien Wow Hostel
Hualien Wow Hostel
#3 of 174 in Hualien County
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bayhouse Comfortel Hualien Hostel
Bayhouse Comfortel Hualien Hoste...
#1 of 174 in Hualien County
238 reviews
0.6 mi away
Journey Hostel
Journey Hostel
#18 of 174 in Hualien County
27 reviews
0.9 mi away
Daydream Hostel
Daydream Hostel
#6 of 174 in Hualien County
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amigos Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amigos Hostel

Property: Amigos Hostel
Address: No.68 Guolian Second Road, Hualian, Hualien County 970, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Hualien County
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amigos Hostel is conveniently located just 3 minute walk from the train station. The Taroko shuttle bus station , coin laundry, convenient stores, (7-11) and local restaurants are only a few steps away. Recommended by Lonely Planet guide book for the past 10 years! Our friendly English speaking staff can provide lots of free information and itinerary recommendations during your stay at Amigos. Our lobby area is a great place to meet travelers all around the world, socialize, and hangout with our friendly multi-lingual staff. In addition, we provide adventure trips to whale watching, water rafting, and river tracing. (canyoning) You'll never run out of things to do during your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Amigos Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing