We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neat place in charming Hualien”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quality Inn Hualien
Ranked #59 of 129 Hotels in Hualien
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Neat place in charming Hualien”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

this has all the fancy trimmings of a boutique hotel but you can still feel the countryside of Hualien ie. perhaps due to the open spaces behind the hotel, the relaxed pace of the lobby and staff, the mountain wind that blows through the windows, etc.. the family suite was surprisingly spacious, the free wifi in the room strong, the black charcoal complimentary water was a big hit with my parents, the breakfast had a few nice dishes, the bathroom had a spa atmosphere although must say the shower in a bathtub design is not a good idea for older folks especially since to get in it was quite high.. the staff were courteous but a bit reticent ie.didn't go out of their way to offer their service.. however the driver they recommended to take us on a day trip to Taroko Gorge was fantastic; he really took the effort and time to show us around and gave his own little personal tour.. the location is superb; just next to all the modern eateries in town plus a short walk to the heart of Hualien shopping district..

Room Tip: Go for the mountain view rooms which incidentally face east - the afternoon sun may be hot as the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnChiongLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    15
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
19
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
310 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

My family of 4, wife, self and 2 adult children took the family suite with 2 double beds. Spacious room with well-appointed attached bathroom, breakfast on the second floor, coffee available any time on the house. Staff friendly,and location ideal with restaurants and bars on Hualien's main drag which runs parallel to the street on which the hotel is located. It is 10 minutes by taxi to the railway station.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jaytara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

Location; near Mc Donald,KFC,Pizza Hut,down the street from McDonald is a shopping district with restaurants ,convenient stores, 10 mn taxi ride from Hualien train station
Room: internet on 6th floor poor! have to bring my laptop over my parent s room on 5th floor to used.
bed,bathroom contemporary,comfortable,no bath tube for our superior room,no English paper
Staff: very nice
Breakfast; so so
Fruits provided each day in room,cookies and tea available all day in reception area
key for room,no card.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2010

This hotel is great - I only wish there were more like it elsewhere. What is great about it is that it is great value for money, very clean, modern and comfortable. If you are the type of person who just wants a nice room rather than paying for all the extras such as gym and pool and fancy lobby that you don't use then this is the place for you. It is a smallish hotel. I strongly recommend the King Executive on top floor, then no noise from above (I booked the top floor based on others who said there was noise if below). It only costs $3 for taxi from station to hotel so don't worry about not having hotel transfer included. Also once in Hualien youl will be offered to hire taxi for the day for around TN2500 to go to Taroko Gorge etc. The breakfast is fine. The hotel staff don't speak a lot of English, but it is enough to get around. I would highly recommend staying here - value for money is good, and contact the hotel directly for their special deals if you stay more than one night. Wireless internet is free and fast too.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lifeisbeaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2009

We booked 2 rooms and stayed 1 night at Quality Inn Hualien. This hotel does not provide transfer from/to the train station so we have to take the public bus. However, the bus overshot one stop that was near to the hotel though I told driver the bus stop we wanted to get down and we had to walk back a distance. The bus fare was about NT22/person for only about 5 mins… Quite X and disappointed with the service.
We arrived about 1 plus and they allowed us to check in early. Maybe, it was a Tuesday and there were not many guests staying in the hotel, I guess.
We booked 1 twin room for our 2 sons and the biggest room with 2 queen beds for our daughter and us. The twin room costs NT 3024 while the big room costs NT4104 including breakfast. This is the most expensive hotel we stayed during this Taiwan trip. My hubby loved the room very much as the floor was wooden and design was very Japanese. My children loved the rooms too since they were very spacious, compared to Dandy Hotel in Taipei. Beds and pillows are comfortable. The rooms looked exactly like those in their website/blog. Would give the rooms a 4.5 star rating. Bathroom was nice and complete with all amenities. No nice view from the window though.
Lobby was spacious and nicely designed with many sofas . Breakfast area is also quite nicely designed. See photos. Staff were polite, friendly and helpful.
The hotel is within walking distance to the town, with many famous eateries like 扁食(dumpling), 公正街包子iand much chee, etc. It was very convenient to explore the town on foot. 7-11 store is about 50m away.
Breakfast was quite nice but food was not put on heater so the food was quite cold. The spread is more Chinese than Western but it was quite tasty. There was only 1 other guest taking breakfast when we were having ours.
The hotel is quite slow in responding to emails, Sometimes, never respond at all!
Overall, it was a nice hotel. It would be great if they can consider providing transfer to/fro from the train station.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joyful08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2009

we stayed at the quality inn largely due to posts here on tripadvisor. we drove from taipei for a two night stay so we could check out hualien and taroko gorge. parking right across the street, the hotel was clean, lovely and in a terrific location in hualien just off the main drag. room rate included wifi and breakfast, we took advantage of both. liked the breakfast very much, if you require a western breakfast this might be a bit of a stretch for you, but there are eggs and you can make toast, plus lots of fun things that we don't normally consider 'breakfast foods' in the west. i especially liked the fried greens and the peanuts and salted fish. hubby loved the congee and tofu.

bathroom was sparkling, had lovely amenities and great water pressure. lobby was quite attractive and clean. we'd booked the two single bed room but upgraded for US$15 a day to a king sized bed and slightly larger room.

we speak very, very basic mandarin, but the staff has some basic english and we were able to communicate effectively enough. if you speak chinese, you're golden. if you don't, it'll be a challenge--but they're all very helpful and eager to please. we asked for a recommendation for the dumpling restaurant (mentioned in another post) and i *think* we found the place...since we don't read chinese, and the map was only in chinese, it was a bit of a stretch...but we ate dumplings and they were delicious. one night we got hopelessly lost and ended up at a korean/japanese place, which was also terrific. we had a ball!

my only problem at this hotel wasn't really the hotel's fault; we had one night's sleep ruined by our upstairs neighbor. the floors are hardwood--gorgeous--and our neighbor came in, loudly, at 2am and proceeded to CLOMP around in her high heels for about 20 minutes before letting the shower run for 45 or so minutes (perhaps she passed out?) woke us both up, but it's part of what i expect in asian hotels, so i didn't bother complaining, either upstairs--language would have surely been an issue--or with the hotel--not really their fault.

the hotel is about half an hour's drive from the entrance to taroko gorge, and i'd stay there again in a heartbeat. ask for a high floor!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2009

I recently visited Hualien in Taiwan during Chinese New Year, primarily to visit Tairoko Gorge. Hualien is not a cosmopolitan city and is not known for luxury/high end, or otherwise nice hotels. That's why I took a leap of faith and chose Quality Inn, after having read its reviews on TripAdvisor.

Due to the nature of my work, I've had the fortune of staying at many fine hotels around the world, but have never felt compelled to write a hotel review until now.

First and foremost, I was absoltuely floored by the helpfulness of the staff, which is why I feel a particular desire to want to commend them. They were very friendly, courteous, and most of all, extremely helpful in providing us information on everything from dining venues to fulfilling our transportation needs. Not only were they informative, they proactively offered to help make calls and make arrangements on our behalf. After learning that we had a 6AM train departure time, they even prepared breakfast for us to take on the road. This is probably the most hospitable hotel I've ever stayed in.

Second, the hotel environment was very nice. Small, but very well decorated and maintained. The lobby area was clean, quaint, and very "zen-like". The room was spacious, clean and modern. Decent-sized LCD TV with cable that included int'l channels like CNN for non-Chinese speakers. Note that we got upgraded to a "super king' room, so I don't know how the other rooms are.

Lastly, the location was great. It was basically in the heart of town, and no more than 10/15 minute walk to where all the action is; yet far enough from the cacophony of traffic, night markets, etc.

Pros: Superb service, nice environment, great location. Very decent prices. I paid about USD100/night and got a free room upgrade

Cons: I didn't test them, but I'm pretty sure their English ability is limited. It wasn't a problem for me, as I'm a native speaker, but it might be an issue for non-Chinese speakers if they're looking for a lot of guidance and problem solving.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who plans on visiting Hualien or Taroko.

  • Liked — service, environment, location
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CartmanUSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hualien hotels
0.1 mi away
Azure Hotel
Azure Hotel
#10 of 129 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lealea Garden Hotels - Hualien
0.6 mi away
Beauty Inn
Beauty Inn
#16 of 129 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Li Shiuan International Hotel
0.2 mi away
East Town 26
East Town 26
#13 of 129 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Hualien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Hualien

Property: Quality Inn Hualien
Address: No.46-1 Sanmin Street, Hualien 970, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 129 Hotels in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Inn Hualien 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn Hualien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hualien Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing