We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, comfortable room with good amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Plaza Hotel Hsinchu
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Hsinchu
Reviewed March 30, 2014

A little dated hotel. The interior has been refurbished. Room is clean and comfortable with good amenities.
Good location: Ten minute walk to the Cheng Huang Temple, a mid-18th century Taoist temple. Around the temple, there are some other historic buildings and many road side restaurants and local delicacies.
Staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is average, it really needs improvement

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liucy752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 93 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here just for one night (2 adults and one 2.5 y/o child). Good location as there's a 7/11 near by (for milk and nappies) and plenty of small restaurants around. Also not that far from the train station and a night market.
We had a big twin double room with 2 extra large beds on a 7th floor. The bathroom has a big bath and a shower (with L'Occitane toiletries).
We had no time to use the swimming pool or spa and really regretted that, both looked very nice.
Unfortunately, like most midrange hotels in Taiwan, cleanliness is not their strong side. I was seriously horrified when tried to find my son's car under the bed. No one has cleaned there for months. Also, soap scums in the bathroom and somebody's black hair everywhere.
Despite of that I would still recommend this hotel as it's good value for money and above average for Taiwanese standards.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Undarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Will stay in Howard whenever i am in Taiwan business trip which normally last for a week. The appearance of the lobby is alright but the reception give guest a cosy feeling. The bell girl is a very friendly and always with a smile. At the recption, the staff are just as friendly. The hotel although does not look new but maintain relatively well. Within the room, there will be basic stuff example electrical kettle, fridge, lcd tv, a mini hifi and working table. Every room will be provided with bath tuband shower space plus a tv. Air condition is consider alright.
iron and board can be requested. There is also a mini safebox. Gym and swimming pool are neat. Pool will allow a good swim and is located at the top most floor (Indoor). For breadfast, there are western, chinese and japanese. Sound proof wise, you can at times heard your neighbour next door. Around the hotel, there are plently of dinning area. If you walk around 20 minutes, you can try alot of chinese local delights at the Cheng Huang Temple. Lots of shops for shopping for ladiesaround the area. Still a neat place to stay.
Around the hotel, there are places to

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scym96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

First night of our stay in Taiwan after a red-eyed flight from Singapore. Glad that the hotel allowed us early check-in. Better still, the hotel was very accommodating in allowing us to use the lobby area to set up our bikes.

Many restaurants, eateries around the hotel, and we like the small tuck-away noodle and dumpling place recommended by the concierge. Also a good Japanese fast food restaurant a short walk away - good Saboten-style chicken cutlets.

Rooms are comfortable, no frills. Same for the buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BFGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Low level of service akin to a hostel - very limited hours for the pool and gym, restaurants close at 9 but actually well before that and rooms a bit tired with old fittings.

Rooms are a good size and are clean, bathrooms good. Staff are pleasant ( if a bit helpless when asked things like ' Can I get something to eat? ' at 10.00pm - suggested 711 along the road) and check in / out is efficient.

Breakfast a bit basic but OK

Place to crash , not to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeekendTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Very poor design. It looks like a builder has done a bodged job on this hotel. Some parts have been partially modernisied others left and very out of date.
My bedroom room was large, but nothing quite fitted. The wardrobe fro clothes far too small. Difficult to get to the safe or to use it. The carpet old and smelly. The chair at the desk looked about 50 years old, worn, with the seat surface peeling off in many places. Quite disgusting. THe curtains- I could not make them open. There was an "Easy Boy" , old looks like a pile of junk. A very odd and rather surreal room.
The bathroom larger than some hotel rooms. Nothing actually quite right. The wall mirror is bigger than the wal it was meant to fit into. There was a wet area for a shower with a glass screen to stop splashing, but this was far too small and water splashes out onto the area meant to be dry.
The gym only opens between 4-9pm. Why??
Breakfast?? What breakfast? I asked for a fried egg and showed the chef the Chinese words for this, but it never appeared. Ertsaz coffee. There was at least some cornflakes, but only full fat milk. Not a good breakfast.

This is a hotel to avoid if at all possible.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nemo149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Very old hotel. Rooms have worn out look. Unclean carpet wasn't vacuumed for days which kept me sneezing. Hotel does not even have a doorman at entrance. No help with your luggage. Ground floor has an old cafe which very unclassy and cheap types. Reception is in a room in the lobby which kept me searching for it on check in. Staff at front desk was very efficient and friendly though. Outside of the hotel made me depressed when I first saw it cos it looks so old and worn out. Look for another hotel unless they refurbish the entire hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samitnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hsinchu hotels
0.6 mi away
Lakeshore Hotel Metropolis I
2.6 mi away
Miramar Hotel Hsinchu
Miramar Hotel Hsinchu
#3 of 57 in Hsinchu
109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#6 of 57 in Hsinchu
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Forte Hotel Hsinchu
Forte Hotel Hsinchu
#10 of 57 in Hsinchu
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlton Hotel - Beida Branch
0.8 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Hsinchu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Plaza Hotel Hsinchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Plaza Hotel Hsinchu

Address: No.178 Chung Cheng Road, North Dist, Hsinchu 300, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Hsinchu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Hsinchu
Price Range: $61 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Howard Plaza Hotel Hsinchu 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique business hotel in the hub of Hsinchu city with 165 stylish guestrooms,modern cafe and comprehensive fitness center with gym, swimming pool and sauna. Other facilities include a stylish shopping arcade and 24-hour business center. Minimalist in style, 165 tastefully furnished guestrooms offer valued guests warm welcome and a host of exclusive amenities to make every stay truly memo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Howard Plaza Hotel Hsinchu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing