We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at the hotel”
Review of Al-Wadi Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Homs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Al-Wadi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Homs
Damascus, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner at the hotel”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I had a dinner plane with my wife , and the black flies attack us , i ask the staff there to move my table to inside , they were rude and they refuse to do that , we have at least 30- 40 black fly all over the food , disgusting , and wasps too, I would never go there again , it was hot too , and they kept us out , we left shortly after that . that was sep 2011

Room Tip: do not eat there .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Remy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
4
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
189 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Location :
It is the biggest hotel in Meshtayeh, a sleepy little town not far, but not close to the KRAK, so one needs his own transportation to get here, about a 15-20 minute zig and zag trip to the KRAK.

We liked :
- magic view over the KRAK in the distance 24/7
- the swimming pool seems great, but still empty during our stay in march
- correct buffet breakfast, thanks to the large groups, the hotel seems to more than welcome

We did not like :
- indifferent service
- no wifi
- old and fading rooms

The room :
- Facing the KRAK in the distance with a small balcony
- Large and correctly equipped room
- Depressing but fully functionnal bathroom
- ok bedding
- Rather calm, no traffic noise

So far
- One night stop is ok
- A quick walk around town will show you some restaurants and bars, but nothing really excitnig to keep you here more than enough time visit the KRAK

Room Tip: Ask for those facing the Krak
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BEEPfromPARIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Al Wadi hotel is very comfortable, and nicely decorated hotel. We had a very clean and spacious room and bathroom. The restaurant offered us a very nice traditional dinner.
One of the best hotels we stayed in in Syria.
With a view of Krak des Chevaliers.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julaHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2010

We spent one night at the Al-Wadi Hotel after our visit at the Krak de Chevalier. First we couldn´t find it as the hotel had sent us a copy of a map, where the position was marked at a wrong spot. The Hotel lies directly northwest of the Krak. To walk from the hotel to the Krak is quite a hike up the hill through farms, if there is a direct walkway at all.
The rooms are big and clean and the beds quite hard. The bathroom is also big but not very well maintained. You could declare the decor of the rooms rustic, but definitely not cozy or really friendly. The balcony is very nice - as long as you have a room facing the farms and the Krak. Otherwise you look directly on the street. As mentioned before the hotel is busy with tour groups. As there are tiles on the floor you here the people walking around in the room above.
Service was below average. There were a couple of waiters moving through the room efficiently avoiding eye contact of their guests. The food at dinner was ok. Break-fast was a sorry affair. Coffee came out of a big tank and tasted as to be expected. No fresh fruits, no cereals or oat meal.
With a higher service level and better quality of food this could be a nice spot as the location is really good.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ***-Irene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Homs hotels

Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

I stayed at this hotel three times already and i must admit i like this hotel very much.
The rooms are mostly very big and have a terrace , and some rooms offer a view of the famous krak de chevaliers.
The only disadvantage is the noise in the 6th floor. If you stay there make sure that the AC is complettly shut down by the staff otherwise you will have a tremendous noise throughout the night. The staff is more or less helpful, the same noise problem was occurent when i was there a couple of years ago, but the staff acts like theyll hear it for the first time.
There is progress: the breakfast has improved greatly over the years.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karimcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2010

This is the only hotel I have been to with no name outside. Despite being a big building it did not look like a hotel from the road and we drove past 4 times. The crenellations are the clue. I doubt that there is another hotel in this style - certainly not in the middle east..
We had a comfortable night in a big room and a reasonable breakfast.
Al Wadi is a regular stopover for tour groups which makes breakfast a bit chaotic.
The large pool was empty (early May).
As is normal for Syria the staff were all friendly and helpful.
There is little choice of reasonable hotels in the area and we were glad we had booked the Al Wadi.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_and_A_41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2010

This hotel only really has in its favour that is near Krak des Chevaliers (about 10 mins by car) so is convenient if you need a stop over in the area. The room was quite small and not that nice (small bed, old sheets, old bathroom, plastic chairs, 1960s picture on the wall) - you wouldn't want to spend much time in it. There was also a long dark hair on the bed that was definitely not mine. Although the hotel lobby looked quite nice, the standard of the room was only about 2-3 star. We paid $102 for the night (including tax and breakfast) which was quite a lot for the standard of room, given that in Aleppo we had paid €85 at the Coral Julia Dumna for a pretty luxurious room of 4+ star quality. There was indeed a view of Krak from the balcony but it was quite cold to spend much time there and did not reallly add to the experience as there are views of the castle from all around. Note that is can be quite cool in Syria in late April and that this area which is high in the hills is even colder so some warm clothes are recommended. The hotel pool was empty but it was definitely too cold for that anyway. The hotel is in a small village which consists mainly of half built holiday apartments and has little in the way of facilities other than a couple of small grocery shops. There was a cafe but it was closed so the hotel was the only option for dinner, and the only option there was a buffet for around SYP500. It was not great - lots of nice meze and salads but only 2 main dishes, both of which were bland and boring. Alcohol was available. Breakfast was awful - limited choice and poor quality e.g. only instant coffee.
Having read in the other reviews that the hotel was hard to find, I tried to get directions beforehand as we were driving there. There is no map or directions on the hotel website so I contacted them by email. They replied that is was too difficult to explain! Once we got to the area there were no signs and we had to keep asking directions in our extremely limited Arabic (not many people speak English) but kept being sent in all directions. Eventually after having been up and down every road in a 5km radius, we ended up at the hotel but even then the hotel name was not visible anywhere and you could easily drive past. I guess most of their customers are tour groups with drivers and guides that know the place. It really is unbelievable that they can't put a map on their site or send you directions. Although this hotel is not great, there isn't much choice in the area and I cannot suggest an alternative unless you stay further afield (eg Homs).

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Al-Wadi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al-Wadi Hotel

Property: Al-Wadi Hotel
Address: Homs -Talkalakh | Al-Meshtayeh, Homs, Syria
Location: Syria > Homs Governorate > Homs
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Homs
Hotel Class:4 star — Al-Wadi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Also Known As:
Al Wadi Hotel Homs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing