We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Serene Setting”
Review of Royal Swazi Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Swazi Spa
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ezulwini
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This Hotel is lovely and the setting is beautiful but I have to say it is in need of a total revamp. It is set in a valley so you surrounded by mountains it is really stunning. There is a swimming pool and a heated jacuzzi. There is Tennis courts and bowls. There is a casino and 3 restaurants and a clothing boutique and also a shop with all sorts and curios . Beautiful golf course as well and believe one of the best golf courses anywhere. Then is a Spa and a Hairdresser as well in stunning surroundings and a gym. You can go on game drives or to the Glass blowing factory or go see where they make the most stunning candles. So there is lots to keep you busy. There is shops, restaurants and cinema about 2kms away if you need to go and the famous Calabash Restaurant which we went to years ago but hear it's still as good. The Hotel serves breakfast and dinner buffet style every day and there is a terrace menu all day. Staff very friendly and helpfull.

Room Tip: The rooms on ground level overlooking pool has direct access to swimming pool which is convenient es...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirinda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 301 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

I stayed in the hotel on a business trip quite a few years ago. Back then I regarded it as a really smart hotel, but during my stay last night I realised that she needs a bit of a facelift now.

Compliments : The service, food, pool area, bar area - brilliant !
Needs some work to be done : The rooms needs upgrading. There were stains that resembled mold on the pillows and the sheets and there were two cockroaches in my room.The carpet also needed cleaning.

My colleagues were happy with their rooms but agreed that a facelift is needed.

I will stay here again if I see that they have jazzed it up.

Room Tip: Room 228 is at the top of the stairs and you get woken up by people walking up/ down the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Must-see-the-world1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

The hotel is somewhat dated, but the staff make up for the out of period rooms and decor.

Business travel - there was no chair at the desk in the room, and the fridge under the table (as opposed to concealed in a cupboard), reflect the lack of attention to detail. A couple of small changes would go a long way to addressing the ambiance of the room. The bathrooms are very dated and need to be completely overhauled. The above said, my room is comfortable and quiet.

All over services are efficiently and politely delivered by the friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfasts and variety of food available, althought eh evening buffet is overpriced.

I will be back with the family and golf clubs. The grounds and the course are immaculately maintained.



Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Trevor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We visited Swaziland for the first time and were pleasantly surprised by both the people and the country. We stayed at the Royal Swazi Spa and found it to be a very nice place. The golf course was really nice and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dylansgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

I travelled to Swaziland on a business conference and was charged by the now aging Royal Swazi. The staff are very attentive and try their utmost to make your stay pleasurable. However this hotel is starting to show a bit of age with the rooms in need to a bit of refurbishment. Having said that the food is still excellent as I remember it used to be. Hopefully with some improved tourism, some money will be spent on the upkeep of such a majestic hotel.

It's very tranquil and a great location for families with lots of activities on the premises.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank Anban P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My husband and I traveled to the Royal Swazi at the start of January 2014 for a 5 night stay.
I'll begin with the low points of our stay:

1. We were unfortunately greeted by a less-than-polite lady at reception; she was quite abrupt and it seemed with every question I had, the more irritable and hasty she got. From the helpful advice from other travelers on this site, we had specifically included a request for a non-smoking room several weeks in advance to our arrival. To avoid any issues, we made this request by telephone. However, the lady handed us a room key, at which I confirmed if this was a non-smoking room, as requested. She checked and said no allocation had been made for such a room (shock horror!). What stood out ever so negatively, was her seeming unwillingness to try and make a plan; might I add there was no apology for this inconvenience. After checking on the system, a non-smoking room suddenly appeared.
2. We experienced prejudice on two distinct occasions: the first one, we were waiting to be seated at breakfast. It was clear as day that we were next in line to be served. However, two white guys arrived and the black lady greeted them as if to serve them before us! Blatant disrespect and prejudice! My husband simply greeted this lady and politely stated that we were there for breakfast. The second was also a breakfast situation - we had been seated for a good couple of minutes without being offered tea/coffee, as we'd learnt was the practice at breakfast. We were surrounded by about 3 waitresses. At the arrival of Asian guests, one of the waitresses rushed to that particular table. So sad that such service still exists in this day and age.

I wouldn't leave out the aspects that get a thumbs-up:

1. The breakfasts were plentiful with a wide variety.
2. Housekeeping ensured a tidy, clean room.
3. Room service staff were friendly and efficient.
4. The staff operating the boom gates and the porters were among the friendliest and genuine.
5. The swimming pool was well-maintained.
6. The spa was good...just very warm. (It could do with some aircon).

With more good points than bad, our stay at the hotel was good overall. The politeness of most of the staff, as well as the beauty of Ezulwini Valley, redeemed the less palatable experiences we had.

Room Tip: If you don't smoke, then definitely request a non-smoking room (if you'll actually get it up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noxolo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Not a hotel I would either recommend to anyone unless they were a gambling addict that were prepared to accept below average rooms, surly staff and having to park their vehicle 400 yards away from hotel in a an unsecure and dark area off the car park on any occasion that there was any sort of outside event on at the hotel!

Guests staying there who were not interested in using the casino were clearly 2nd rate citizens and not treated well as a result.

As an example on our first evenings stay, I asked to book a table in the restaurant and was told," it is not possible, it's first come first served, so you will need to queue like everyone else", but on complaining very loudly to the front of house manager that this was completely unacceptable in a supposed 4 star hotel, a booking magically became available.

Our party of 4 were there to play golf at the end of a month long trip to South Africa and this was a very sad way to end what for all other aspects of it, had been a memorable trip.

Given that the golf "club" has staged professional tournaments there in the past, facilities ranged from poor to shocking, with people pocketing money for completely useless and not fit for purpose trolley hire, rather than money being paid into the pro shop.

Again very surly and money mad golf staff with the only exception being the caddies , who were really nice, straight and honest guys, in particular Israel and Patrick.

I will never, ever return to this hotel, it was simply too bad an experience for a polite description.

Room Tip: Don't accept a smoking room on a smoking floor! Also don't accept that you cannot book a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ezulwini
0.3 mi away
Lugogo Sun
Lugogo Sun
#4 of 6 in Ezulwini
302 reviews
10.9 mi away
Summerfield Botanical Garden
2.5 mi away
Mantenga Lodge
Mantenga Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ezulwini
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Royal Villas
The Royal Villas
#3 of 6 in Ezulwini
96 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 3 in Mbabane
352 reviews
2.6 mi away
Happy Valley Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Swazi Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Swazi Spa

Address: Old Main Road, Ezulwini H106, Swaziland
Location: Swaziland > Hhohho District > Ezulwini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ezulwini
Price Range: $135 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Swazi Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the fascinating Kingdom of Swaziland is a lush and verdant valley named 'Heaven' by the noble Swazis. In this valley lies a sensational casino resort comprising of two hotels. Each touched by the magic of Africa, none more so than the 4-star Royal Swazi Spa Hotel. There is nowhere better to enjoy peace & tranquility than at this jewel in the African crown, whether it be on the golf course, relaxing at the poolside, enjoying a scenic horse ride, inducing adrenalin on a quad bike, being pampered in the health spa or doing business at a convention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Swazi Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Swazi Hotel Ezulwini
Royal Swazi Spa Swaziland/Ezulwini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing