We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Okay”
Review of Royal Swazi Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Swazi Spa
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ezulwini
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed here two nights during a business trip. It felt like a typical casino hotel, very busy with lots of guests. Staff was accommodating. Lots of choices for the buffet breakfast and dinners. The ala carte restaurant served good food. However, I had some trouble getting my door to lock properly and my tub definitely showed some signs of wear. I think my room needed some refurbishing. But overall, my stay was okay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tikayiyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
There are newer reviews for Royal Swazi Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 278 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

The room overlooked the gardens which were immaculately kept. The location was very good. The pool was very cold (it was winter!) but is was fantastic sitting in the hot tub/plunge pool. We had a very nice "buffet" dinner with plenty of choice.Overall a great one night stay.

Room Tip: Get a garden room overlooking the pool
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samanthak27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance R, Area General Manager at Royal Swazi Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear SamanthaK27

Thank you very much for your very positive review of our Royal Swazi Spa, following your short stay there.
Your comments will prove to be very motivating for all concerned.
We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Yours' faithfully

LANCE ROSSOUW
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at the Royal Swazi, the staff were fantastic and always available to assist to our requirements. Hotel room was exceptionally clean and buffet meals really catering for all needs!!
The spa was also great and service highly commendable and professional, would definetely recommend it for stress relaxation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank magan_govender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance R, Area General Manager at Royal Swazi Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Magan_Govender

Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience at the Royal Swazi Spa.
Your comments will prove very motivating to all concerned.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Valley of Heaven once again in the near future.

Yours faithfully

LANCE ROSSOUW
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Extremely child-friendly! Spacious family rooms with two separate bedrooms and a shared bathroom. We had a lovely, quiet room upstairs overlooking the gardens. Lots of activities for kids - pool, lawn, tennis, volley ball, table tennis, games room, etc. As the hotel property is fairly small and 'cosy' and all the activities are close by, children can easily keep themselves entertained withouth constant parent supervision. Nice golf course and a good selection of spa treatments. Look at the 'spa-ty' packages - good value for money. Staff extremely friendly!!! Only negative aspect is the price of the buffet breakfast and dinner. Quite expensive, especially if you are not a big eater. Consider ordering from the room service menu, especially for young children. Drinks also expensive. Overall a great place for a family getaway or a group of friends with children! We will most certainly be back!

Room Tip: Ask specifically for a room with a balcony overlooking the garden, otherwise you might end up in a r...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elize B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance R, Area General Manager at Royal Swazi Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Dear Elize B

Thank you for completing the review following your recent stay at the Royal Swazi Spa.
It was pleasing to note that you enjoyed your stay in general.
Your comments pertaining to our pricing in certain areas are noted.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours faithfully

LANCE ROSSOUW
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

The Royal Swazi grounds are well cared for and beautiful. The staff at the Royal Swazi (except for a few front desk staff) were incredibly friendly. The room was a bit run down but the bed was comfortable. They have a convenient shuttle that visits the other 2 hotels. The internet is very inconsistent, as was the power, but that's probably the norm in the country. The laundry service was good, but they definitely don't bring it to you by 5 as they say - more like 7 PM. The spa is great (especially their infinity pool), but they only have 3 treadmills and that area is not air conditioned. If possible, I'd tip in cash - it's not clear that the servers get the tip you put to your room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uofmgrl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance R, Area General Manager at Royal Swazi Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Dear urfmglr80

Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay at the Royal Swazi Spa.
It is fair and frank, the way we appreciate them!
I will ensure that your positive comments are passed on to all concerned. This will prove very motivating.
In turn, your critique will be taken seriously and reviewed with the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back once again in the near future.

Kind regards

LANCE ROSSOUW
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

The Swazi people must be by far the most friendly nation I have ever come across in all my travels.
Hotel building and surroundings exceptionally well maintained.
Customer service orientation is exceptional.
Clean rooms and very helpful housekeeping- laundry service and staff exceptional -
NO LIFTS - although staff had to carry every single item by hand all the way to the room via long corridors and many stairs, at no stage did they show any disgruntled behavior. More efficient in-house logistics could be implemented to deliver same service without having the staff "slaving" through their duty. (ie access via outdoor baggage trolley services for ground floor rooms)
Cautious when using rental cars especially when driving back to the airport where no official road sign is present. The current advert on a billboard for NASHUA is at the slip road serving as a landmark - best you take a garmin with you if you dont want to miss your flight.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChancebyChanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance R, Area General Manager at Royal Swazi Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2012

Dear ChancebyChanel

Thank you for your recent review of the Royal Swazi Spa on Tripadvisor.
It was indeed most pleasing to read of your positive experiences at our flagship property in Swaziland.
Your comments pertaining to the friendly and helpful attitudes of our staff are highly appreciated, and will be passed on to those concerned.
You are correct in stating that the Hotel has some physical challenges, with particular reference to lifts. It is an enginerring challenge that we will need to overcome in the future.
Your comments regarding general directional signage are very valid, and it is an issue that we will raise with the relevant Government department.

Thank you once again for sharing your positive experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours faithfully

Lance Rossouw
AREA GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

What a Lovely setting, the lawns and gardens well attended, good security and a real Colonial Style Hotel..... but what a pity the air-conditioning just could not pull it’s part.
Walking to our room down the corridors was so stifling and clammy we could hardly wait to get to our room. Immediately we switched on the air-conditioner on to cool the room down. We spent the last hour of light enjoying sundowners near the pool. Then it was off to dinner, which was great, and then retiring to our room. We again ran the gauntlet down the stuffy passages to our room only to find that the temperature in our room was only slightly cooler than the passage! On checking the control in our room, we noticed that it was set on the coldest setting. There was a thick duvet on the bed – whoever uses this, I thought to myself.

The following morning we had a very pleasant breakfast and I reported the air-conditioning problem to the front of office desk.

That night a similar pattern was repeated, although there was evidence that someone had looked at the unit, it was still only just warm to cool. Then it all came back to us, and we recalled having experienced a similar problem with the air-conditioning in our room approximately 3 years back.

It’s was then very obvious that they have problems in this department, which is such a pity as the stay overall was very good. The friendliness of the staff in every section/department of the Hotel made up for the disappointing and restless couple of night’s sleep, but Sun International needs to address the problems relating to cooling system in this, otherwise beautiful Hotel.

Room Tip: Ensure the aircon works if you are going there in summer months!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyChappie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance R, Area General Manager at Royal Swazi Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Dear Happy Chappie 2010

Thank you for completing the comprehensive review, following your recent stay at the Royal Swazi Spa.
It was pleasing to note that your general stay was very good, however marred by airconditioning shortfalls.
Unfortunately none of our room corridors are airconditioned. It was never planned from inception, and the introduction thereof now would be too daunting financially.
However, there is no excuse for your room airconditioner not to have functioned properly.
I have noted that you had a similar experience on a previous visit, which is equally as unacceptable.
Please accept my sincere apologies for these shortfalls, and rest assured that we always pro-actively try to stay ahead in our maintenance programmes to ensure repeats of this type of problem do not recur.
I would be pleased if you contact me personally when next you wish to visit our resort, in order that I may assist in making your stay that much more pleasant.

Yours' faithfully

Lance Rossouw
Area General Manager
+268 24165200

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ezulwini
0.3 mi away
Lugogo Sun
Lugogo Sun
#4 of 6 in Ezulwini
279 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mantenga Lodge
Mantenga Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ezulwini
731 reviews
10.9 mi away
Summerfield Botanical Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Royal Villas
The Royal Villas
#3 of 6 in Ezulwini
86 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 3 in Mbabane
330 reviews
0.0 mi away
Happy Valley Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Swazi Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Swazi Spa

Address: Old Main Road, Ezulwini H106, Swaziland
Location: Swaziland > Hhohho District > Ezulwini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ezulwini
Price Range: $126 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Swazi Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the fascinating Kingdom of Swaziland is a lush and verdant valley named 'Heaven' by the noble Swazis. In this valley lies a sensational casino resort comprising of two hotels. Each touched by the magic of Africa, none more so than the 4-star Royal Swazi Spa Hotel. There is nowhere better to enjoy peace & tranquility than at this jewel in the African crown, whether it be on the golf course, relaxing at the poolside, enjoying a scenic horse ride, inducing adrenalin on a quad bike, being pampered in the health spa or doing business at a convention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Swazi Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Swazi Hotel Ezulwini
Royal Swazi Spa Swaziland/Ezulwini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing