We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Swazi Spa
Nearby Hotels
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lugogo Sun(Ezulwini)
$91
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Villas(Ezulwini)(Great Value!)
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantenga Lodge(Ezulwini)(Great Value!)
$60
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain Inn(Mbabane)
$92
$90
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$307
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveler rating
76
115
95
25
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
115
95
25
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseroyal swaziplanters restauranta la carte restaurantold world charmthe hotel staffold stylepool barpublic areasbowling greenmanicured gardensgrand hotelround of golftennis courtslounge areadinner buffetmain building
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
247 - 252 of 320 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2012

The Royal Swazi grounds are well cared for and beautiful. The staff at the Royal Swazi (except for a few front desk staff) were incredibly friendly. The room was a bit run down but the bed was comfortable. They have a convenient shuttle that visits the other 2 hotels. The internet is very inconsistent, as was the power, but that's probably the norm in the country. The laundry service was good, but they definitely don't bring it to you by 5 as they say - more like 7 PM. The spa is great (especially their infinity pool), but they only have 3 treadmills and that area is not air conditioned. If possible, I'd tip in cash - it's not clear that the servers get the tip you put to your room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uofmgrl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance R, Area General Manager at Royal Swazi Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Dear urfmglr80

Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay at the Royal Swazi Spa.
It is fair and frank, the way we appreciate them!
I will ensure that your positive comments are passed on to all concerned. This will prove very motivating.
In turn, your critique will be taken seriously and reviewed with the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back once again in the near future.

Kind regards

LANCE ROSSOUW
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

The Swazi people must be by far the most friendly nation I have ever come across in all my travels.
Hotel building and surroundings exceptionally well maintained.
Customer service orientation is exceptional.
Clean rooms and very helpful housekeeping- laundry service and staff exceptional -
NO LIFTS - although staff had to carry every single item by hand all the way to the room via long corridors and many stairs, at no stage did they show any disgruntled behavior. More efficient in-house logistics could be implemented to deliver same service without having the staff "slaving" through their duty. (ie access via outdoor baggage trolley services for ground floor rooms)
Cautious when using rental cars especially when driving back to the airport where no official road sign is present. The current advert on a billboard for NASHUA is at the slip road serving as a landmark - best you take a garmin with you if you dont want to miss your flight.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChancebyChanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance R, Area General Manager at Royal Swazi Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2012

Dear ChancebyChanel

Thank you for your recent review of the Royal Swazi Spa on Tripadvisor.
It was indeed most pleasing to read of your positive experiences at our flagship property in Swaziland.
Your comments pertaining to the friendly and helpful attitudes of our staff are highly appreciated, and will be passed on to those concerned.
You are correct in stating that the Hotel has some physical challenges, with particular reference to lifts. It is an enginerring challenge that we will need to overcome in the future.
Your comments regarding general directional signage are very valid, and it is an issue that we will raise with the relevant Government department.

Thank you once again for sharing your positive experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours faithfully

Lance Rossouw
AREA GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

What a Lovely setting, the lawns and gardens well attended, good security and a real Colonial Style Hotel..... but what a pity the air-conditioning just could not pull it’s part.
Walking to our room down the corridors was so stifling and clammy we could hardly wait to get to our room. Immediately we switched on the air-conditioner on to cool the room down. We spent the last hour of light enjoying sundowners near the pool. Then it was off to dinner, which was great, and then retiring to our room. We again ran the gauntlet down the stuffy passages to our room only to find that the temperature in our room was only slightly cooler than the passage! On checking the control in our room, we noticed that it was set on the coldest setting. There was a thick duvet on the bed – whoever uses this, I thought to myself.

The following morning we had a very pleasant breakfast and I reported the air-conditioning problem to the front of office desk.

That night a similar pattern was repeated, although there was evidence that someone had looked at the unit, it was still only just warm to cool. Then it all came back to us, and we recalled having experienced a similar problem with the air-conditioning in our room approximately 3 years back.

It’s was then very obvious that they have problems in this department, which is such a pity as the stay overall was very good. The friendliness of the staff in every section/department of the Hotel made up for the disappointing and restless couple of night’s sleep, but Sun International needs to address the problems relating to cooling system in this, otherwise beautiful Hotel.

Room Tip: Ensure the aircon works if you are going there in summer months!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyChappie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance R, Area General Manager at Royal Swazi Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Dear Happy Chappie 2010

Thank you for completing the comprehensive review, following your recent stay at the Royal Swazi Spa.
It was pleasing to note that your general stay was very good, however marred by airconditioning shortfalls.
Unfortunately none of our room corridors are airconditioned. It was never planned from inception, and the introduction thereof now would be too daunting financially.
However, there is no excuse for your room airconditioner not to have functioned properly.
I have noted that you had a similar experience on a previous visit, which is equally as unacceptable.
Please accept my sincere apologies for these shortfalls, and rest assured that we always pro-actively try to stay ahead in our maintenance programmes to ensure repeats of this type of problem do not recur.
I would be pleased if you contact me personally when next you wish to visit our resort, in order that I may assist in making your stay that much more pleasant.

Yours' faithfully

Lance Rossouw
Area General Manager
+268 24165200

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

The hotel is excellent for a weekend stay. It provides all facilities and the breakfast selection is yummy.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ritesh17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance R, Area General Manager at Royal Swazi Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Dear Ritesh 17

Thank you for your short, albeit, complimentary review of the Royal Swazi Spa.
We appreciate your comments very much, and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours' faithfully

Lance Rossouw
Area General Manager
Sun International: Swaziland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We had one night in the Royal Swazi en route through Swaziland.

Its quite impressive as you drive up to the hotel building. The grounds are very well kept and form a good view for rooms to the rear. The rooms are fine but not up to a similar star rating as in SA next door.

We found the staff to be really good and genuinely friendly.

The Casino is a bit smokey and not the best feature of the hotel..but I guess it pays a few bills!

Planters restaurant was very good. Decent service and good food. But please can't they think of a better name than 'Planters' it doesn't do justice to the setting of the hotel or the quality on offer.
All in all a pleasant place to stay when in Swaziland.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david1960uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance R, General Manager at Royal Swazi Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Dear David 1960uk

Thank you for the completion of your review following your recent stay at the Royal Swazi Spa.
We appreciate feedback such as yours, as it helps us to assess our standards constantly & consistently.
We appreciate your comments on the quality of the rooms & the motivating feedback on our staff.
Thank you once again & we look forward to hosting you once again in the Valley of Heaven in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

LANCE ROSSOUW
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews